We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A touch of France on Amelia”
Review of Le Clos

Le Clos
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 0 - US$ 40
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A touch of France on Amelia”
Reviewed 7 May 2012

My wife and I discovered Le Clos on an afternoon stroll around town. We returned for dinner and had a delightful experience - from the welcome offered by Le Clos' owner, to an excellent French wine recommendation, and on to a great meal. We enjoyed pate and vichyssoise as appetizers, grouper as our entrees, and home made vanilla ice cream as a dessert. The site offers a couple tables by the front sidewalk, a charming atmosphere inside (where we ate), and patio dining out back. We would highly recommend this restaurant to all "foodies" looking for a "neighborhood gem"!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HerrWilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

760 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    550
    144
    37
    20
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best entree on the island!”
Reviewed 27 April 2012

We had heard lots of good things about this place, so we were excited to try it. First, the cottage this restaurant is located in is really charming. It really was a great atmosphere. We decided only to get entrees here, which ended up being a good choice. We had plenty of food and felt satisfied at the end of our meal. My wife ordered the duck breast and I ordered the lamb shank. The lamb shank was quite large; it was really a lot meat. It was cooked really well. It was fall-off-the-bone tender and the broth had a really nice flavor. The duck was very good as well -- cooked perfectly and well-flavored. Each dish came with a side of whipped potatoes and vegetables. We also really enjoyed the bread and butter that accompanied the meal. It was my wife's favorite part! The service was pretty good. It was not exceptional, but it was what you would expect from a high-end restaurant. This was certainly our most expensive meal on the island, but seemed to be worth the price.

BOTTOM LINE: Great food! The duck and lamb were superb. The service meets expectations, but really the food is what earned this place a 5 star rating.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PandJAllen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin
Level Contributor
96 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Quite a surprise”
Reviewed 25 April 2012

to find such a god French restaurant in Fernandina Beach. Small, fun and friendly staff. Food is terrific with, for example, an interesting take on escargot and pate. Reasonably priced.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank texasrambler_62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Dinner at le clos”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Food is great, staff is great, but building is very small and noisy. Recommend very early dinner or some night other than a Saturday .

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Smlclemons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 13 April 2012

We own the Williams House B&B and recently had dinner with visiting family at LeClos. Everything from salads to wine to entrees was simply superb. Our visiting family thought it matched any fine restaurant they have experienced. Accolades to Julie and all the staff!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris Maria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Clos also viewed

Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 

Been to Le Clos? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing