We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely Recommend”
Review of Water Taxi

Water Taxi
Book In Advance
More Info
US$ 15.00*
and up
Fort Lauderdale Water Taxi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Take the Water Taxi tour to explore Fort Lauderdale and Hollywood from the water! Your ticket allows all-day Hop On / Hop Off at over 22 stops, and savings at restaurants and attractions at each stop. Think of it as a trolley tour on the water with great destinations along the way. **Important note: Go to our web site for pick up an drop off locations. Do not go to the office location as it is just the business office and Water Taxis do not pick up at the business office. **
Waltham
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Definitely Recommend”
Reviewed 19 April 2012

This was worth the $20 for the day. There are lots of fun stops and our tour guides were very knowledgable. Hightly recommended if you need something to do for the day.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

4,604 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,567
    1,399
    368
    128
    142
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A Mis-Managed Mess!”
Reviewed 18 April 2012

We had a terrible experience with this service. I'll begin when we arrived at the platform of stop 4 (Beach) as the boat was pulling away. The boat was approx 5 ft away from the pier and a crew member said that we had to get the next one. I might add that the boat was pulling away approx 5 minutes early. After a relatively long wait (approx 15 minutes behind the posted schedule, the boat pulled up and let passengers off, but this time we were told that we were not allowed to board because the boat was done for the day. the next several boats arrived, not necessarily on schedule, and unfortunately were all going on the same route (I think it was outbound, but we were waiting for inbound). After asking the last boat crew when the next inbound boat was coming, we were answered "in about 10 minutes". That wasn't the case.
Finally the boat came, and we were on our merry way to see the mansions and such. Since we didn't want to continue on, we got off at the next stop (I think 7 - Fisherie 21) and thought we could get the next boat outbound taking us back to 4, where we originally boarded. Well after waiting almost 1-1/2 hrs, we called the Water Taxi asking them where the heck are all the boats? We were told that there should be one every 15 minutes. After informing the dispatcher that we've been waiting an hour and a half, the dispatcher asked,"what do you want me to do?" We told her to get a boat here NOW. She then said that a boat was coming and should be there in about 10 minutes and disconnected the call. Well, a boat eventually came and we finally made it back. So our anticipated 1 hr boat ride ended up lasting about 4 hrs. Our Teenage daughters didn't want to join us on this jaunt but were going to join us for dinner when we returned. Unfortunately our plans were altered.
Had we known this service was so half-assed, we wouldn't have taken it. And trust me, we weren't the only ones furious. Maybe you'll read from some of the other riders who were supposed to transfer to the Hollywood Route boats. They were still waiting ... longer then us. This service is a great concept but unfortunately is terribly operated and mis-managed.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank capon56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
269 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
“Cute way to spend a relaxing day”
Reviewed 14 April 2012

We rode the water taxi for the full 1.5 hour length, both ways, with a stop of two along the way. We really enjoyed seeing all of the sights along the waterway. The crews were friendly and chatty, which enhanced the trip.

One thing that bothered me, though, was the canned monologues. You get the same comments and jokes at the same locations, and it reveals just how fake the whole schtick is. My suggestion would be to have a different script for the inbound and outbound routes. That way, people riding the taxi would never be subjected to the same story twice.

Still, it was a nice thing to do for the day, and we would definitely consider going again.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Island, NY
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A fun and relaxing day!!”
Reviewed 13 April 2012

I went with 4 others. We got on at stop 1 in Ft Lauderdale...then off for ice cream and back on for a trip down to Hollywood with a stop to run for a drink when at the dock and off at another stop for an awsome dinner...Would I recommend this? Very much so! Staff is friendly, the boats we were on were standard and not comfortable but all in all it was fun!! So skip the tourist boat tour and ride the watr taxi-I guarantee that you will not regret this! Also they will explain good places to eat and drink at each stop! This is a Flordia at its finest! I would do it again and again!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank KarenFodor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newmarket
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“These guys are GREAT!”
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Sightseeing, on the water, taxi and entertainment all rolled into one - take a few hours and trip around Fort Lauderdale to shopping and restaurants - it goes everywhere

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank KEH11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Water Taxi also viewed

Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 

Been to Water Taxi? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing