We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Addison on Amelia Island
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Tucker, GA
Level Contributor
66 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great B&B”
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We found the Addison via TripAdvisor. It's in a perfect location for GA, FL, and SC residents looking for something more soothing than Charleston or Savannah. The Addison sits on the inside of the island away from the Atlantic, but it's also the fun side. You can sightsee or pub-crawl; you can eat at some wonderful full-service restaurants; and if you want a beach, you can walk along some very uncrowded beaches, at least in May. Bring an umbrella and spare sandals.

The Addison itself: Wonderful service, wonderful rooms, wonderful hospitality. Don't miss Happy Hour. Bob figured out that I'd miss breakfast every morning, and kept something set aside for me. I guess the most complimentary thing I can say is that we're going back soon, and getting up in time to make happy hour!

Room Tip: There are stairs -- check with the innkeepers for suitable rooms for mobility impairments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tucker_emptynester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

997 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    955
    34
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
66
782
34
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
midlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Had a lovely four days at The Addison. Bob and Shannon are wonderful hosts, and their Happy Hour is a great way to meet new people and exchange ideas. This really is hotel quality accommodation but much more intimate and with every attention to detail thought through. We have travelled all over the world and would throughly reccomend a stay here, do not hesitate. The location is great for the historic area of Fernandina Beach and for wonderful restaurants. Thank you Bob and Shannon and your girls. I am sure we will see you again.

Room Tip: Room 3 is wonderful with a large private porch.
See more room tips
Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank princessMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocala
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 April 2012

The Addison is one of the nicest B & B's that we've stayed at. The grounds are beautifully kept and the rooms are tastefully decorated. Innkeepers Shannon and Bob have a keen eye for the little extras that make guests feel welcome and special. One evening, Bob arranged a carriage tour of the town for us and even supplied the carrots to feed Boomer the carriage horse. Great B & B in a fun quirky town.

Room Tip: We loved that they offered rooms with outside entrances, with a semi private balcony for relaxing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karla C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 April 2012

My wife and I travel all over the world and this is one of the nicest places we're had the pleasure of staying at. Bob, Shannon, and Leigh were the perfect host. Don't miss the happy hour where you get to meet all the other guest over a glass of wine.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, Delaware
Level Contributor
208 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Shannon and Bob have taken the B & B experience to the next level! They have thought of everything to make your stay comfortable, filling and fun. The rooms are very clean, well thought out and have every convenience and amenity - great beds, daily water bottles, excellent toiletries, extra pillows and blankets and even a throw to cover yourself sitting on the deck. There are fresh baked cookies daily and a basket of snack foods and sodas available throughout the day. Breakfast was amazing! Start your day with coffee, fresh squeezed orange juice, baked goods and a delicious cooked to order breakfast. Happy hour was a great way to meet other guests and find out what they had done during the day and/or eaten the night before. Shannon provided delicious appetizers while Bob served as host and bartender. Just ask and they have suggestions for outings and great restaurants. The inn is conveniently located a block from the main street and within walking distance to shops and restaurants. We didn't move the car once while we were there for 3 nights. They also provide bicycles, beach chairs, umbrellas and beach towels. Fernandina Beach was a great destination with lots of activites, shops and restaurants. I hope to visit this wonderful B & B again soon!

Room Tip: I don't think you can go wrong. They have great descriptions on their website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 6mojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fernandina Beach
2.8 km away
The Seaside Amelia Inn
The Seaside Amelia Inn
#5 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
631 reviews
0.4 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Isla...
#3 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
1,435 reviews
3.7 km away
Residence Inn Amelia Island
Residence Inn Amelia Island
#1 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
1,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 km away
Villas of Amelia Island Plantation
2.8 km away
Elizabeth Pointe Lodge
Elizabeth Pointe Lodge
#2 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
657 reviews
12.8 km away
Omni Amelia Island Plantation Resort
Omni Amelia Island Plantation Re...
#7 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
3,773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Addison on Amelia Island? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Addison on Amelia Island

Property: The Addison on Amelia Island
Address: 614 Ash St, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034-3933
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Amelia Island > Fernandina Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Fernandina Beach
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,598 - ₹ 17,892
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Addison on Amelia Island, a romantic Bed and Breakfast Inn nestled in a historic seaside village in Northern Florida. Three antebellum style buildings surround a central courtyard containing a three-tier fountain, lush gardens and winding brick pathways. The verandah, the social center of the inn, overlooks the courtyard. This is where you enjoy a delicious breakfast that is prepared and served by your innkeepers each morning and where you can join us for a glass of wine and appetizers while making new friends at the afternoon Happy Hour. Fourteen guest rooms seamlessly blend the elegance of a bygone era with the modern amenities, services and conveniences that today’s discriminating traveler expects. Each guest room has a private bath, some with oversized jetted tubs, with thirsty Turkish cotton towels and Green bath amenities. Luxurious bed linens, lots of large down-filled pillows and comfortable mattresses provide a good night’s sleep so that you awake refreshed and ready to enjoy your day. All guest rooms are air conditioned and free WiFi is available throughout the property. Complimentary bicycles and beach gear, including towels, chairs and umbrellas, are available for our guest’s use while exploring our beautiful island. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Addison On Amelia Island Hotel Fernandina Beach
The Addison On Amelia Island Fernandina Beach, FL

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing