We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Windamar Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2011

I stayed for two nights on my way home from being in Key West for Pride Fest and it was so nice and relaxing. I was able to walk to the beach as well as to some nice places to eat. There weren't many other people staying there at the time but everyone was really nice. The room was clean and I felt very welcome. It is located not to far from the bars and Wilton Manor, although I never made it out to any of the bars cause it was so nice to just relax by the pool and walk the beach in the evening. I can't wait to go back again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TBearhugs25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (146)
There are newer reviews for Windamar Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 84 of 146 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2011

Three of us traveled and shared two rooms. One (the junior suite) was great; the other (the executive suite) was terrible - no working TV, Internet or light switches. I lasted one night and just moved down the block to the Atlantic at triple the price, where everything works.

My friends in the junior suite are very happy after 4 more days.

Room Tip: Junior suite (#8 was awesome), not executive suite (#10 was horrible)
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Xorax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2011

For under $100 per night you get a clean, nicely funished room with quality linens/bed. 24 hour pool/hot tub, one block to the beach, parking, porn, "day passers" to play with and friendly staff.

Now for the funky:
Padded sofas/loungers/cabanas smell like gym socks and stained; in desparte need of cleaning.
Playroom downstairs is a great idea but lacks everything to make it fun/sexy. Instead is boring and gross...
Many outdoor floors/walkways/steps are dirty and in disrepair.
Continental breakfast is a joke.
Pool towels are in short supply. If you happen to snatch one they're like sandpaper.
Lighting of property/foliage at night sucks! This is a shame because its a chaming property.
Front desk is constantly left unattended.

Based on price, location and fun locals; it's not bad. With some additional investment/updating and more staff it could be a total gem.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bowman716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2011

Robert and I spent 7 nights at the Windamar and it must be the most awesome, peaceful freindly little resort in all of Florida !!!
Management and staff are very attentive to customer demands and won't hesitate to please. Nice place to meet new freinds,
Looking forward to be back at the Windamar next year and for years to come. Why go elsewhere when you already found Paradise.......

Room Tip: ask for rooms downstairs near the pool
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobertandLouis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2011

My spouse and I stayed there April 17th to the 19th. We had a great time. We met some awesome people there. The location was amazing!! The Beach was literally 20 steps from the exit. They provided beach chairs and a cooler for me to bring drinks to the beach. Alcohol is not allowed on the beach but hide it well and no one will even notice. We walked to the Galleria Mall which was a 20 min walk but with great weather, who cares! The staff were very nice and the rooms smelt like cleaner so ya know it was cleaned. Our room had a walk in closet. The pool isnt huge but perfect for the size of the resort. We are in our 20's and yes it was more an older crowd but we didnt care, we were the hottest and youngest boys there so we loved the attention. If your looking for something quite, clean and plan to NOT bring a car...this is the place.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavenNDerek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#20 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,719 reviews
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#15 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
2,757 reviews
Central Beach
Premiere Hotel
Premiere Hotel
#1 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3,813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Best Western Plus Oceanside Inn
#19 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,580 reviews
The Worthington Guest House
#2 of 35 in Fort Lauderdale
837 reviews
Central Beach
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Res...
#10 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
5,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windamar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windamar Beach Resort

Address: 543 Breakers Avenue, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-4129
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Fort Lauderdale
Hotel Class:2 star — Windamar Beach Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are One of Fort Lauderdale's Longest Running Gay Owned and Operated Guest Houses Catering Exclusively to Gay Men, and winner of the "Best of Fort Lauderdale" Award. Our Tropical Climate Resort, Beautiful Beaches and Busy Nightlife make Fort Lauderdale one of the Top Vacation Destinations in South Florida. We are located just steps from Seductive Beaches and Minutes from the Wilton Drive for Dancing and Socializing. Enjoy World Class Shopping and Fine/Casual Dining options Galore. Our Entire Property has been Recently Renovated. Guest Rooms are updated to a Crisp Contemporary Style and Feature Pool or Garden Views. If you enjoy a bit of Spice in your life, our Newly Remodeled Video Lounge is always available for Resort and Day Pass Men. The New Tiki Huts, Lush Landscaping and Private Garden Areas Enhance the Tropical Ambiance which will make you feel Secluded from the World around you. Lose the Tan Lines and Enjoy the Clothing Optional Fun Everywhere!! Soak away the Stress in our Shimmering Pool and Bubbling Hot Tub, Open 24/7. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Windamar Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windamar Beach Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing