We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Nice, but bathrooms are very small” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Ranked #2 of 127 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
memphis
Level Contributor
111 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Nice, but bathrooms are very small”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

Having stayed here before, we pretty much knew what we were getting.

Positives: Somewhat away from the craziness of the beach, and in a more residential neighborhood
Excellent personal service
Charming terrace overlooking the Intercoastal
Close to Las Olas Blvd, and the attractions there

Negatives: Our room was very small, and the bath tiny
Food at the secret Garden was expensive for what was served

That being said, The Pillars is clean, comfortable, and a nice choice in Fort Lauderdale. The next time we are there before a cruise, we would again choose this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

926 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    749
    115
    33
    20
    9
See reviews for
83
616
34
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oak Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

This is elegance and luxury without ostentation. The only drawback was that our room, the one with its own patio and separate entrance, was on the other side of the wall from the kitchen. There were no smells, and mostly no noise, but about 9 or 10 p.m. we could hear the dishes--probably being washed. Otherwise the place is fabulous. Small restaurant has really well prepared food. The pool area is surrounded by palms, and there is a lovely dock area to sit at and read or eat, right on the canal. It is a block from the beach, so close enough to be convenient, but far enough to avoid the traffic and noise. The hotel has water access--but not the ocean, the lovely Intracoastal Waterway. If you want to take the water taxi, the hotel will arrange for a whistle stop, right up to the hotel dock. This hotel is small, intimate, relaxing, elegant.

Room Tip: All rooms but two are off of the pool area, but it is very quiet. One room has its own entrance and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank librarylady47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amelia Island, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

This place was amazing for a boutique hotel, esp. my room choice overlooking the pool and glimpse of the intercoastal but you can enjoy a lot of the intercoastal and boats from sitting and relaxing on the deck. It's one of those hidden treasures but so convenient to anything you could possibly want or need, even the fabulous beaches of Ft. Lauderdale . I liked being on the first floor to make it really convenient for going to the car (no charge) and walking anywhere, not to mention the boat at your disposal if you want to go to Las Olas or anywhere else. A real treasure for south Florida .

Room Tip: The rooms were stylishly decorated for the ambience of this hotel. You feel you were staying at a re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JJANPLUM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

We would highly recommend this hotel after returning from our second stay in early February. We had a suite which was luxurious, spotlessly clean, very spacious, well decorated and had an extremely comfortable bed. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel is on the intercoastal waterway and a block away from the ocean. This is the place to stay if you want to pamper yourself with elegant surroundings. Top notch!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south coast UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

Having been travelling around Florida by car for a week or so we chose this as a place to relax and unwind before the flight home (from MIA as it's not that far down the freeway).
It came with much promise and anticipation and just about met the standard but with some reservations:
It is very close to the main beach but sits on the intracoastal network and is a lovely quiet place amongst some of the high rise blocks although they dont dwarf the property.
We had a poolside room that literally opened out onto the pool area, again nice and quiet (not many people around) recliner chairs around the heated pool and some complimentary light refreshment. The dockside chair area is wonderful to just sit and watch the world go by, dinner can be taken outside but the weather precluded that. In fact we ate mostly at nearby CasaBlancas (lunch/evening) or H2o (breakfast) both of which we thought offered very good food at good value for money and with some life & buzz.
The room was small especially with two suitcases and our belongings, the bathroom was tiny and really lacked some shelf space and 'personal' space but it was all very clean, tidy and well appointed.
Tried using the Tv but the complex handset just beat me and couldnt get a signal up so just gave up.
There is a kitchenette facility in the room but we didnt think it was necessary at all and just crowded the place, we thought the (empty) fridge had to be requested to be filled but oddly we found the mini bar hidden away in a closet (and full of nibbles and drinks).
The lobby, bar and lounge were all spotless and like the decor from a showhome - all very stylish.
The young reception team were spot on, polite relaxed and helpful.
Two or three days were just about right, an extended stay in the room and it would have felt claustophobic although an escape to to the pool/dockside is always there. The water taxi goes right from the dockside (on request I believe) and is a great way to see some of the area (houses/boats/Las Olas area).
As the advert says: cost of the hotel-expensive, the look on peoples faces when you get dropped off at your own private dock waterside - priceless!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Twixle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Premiere Hotel
Premiere Hotel
#1 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,517 reviews
The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdal...
#7 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,279 reviews
The Atlantic Hotel & Spa
#10 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Victoria Park
The Victoria Park Hotel
The Victoria Park Hotel
#3 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#19 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,437 reviews
Central Beach
W Fort Lauderdale
W Fort Lauderdale
#21 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdale? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Property: The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Address: 111 N Birch Rd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-4313
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#1 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#6 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#13 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price range (per night): ₹ 17,427 - ₹ 41,321
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdale 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on New River Sound, a block from the beach, the Pillars Hotel is a beautiful mix of classical British Colonial architecture and 30's "Art Deco". Well-known for its magical sunsets, unpretentious service and its special dining experience, the hotel caters to travelers looking for a sophisticated intimate venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pillars

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing