We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Trip of a lifetime!"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tour the Glades - Private Wildlife Tours

Tour the Glades - Private Wildlife Tours
Ranked #1 of 34 Tours in Everglades City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Tour The Glades is the Only exclusively Private tour operator in the Everglades! Quality instead of quantity is our goal...which means our guests receive 100% of our attention. We can only do one (maybe two) trips per day which makes each one very special. This approach is better for the environment and hands down the best way to explore the Everglades....just you and your own personal guide. We provide tours year round and all excursions are led by Native Naturalist Guides that provide EVERYTHING you'll need. Fresh seasonal fruit, cold bottled water and all the necessities are included. You won't need to purchase any additional items because we've thought of everything! We are priced the same as the group tour companies but only do Private Tours because Private is Best. You are our #1 priority.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
San Francisco
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Trip of a lifetime!"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

All the other "excellent" reviews of Tour the Glades were spot on. Todd is genial and fun, and his tour through a little known river in the Everglades was exactly what I was hoping to find in this otherwise crowded National Park. There was no one else on the water with us, just my daughter and I and Todd in kayaks. We saw gators and herons and blue crabs, yes, but mostly we experienced the Everglades as they were meant to be experienced: in silence and in solitude. A glorious trip.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank George K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

619 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    612
    7
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The best part of our vacation!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

Touring the Glades with Tod was without a doubt the highlight of our trip. We met him at first light and he had all the gear ready to go, and we kayaked for around 4 hours. There were huge flocks of white egrets, ibis, white pelicans, many kingfisher, red shoulder hawk, and, oh yes, alligators! One swam right under my kayak but Tod was very cool and encouraging so I basically froze in place and the gator and I went our separate ways. Phew! All along the way Tod deftly caught blue crab and threw them in the bucket he'd brought with him, and afterwards we had a feast at Joanie's Blue Crab Cafe. What a wonderful day! He is easy going, insightful, knowledgeable and a really nice guy to spend the day with. I would highly recommend this trip. You will never forget your time with Tod.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank maggiebellasmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Will remember this trip FOREVER! It was an amazing adventure!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

When we planned a trip to the glades, my 15 yr old son was MOST looking forward to the 'air boat ride'. He assumed a kayak ride would be "boring". With Todd as our guide, this SUNSET kayak trip became his favorite trip of all times. We went out at 4pm. Todd and Brooks were in a double kayak. My mom (+70) and I were in another. It's tough to put into words all of the emotions you feel in this beautiful part of Florida. Quiet, erie, serene, peaceful, adventurous, fun, exciting, and neat are all words that pop in my mind. We kept saying that we could not believe we would be in the everglades (with all the alligators) in the dark. It was AMAZING. You must do this trip if you have one adventurous bone in your body. It is empowering and we were in competent hands with Todd by our side. He will take great care of you and your family.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jricephoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan, United States
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Close-up with Gators”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

We chose this trip based on the advice provided by Tripadvisor reviewers, and we were not steered wrong. I went out with my 14 and 16 year old sons, and Todd made it a trip of a lifetime for them and me.Todd is friendly, enthusiastic, and smart. His love of the Everglades is infectious. He has a lot of information to share (which we loved), but he is not afraid to be quiet and let the beauty of the place speak for itself. You are in very capable hands on an adventure that is worth every penny!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Simply magical family adventure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

We had quite simply the most wonderful four days "touring the glades" Tod in December. My husband and I plus our two children, Jack (aged 10) and Zoe (aged 8) all agree that our time with Tod is one of the best experiences of our lives.

Right from the outset, when I emailed Tod, I found him to be exceptionally accomodating and helpful. He took the time to learn about our family and the types of things we enjoyed so that he could create the perfect trip for us.

We began our adventure with a kayak trip in the Everglades where we spent a couple of hours peacefully floating around the mangroves looking for aligators. Tod was fantastic with the children, explaining and pointing out various flora and fauna and really capturing their imaginations with the stories he told. Both children immediately felt at ease with him and asked question after question!

Following lunch in town we headed out to Panther Key - a deserted island in the 10,000 islands for a night's camping a la Robinson Crusoe! Captain Rodney expertly navigated us through the mangroves and we even caught a glimpse of an elusive manatee on the way out as well as stopping for a bit of fishing. Once we reached the island Tod set to work building our camp while the kids collected shells on the beach and fished from the shore. Before long, we were eating the fish the children had caught round a camp fire and hearing stories of the pirate who used to live on the island. The children toasted marshmallows while we drank a glass of wine watching the sunset - simply magical.

After a comfortable night in the tent, we spent the morning trekking round the island with Tod. Once again, Tod proved to be a fascinating nature guide, keeping the children's interest by explaining and showing us lots of wildlife, flora and fruits.

After being collected by Captain Rodney we returned to Everglade City but not before an amazing experience with two pods of dolphins who swam and played by the boat.

The next morning we went on a trek with Tod through the National Park looking for panthers - Tod at the ready with plaster to mould their tracks for the kids to take home!

For the final part of our trip we drove north to Fort Myers where we went for another amazing kayaking experience. After a fabulous kayak down the stunning river we arrived at the estuary where the manatees congregate and spent almost two hours in awe watching these gentle creatures dive and surface right beside our kayaks.

All in all we had a fabulous time with Tod and I couldn't recommend his trips more highly. Whether you have just an afternoon for a kayak trip or the time to camp on a deserted island (highly recommended) Tod will make sure your experience is one to remember. The amount of effort he puts in create a unique and tailored adventure is fabulous. The children have both said that it is the best holiday they have ever had.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Sara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tour the Glades - Private Wildlife Tours also viewed

Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Tour the Glades - Private Wildlife Tours? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing