We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great day of fishing”

Top Shot Sportfishing
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Our charter boat the "Happy Day Today" is a 46' Hatteras sport fish located in Fort Lauderdale, Florida in the Bahia Mar Charter Fleet. We offer half day charters, 3/4 and all day deep sea fishing trips. The boat is fully equipped with all fishing tackle, fishing licensing, coolers, air conditioned vessel, safety equipment, dept sounder and navigational equipment. To name some of the species we target: Mahi Mahi, Black Fin Tuna, Wahoo, Sailfish, King Mackerel, Grouper, Snapper, Sharks and Swordfish. Captain Tommy Zsak has been fishing for over 30+ years as the owner and captain of the "Happy Day Today" and the Top Shot Sportfishing team. Please give us a call to discuss the charter, conditions, what is biting and availability.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

What an experience. My boys and I had the pleasure of fishing with Captain Dave and Mark. From the minute we stepped on the boat we could tell that this was going to be a great trip. Everything from the bait to the cabin was neatly and professionally organized. The effort that went in to improving our chances to catch a sea monster was extremely noticeable. Sure enough we caught a 6’ Hammerhead shark. We will definitely be back for more!!!

2  Thank Jgru321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Happy Day C, Owner at Top Shot Sportfishing, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your great review on TripAdvisor. It's a pleasure to read from a customer that he and his family, especially the children, had a great time. We also appreciate your noticing how neat and professionally organized we are - we take pride in our family business - and that we work hard to make our customer's fishing trip memorable. We look forward to your return charter with us. Come back soon.

Thanks again.

Captain Zsak
Top Shot Sportfishing Charter Boat Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (369)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"captain zsak"
in 45 reviews
"kingfish"
in 65 reviews
"tuna"
in 51 reviews
"mate dave"
in 27 reviews
"fishing trip"
in 48 reviews
"sport fishing"
in 54 reviews
"these guys"
in 49 reviews
"deep sea fishing"
in 30 reviews
"hammerhead shark"
in 22 reviews
"afternoon charter"
in 6 reviews
"inch sailfish"
in 6 reviews
"big catch"
in 4 reviews
"live bait"
in 15 reviews
"caught fish"
in 19 reviews
"beautiful sailfish"
in 4 reviews
"hammer head"
in 4 reviews
"trophy fish"
in 7 reviews
Filter

4 - 8 of 371 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had a great time with Captain David and Mate Marc. These guys are the real deal! Our family of 5 (kids from age 13-19) went out into about 400' deep water within 30-40 minutes and caught Bonita, Barracuda and almost landed a Hammerhead in one 4 hour trip. We were all first-timers and had no problems catching on with Marc's expert help and encouragement. The ship is roomy and the air-conditioned cabin was a welcome respite when the sun got a little hot. Highly recommended for the whole family!

1  Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Happy Day C, Owner at Top Shot Sportfishing, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for your great review on TripAdvisor. Happy that you and your family had a good time sport fishing and that you had no problem catching on. Glad you enjoyed our air-conditioned cabin - it does make a difference when it's hot here in Fort Lauderdale. Come back soon.

Thanks again,

Captain Zsak
Top Shot Sportfishing Charter Boat Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had a great experience with the family on a 4hr fishing trip. Communication and expectations were spot on and Capt Zsak made everything very easy. Crew did everything they could to make sure we caught some fish! The day resulted in a mahi and a 9' @300lb hammerhead. Guys were very talkative and took the time to explain what they were doing with the lines and why. The boat was impressive in size and condition....everyone was very comfortable. If you're looking for a day out on the water you can't beat this. Was great to break up the week from sitting on the beach...highly recommend.

1  Thank edavis32018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Happy Day C, Owner at Top Shot Sportfishing, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for your review on TripAdvisor. We are so happy to take out families on our charter fishing trips - gives us a chance to introduce fishing to a new generation of anglers!!! Congratulations on your Hammerhead Shark - no easy feat!! Thanks for noticing how our crew works hard to make sure our customers catch fish, and that our boat was comfortable.

We hope to see you and your family back soon.

Thanks again,

Captain Zsak
Top Shot Sportfishing Charter Boat Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The guys were top notch. I had my two young boys with me (5 yr old & 9 yr old). They made everyone feel welcome and worked very hard for the boys. They both caught several fish and loved it. Both want to go back and do it again.

At the end of the day, I ended up reeling in a hammerhead shark. Thrilling experience that we could not have enjoyed but for the team's hard work and spirit. Highly recommend them to anyone for fishing expedition. If we are back in Ft. Lauderdale again, we will be using Top Shot again. I've personally told people about their business and highly recommend them for anyone.

Thank JP F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Happy Day C, Owner at Top Shot Sportfishing, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Jp, Glad you and your children enjoyed the fishing charter an notice how hard the Topshotfishing crew works for you. The children did a fine job bring in the fish and you where great on your Shark. That was a good review you wrote on Trip Advisor.

Thanks Capt. Zsak
Topshotfishing Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Took my girlfriend and my 9 yr old for her first deep sea fishing experience. She was so excited and Matt and Dave were unbelievable with her. We had such a good time. Caught bait fish and then she caught a 60 lb Amber Jack. Then we finished with a double header of Bonita. She is now hooked.

Thank Jsimonepa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Happy Day C, Owner at Top Shot Sportfishing, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks for your review on TripAdvisor - I'm so pleased that your daughter had such a good time fishing with the Topshotfishing team.

Come back soon.

Captain Zsak
Top Shot Sportfishing Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Top Shot Sportfishing also viewed

 
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 

Been to Top Shot Sportfishing? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing