We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great, except for minor flaw”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sleep Inn & Suites Riverfront - Ellenton
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Ellenton
Orleans, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great, except for minor flaw”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

Traveling with wife and two small dogs. Stayed on floor 2, a dog friendly floor. Overlooked river and pool, but palms were in the way for a very good view of river. Executive suite, which they made by opening up two decently sized adjoining rooms: with King bed (comfortable and clean) in one, and a fully equipped sitting room with a large sleep sofa and easy chairs in the other. Both rooms had full baths (shower/tub) and both rooms had a decent flat screen HDTV. A few stains on the carpeting (I've paid a lot more for a lot more stains) but otherwise clean, clean, clean! We were able to shut our two dogs in the sitting area, while the staff cleaned the bedroom area which worked really well. (By the way, with the two separate full baths and a large hide-a-bed, this would have worked out very well for more people than the two of us.) Breakfast was motor hotel adequate, no better but no worse.

So what was the flaw? Their wi fi was down the weekend that we were there, and nobody seemed to have a clue how to fix it ( and of course their service's tech was, well, gone fishing or something.) This would not have been a problem, except that we seem to have the only room that the ethernet connection was also defunct. I had some rather pressing email that I needed to deal with. The lobby's public computer was so slow that I kept exceeding the allotted time and getting kicked off line. The desk clerk tried very hard to be helpful, by the way, but it was just not possible. She offered to switch us into the only remaining room in the hotel that was not booked through the weekend, even though it wasn't dog friendly, but the room set up was not an exec. king.

Was this a deal killer for the future? Absolutely not. I doubt if we would ever encounter that same problem again. And in spite of comments from a few other reviewers, we heard zero noise from the nearby interstate. One of the better dog friendly hotels we have stayed in.

Room Tip: If you are not traveling with pets, choose an upper floor riverside suite for a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbcapecod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    60
    23
    13
    9
See reviews for
52
49
11
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

I usually travel alone and look for safety and a good location; this hotel has both. It is very convenient off of 1-75 and situated on the lovely Manatee River. The hotel is older but well maintained and clean; I have stayed several times. The employees provide superior service, Cathy the assistant manager is extremely attentive and helpful; she can't do enough to please you. There are plenty of restaurants within walking distance.

Room Tip: Since the rooms run a little small, I normally reserve a room for more than 2 people and that seems...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen4214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

My family member had accidentally booked an awful Days Inn by Busch Gardens that was so bad we left, even though it was 8:00pm and we were exhausted from a day at the park. Since it's March and "spring break" every hotel within 3 exits of Tampa we went to was booked. Tired and hungry we finally exited for Palmetto, FL and found this Sleep Inn at $109 per night for a king suite with sleeper sofa.

The overall condition of the hotel was acceptable - a bit more attention to detail from the maids would be helpful as there is some dirt building up in corners and such, but other then that nothing bad, and compared to the dump we had left it felt like heaven!

The room was acceptable with a kitchenette and plenty of space, and I saw no evidence of dirt or bugs really. There was some mildew build up in the caulking along the tub but I've come to expect that at every hotel - what is it with the supervisors of housekeepers that they don't equip them with spray bottles of bleach or Tilex and have them bleach out mildew stains?

The only real complaint I had with this property was the free breakfast buffet - man was that food BAD. Pre-packaged muffins were past their expiration date so obviously frozen for a long time, pre-packaged chewy bagels, and the individual cream cheese tubs had also been frozen because it crumbled instead of being smooth when you tried to put it on your bagel.

I get it that the breakfast is included but like anything you do in business and especially in the hospitality industry, do it well or don't do it, or do it on a smaller scale at higher quality. This hotel should consider revamping it's breakfast because although I would stay at this hotel again, I would NOT stay there because of the food.

All in all though, if you are traveling in SW Florida on I-75 and need an option other then Tampa, this wasn't a bad place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank manchulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockford, Michigan
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

There is a lot going for this hotel. The room was bright, spacious, and inviting. Though situated almost below the I-75 bridge, the sound did not penetrate the hotel. The hotel backs up to the Manatee River, so ask for a river view.
Though the furnishings were worn, the room was very clean. Some creative soul even arranged the wash cloths in the shape of a swan. If you like to soak in a tub, go elsewhere; there us only a shower.
The breakfast room is cramped. If you want more than the offered continental fare, drive across Hwy 301 to Peaches, the local favorite. It's in s strip mall on the road to the Outlets.
Some older reviews should be ignored

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank justfeltcreative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Level Contributor
54 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2011

Really wanted this hotel to be good, but I was disappointed. Hotel is in a dark scary area. Property is in bad need of upgrades and maintenance. Carpet thoughout is stained and nasty. Rooms smell bad. Afraid to sit on the furniture in room because of all the stains and crud. (On the positive side: Hotel Personel were very very nice and the Breakfast was O K).

Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank nvky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ellenton
0.4 km away
Super 8 Ellenton Bradenton Area
0.4 km away
Hampton Inn Ellenton
Hampton Inn Ellenton
#1 of 4 in Ellenton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
0.8 km away
Red Roof Inn Ellenton
Red Roof Inn Ellenton
#4 of 4 in Ellenton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Bradenton Downtown Historic District
5.2 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bradenton Hotel & Suites
5.0 km away
Americas Best Value Inn-Bradenton/Sarasota
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn & Suites Riverfront - Ellenton? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn & Suites Riverfront - Ellenton

Property: Sleep Inn & Suites Riverfront - Ellenton
Address: 5605 18th Street E., Ellenton, FL 34222
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Ellenton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Ellenton
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,559 - ₹ 9,244
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn & Suites Riverfront - Ellenton 2*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sleep Inn & Suites Riverfront - Ellenton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn Ellenton
Ellenton Sleep Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing