We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Old Florida Charm”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Englewood
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Manasota Beach Club
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Englewood
new england
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful Old Florida Charm”
Reviewed 8 March 2012

I have just returned, March 8 2012, from a wonderful stay at MBC. I traveled with my 80 year old mother and my 50 year old sister! I stayed in a cottage called Pelican! All lodging is named after local birds. Mom and Hilly resided in the ultimate Ibis. A two bedroom, 2 bath full self sustaining house directly on the golf complete with pool and steps to the beach. Pelican is a wonderful one bedroom one bath cottage with a king size bed and sitting area. As well as a fridge, microwave and coffee maker. All lodging comes with a TV for occasional viewing.
We had 3 meals a day in the club house! MAP included in the price. The food is above and beyond excellent and the staff is overly gracious and accommodating.

A step back in time.......A true "time warp". Easy to vacate the brain and just be.

Room Tip: Ask for Ibis, Lovebird, Sanderling, Pelican or Owl North
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank islandgirl737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    5
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
20
9
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2011

We spent a week in September in the Sanderling cottage and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The beach was just a few steps away. The cottage was clean and the staff is pleasant. We enjoyed the covered porch overlooking the ocean and saw bald eagles and dolphins while having our morning tea. We walked the beach, played in the ocean, found lots of shark teeth, enjoyed the pool, played basketball, did a little kayaking and even played some air hockey. If you want to go fishing, they can loan you the poles and bait bucket. They have nice tennis courts, but we did not get around to that. I have to say we loved every minute of our stay here. Apparently in winter there are many activities but this was the best time for us.
Since we visited in summer season, they did not have everything as neat and ready to go as they probably do in the winter months. The game room was a bit shabby and in need of a fix up and we noticed the shuffleboard and croquet court looked in need of repair as well. One thing to note is there is a “suggested” 15% tip ($240) that is automatically added to your bill regardless of the season.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank okbyila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

We (3 people) recently spent 15 days at Manasota Beach Club in the Ibis cottage.
A bit pricey; just over $5000.00 for the time there.
The Ibis cottage is a large 2 bedroom, 2 bath cottage with living room, dining room, kitchen (with a dishwasher and disposal), laundry room (what a luxury on vacation), screened in porch that leads directly to your own private pool.
You are only steps away from the Gulf of Mexico.
Lounge chairs, beach chairs and a charcoal grill are provided.
It is isolated; in all our time there, I saw 10 other people on the beach. So if you are a party person, this is probably not for you.
There is no cable or direct TV; no CNN or ESPN.
When we arrived, the a/c was not working. And while a protable a/c unit was brought in very quickly, this really needs to be remedied.
Cottage has been updated, but the bathrooms were skipped. They could use some updating.
Also the doors need better seals to keep "outside guests" out at night.
I have been going to Florida in the summer for over 50 years and this is really an unbelievable cottage.
Fix the a/c and the door issue and this is a 5 star all the way!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mystic, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2010

Cottages for family style living with planned activities for all ages.
Activities such as tennis, swimming, games, cards are planned right for the day.
Shell paths through the palms, orchids, hybiscus, ferns and grasses. Manasota's oyster shell paths lead the guests through the dunes and onto the long and clean beaches.
Swimming and boating and shelling and sunning are top activities along with tennis, kayaking, sailing, ping pong, pool games and picnicking. There is a cottage library full of great books to enjoy and wide screened DVDs in the lounges and rooms. MBC brings families and friend together for relaxation and fun.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sadiedevore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2010

The arrival of our first baby lead us to change our well established winter holiday routine of going to Mauritius and staying in 5 star hotel resorts, instead visiting the Manasota Beach Club (MBC) in early 2010.
The place is made up of a cluster of older style houses, around a central club house, where meals are served and other recreational activities are focused. Coming from the UK it’s not a format of establishment we’d come across; its neither hotel, nor guest house, nor rental property; kind of a mix of the three with a unique identity and lots of history thrown in.
Essentially you rent a house ( they have all sizes) where you could cater for yourself and / or enjoy a half board meal arrangement, eating in the Clubhouse, as we did. Most of the properties are right on the beach, and if not, only 20 yards or so.
The MBC is located on a narrow strip of coast, amongst upmarket residential houses. The place nestles under the canopies of old trees and fronts onto a superb secluded beach and the Gulf of Mexico. You couldn’t ask for a better location, rich in wildlife, but I’m told, nothing that wanted to dine on me!!
It’s family run and you’ll see the owners regularly at meal times, and the weekly cocktail party that they host at their home, which is on the site. I couldn’t fault the service, which was genuine and better than you’d get in any big name hotel. They did whatever they could to make our stay enjoyable.
Our house 2 bedroom house ‘Lovebird’, was literally right on the beach, with fantastic views out to sea. The house was older style with a traditional interior, feeling much as it would have done, when built 50 or so years ago. Linen was clean and house-keeping kept the place spotless, despite some aging fixtures and fittings ( was that really a 1960’s dishwasher?). There were beach chairs, umbrella and everything you’d need to make an excellent sand castle. For accomodation, think; comfortable, clean and functional; rather than elegant, new or modern.
We visited during the cold-snap but the 1 day we did get on the beach was wonderful; you'd have a great beach holiday here, plus with your house a few steps away, it's easy to escape. I watched some great sunsets from my seat on the house's terrace, accompanied by a Miller or two.
We thought the food was very good; from the American breakfasts, thru sandwiches and salads at lunch, and best of all the multi course dinners, which offered a range of choices each night. Food not fancy, but well cooked and well presented. BYO on the booze front!
The Clubhouse had a nice buzz at meal times and was popular with locals as an eating place, which is always a good sign.
In terms of facilities there seemed to be several good tennis courts (we don’t play), a useful small swimming pool, a great children’s play area, a library and an aging gym. Some other stuff too. I had some really great jogs along the beach.
We went early in the New Year and there weren’t always many guests, but there was an interesting mix amongst those staying. Some families, but mostly well travelled middle aged and older american clientele; everyone was friendly and great company.
This is not some immaculate, manicured and polished resort and if you must have that, then I don’t think you’d like MBC.
If, however, you value great service, good eating, an unsurpassed location, and a really special experience then this is for you.
I’d say everybody should go to the MBC a least once and it’s like nowhere else we’ve ever been; it’s wonderful and unique

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank LikingLuxury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Englewood
13.7 km away
Inn at the Beach
Inn at the Beach
#2 of 13 in Venice
1,170 reviews
7.4 km away
Sun Life Beach Hotel
Sun Life Beach Hotel
#2 of 10 in Englewood
101 reviews
16.8 km away
A Beach Retreat
A Beach Retreat
#2 of 12 in Nokomis
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 km away
Ramada Venice Hotel Venezia
1.0 km away
Pearl Beach Inn
Pearl Beach Inn
#1 of 10 in Englewood
442 reviews
9.2 km away
Sun Coast Inn
Sun Coast Inn
#4 of 10 in Englewood
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manasota Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manasota Beach Club

Property: Manasota Beach Club
Address: 7660 Manasota Key Rd, Englewood, FL 34223-9316
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Englewood
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Englewood
Price range (per night): ₹ 16,131 - ₹ 31,294
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simple. Natural. Untouched. Relaxed. If this is what you seek in a vacation destination, look no further than the Manasota Beach Club. Located on Manasota Key in Englewood, Florida, and surrounded by the pristine waters of Lemon Bay and Gulf of Mexico, the Manasota Beach Club is a waterfront resort like no other. During your stay, you will be sure to experience the utmost in environmentally-friendly vacations, all the while enjoying that old-Florida feel that makes our resort so unique. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Manasota Beach Club Hotel Englewood
Manasota Beach Hotel
Manasota Beach Club Englewood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing