We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay - just fix the wardrobe doors”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Ranked #14 of 127 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 April 2012

We loved the B Ocean, it had wow factor from the moment we stepped into the lobby all the way to when we entered our room. Fantastic views from our room right up Fort Launderdale Beach. Location was very good for us, just a bit north of the main Fort Lauderdale beach action, which was only a 10 minute walk away. Two things marred our stay which could be easily improved:
1. The wardrobe doors in the rooms are of a very free-sliding type. These made a loud banging noise if left to slide into the walls at either end. The could be heard from the rooms adjacent, and was loud enough to wake you from a deep sleep. Providing simple rubber stoppers to the ends of the doors or walls would make this annoying problem go away.
2. The valets on the driveway think they own the place, and took forever to retrive our bags upon check out. They need to get a better system, and learn that they are there for the customers; not the other way around.

Room Tip: Get a room higher up for a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MR028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eduardo f, General Manager at Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2012

DearMR028, thank you for your strong rating and also for sharing your 2 concerns. We will definitely take your suggestion at heart with the rubber bumpers. Why didn't I think about that? As for the valet experience, I'm sorry if it took a while to get the bags and will share you feedback on being more accomodating.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,796)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,961 - 1,965 of 2,796 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2012

Anyone who has tried to book a hotel on the beach in Ft. Lauderdale knows that the prices can be pretty steep to stay in the best location. B Ocean is ideally situated on the corner of Sunrise and AIA and has convenient access to all the activities on that prime stretch of beach.

The hotel lacks some of the major amenities that some of the larger resorts have: the pool area is really small and quickly gets crowded, midweek. There are no dedicated beach chair umbrella rentals, it's just public beach in front of the hotel. There is no outdoor patio dining.

We did not eat at the Saia restaurant, but it looked very upscale. However, they have a great bistro where we did have breakfast and lunch a couple of times and it was great. Service was a little spotty and they could have cleared the tables more quickly, but the food was good and reasonably priced.

Our room was very nice, with floor to ceiling windows with a view of the beach and eye-catching artwork. The bathroom was modern and functional. The decor, from the walls to the linens is white, which has a very clean look. Even in the hallway, the walls are a matte white. This is very tough to keep clean and could look shabby quickly from scuffs if they do not touch it up frequently, but it looks like the B Ocean is immaculately kept up.

We had a large, flat screen TV and the free Wi-Fi is an excellent bonus. The maid service was a little slow, but this was not a major inconvenience. My friend got stung by a bee at the beach and the front desk was quick to provide some first aid items.

Another advantage of the B Ocean is that you can walk down the AIA to peruse those restaurants and hotels, or you can go up Sunrise to go to the Galleria. This would be quite a hike from the Ritz-Carlton, which is at the other end. But the B Ocean is between the two. So you have several options for shopping and dining.

As far as noise goes, our room was very quiet, but I think if there were noisy people on our floor, you would be able to hear them. So I can't vouch for the soundproofness, but I'd be willing to take a chance.

I would stay at the B Ocean again.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view and/or balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wimble40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eduardo f, General Manager at Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2012

Dear Wimble40, thanks for your positive comments. Glad to see that you appreciate our constant efforts to keep our hotel immaculate. By the way, good news on the patio dinning: we are going to be adding an outdoor patio at SAIA so people will be able to drink and eat "al fresco" in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

The lobby, with it's dramatic changing color walls, is a very pleasant gretting when you arrive. The room that we had was on a corner with one floor to ceiling having a view of the ocean and Birch state park and the other wall had a beautiful ocean front view. The room was very clean and the housekeeping staff did an excellent job every day. It is in a nice, fun, neighborhood with a few pubs around the corner. next door is a beach store where you can rent a used beach chair for $3.00 per day instead of using the hotel's chairs which I would assume would be much more expensive.
The only drawback to my staying here again, is that you do not have a balcony or the ability to open a window to get some nice ocean breezes. There is no place to sit outside in the evening for a cocktail except for the pool area. It would have been nice to sit on a balcony, or porch and look at the ocean at the end of the day.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewJerseyJoe13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eduardo f, General Manager at Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2012

Dear NewJerseyJoe13, thanks for your great comments. I hear you on the window & balcony feedback, but our hotel was built that way, so no way around it! On the flip side, not many hotels have the unobstructed views that we offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

I am a repeat visitor of the Westin in Fort Lauderdale, but was impressed by the B Oceans consistent positive remarks on your staff and willingness to upgrade your guests given the availability... Additionally, I am impressed by the hotel general manager taking the time to respond to guest reviews. I will be staying with you this 4th of July for 3 nights and look forward to having an amazing time!!
Pete

Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eduardo f, General Manager at Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2012

Dear Peter T, thanks for your vote of confidence. We are passionate about our hotel love what we do. Look forward to your visit in July. Send me an email so I can follow up!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

The website's photos are very artfully taken, I'll say that. They make the hotel and rooms look much more spacious and high-end than the actual property. I thought our ocean view room was going to be something special, and it was just OK.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank midwesterner0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eduardo f, General Manager at Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2012

Dear midwesterner0000, ocean view was just OK? Wow, that is a first. We get raving comments about our views. Looks like you did appreciate our great location with a rating of 4. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
#44 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
3,990 reviews
Central Beach
W Fort Lauderdale
W Fort Lauderdale
#27 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
4,146 reviews
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#20 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
1,730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Atlantic Hotel & Spa
#15 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
2,015 reviews
Central Beach
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Res...
#11 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
5,343 reviews
Central Beach
The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale
The Westin Beach Resort, Fort La...
#31 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
3,612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach

Address: 999 N Fort Lauderdale Beach Blvd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-3310
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#6 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#18 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#18 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#32 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: ₹ 10,250 - ₹ 24,911 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just steps away from the ocean and the beautiful Fort Lauderdale beach, Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach offers you a sensational experience among Fort Lauderdale hotels: oceanfront hotel accommodations, unique restaurants and lounging areas, and a variety of excursions for those guests looking to explore Ft. Lauderdale, Florida. Our ballroom and meeting rooms on the penthouse floor overlook the Atlantic Ocean, presenting a special setting for business meetings and social gatherings held at this Fort Lauderdale Beach hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
b Ocean Fort Lauderdale Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing