We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Vacation Experience”
Review of La Casa Del Mar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Casa Del Mar
Certificate of Excellence
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Vacation Experience”
Reviewed 28 February 2012

I stayed at La Casa del Mar for an extended vacation and had a wonderful experience. The management team and the housekeeping staff were excellent to work with. The room and all the amenities were very comfortable and relaxing. This was my first time at La Casa del Mar and I have already made my reservations for a return visit. The resort is very convenient to the beach and all the restaurants and night life on the beach. I would highly recommend La Casa del Mar to anyone planning a trip to Fort Lauderdale.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    96
    18
    16
    18
See reviews for
32
160
16
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We were upgraded to the junior suite which was a nice surprise.

It is close to the beach and it is pretty quiet.

It is an older B&B and needs some work. It is not the "traditional" B&B as each room has a kitchenette and outside room entry. The breakfast consisted of coffee/juice/bagels/muffins in a hallway of the sister hotel next door. It was open from 8:30 - 10:30 a.m.

It did have a small pool.

Over all it was an okay experience and we would stay here again and we would recommend it.

Staff was excellent.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JC60148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2012

We recently stayed at La Casa Del Mar for five nights, and found it a very convenient and pleasant place to spend our vacation. The location is ideal, the room and the property itself were clean and beautiful, and the staff was very pleasant and helpful. We were also surprised to find that our room had a miniature kitchen and some cooking utensils, a major bonus. We found it almost more like a studio apartment in a friendly apartment complex than a hotel room. La Casa Del Mar certainly isn't a ritzy resort hotel, but we actually prefer a more low-key, homey experience when travelling so it was perfect for us.

The one exception is the "breakfast," which as other reviewers have said is just laughable. They should really either step up their game or just drop the pretense and stop calling themselves a bed and breakfast. That said, this wasn't much of a deal-breaker for us - given how affordable this hotel is, you can buy a cup of coffee and a breakfast sandwich at the Starbucks half a block up on the corner, and still have saved a bundle staying here over any where else of comparable quality in the area. Or, for that matter, since you have a kitchenette, you could pick up some groceries and cook up whatever your heart desires! So, as far as we're concerned, no harm no foul. We can't wait to go back for a longer stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LB_abcd1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

My husband and I stayed here for three nights in mid-February. This place needs a lot of work, but has potential to be a great place.

The GOOD: location and price. It was truly just a block from A1A and the beach, and within walking distance to the main shopping and dining on the beach. Far enough away for peace and quiet. Price for our room with king bed during peak season was under $200 a night, which is less than half the price at major hotels in the area. The room was generally clean and the bed was reasonably comfortable. Oh, and the parking was very convenient.

The BAD: It is really a stretch to call this a B&B. We have stayed at many lovely B&B's, and this was much closer to a Days Inn. The breakfast was coffee, OJ and packaged bagels, muffins and instant oatmeal. This place could simply provide some fresh fruit, fresh-baked pastries, cheeses/yogurts. (Thank goodness for the Starbucks around the corner). A B&B usually has some beverages available any time--the two coin-operated vending machines on this property were ancient and not working. It really lacked the congenial, homey feeling of a B&B--really was much more a motel.

The UGLY: We must have been assigned one of the last rooms yet to be renovated. We stayed in room #2, which is in desperate need of updating. The bathroom is tiny, tiny and so sketchy that my husband and I wore our flip flops in the shower. Everything was rusty, and within 60 seconds of the shower running, the bottom of the shower was covered in 2 inches of water that did not drain until the water was off for 10 minutes. There was damage to the walls (see photo), which just demonstrates lack of upkeep. We did peek into room #3 and from what we could tell, it seemed much nicer and updated. Also, there is a light on during the evening outside of the room that is so bright, it illuminated our room all night. Closing the blinds did not help. We could not get Wi-fi access in our room and so we had to sit in the courtyard for any internet. Not once were we ever asked how our stay was, even upon check out. The staff said hello when they passed us, but nothing extra. B&B's are usually over the top in service, and this was not. No offers to assist us with dinner or activities suggestions, which is just unusual. No hairdryer, but no electrical outlet capable of handling a hairdryer either.

Room Tip: Don't pick #2! Pick #3, or call and ask which rooms have been updated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
185 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

We stayed here only because we were staying in Fort Lauderdale during a huge cruise departure weekend and everywhere we asked requested 4/5 night stays.
This place was available, not outrageously expensive and it looked nice. And it was indeed a very nice place. We loved it there, relaxing by the pool, drinking teas from the free breakfast (ok, the breakfast was very basic with milk, coffe and tea and bagels end of story... but it was ok!) it was all very nice.
Our room was large enough to fit our suitcases and the closet was of decent size. The bathroom was basic but clean and easy to use.
The bed was comfy and I slept very well (apart from the jetlag issue).
A van hanging from the ceiling did the trick and the aircon could be adjusted to any temperature from nice to downright freezing cold so... aircon REALLY did function not like in other hotels where it takes forever to cool the room.
The location was awesome. Next to Sebastian St Beach, a starbucks, the malls and a 7 USD ride from Wilton Manors.
Check out was a breeze!
What can I say... I would definitely repeat! And I am actually booking my next stay there!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dacarrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Premiere Hotel
Premiere Hotel
#1 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3,747 reviews
The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdal...
#6 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,487 reviews
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#21 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Beach
W Fort Lauderdale
W Fort Lauderdale
#26 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4,022 reviews
The Atlantic Hotel & Spa
#14 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,951 reviews
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#16 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
2,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa Del Mar

Property: La Casa Del Mar
Address: 3003 Granada St, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-4317
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Fort Lauderdale
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,138 - ₹ 23,640
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Casa Del Mar 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to La Casa del Mar: a charming Spanish-Mediterranean style accommodation located on Fort Lauderdale Beach, the "Venice of America", where you can enjoy the sub-tropical climate, ocean, beach, sun and fun! La Casa Del Mar is situated in a charming, two-story Mediterranean villa, built early in this century by the famous architect William Vaughn for the Francis Colter family who resided there until it became a small hotel in the 1950s. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your La Casa Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa Del Mar Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing