We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (513)
Filter reviews
513 results
Traveller rating
380
64
38
17
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
380
64
38
17
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews family pool adult pool primrose restaurant self parking sea level bath salts garden view state park short walk beautiful hotel steam room sister property shuttle service paddle boards ice cream shop within miles pool side
Filter
Updating list...
75 - 80 of 513 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2018 via mobile

We had thee most amazing time at this lovely resort for our 1 yr anniversary! We recommend this place for couples! Singles! And family! We will be back with our children next time! Beat food, service and view! The spa was incredible and I would yell it from the roof top that this is a 10 out of 10! We can't wait to come back!

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Beth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David M, General Manager at The Henderson - A Salamander Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2018

Dear Beth H,

Thank you for being our guests! It is a great treat to read our guest reviews, and especially in celebration of a special event - your 1 year anniversary! - to know that you enjoyed a wonderful time in celebration as our guests!

We welcome all - singles, couples, family - and have you covered! Please share with us the nature of your visit to make all the details happen for your visit.

We look forward to welcoming you back for anniversary after anniversary!

Warm regards,

David M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018

Beautiful hotel, comfortable bed and very spacious room and bathroom with a nice size deck. Staff was exemplary as were the hotel, grounds, and pools. Quick access to the amazing and clean white sand beach. Fantastic, hope to return again soon.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank MrsWrightofCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David M, General Manager at The Henderson - A Salamander Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2018

Dear Mrs. Wright,

Thank you for your wonderful review of The Henderson Beach Resort and for being our guest! We are delighted to read that your visit was exemplary of what we aim to provide our guests each occasion you return.

We look forward to your return!

Kind regards,

David M.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018

Absolutely amazing! We did a small private beach wedding at the Henderson on the 4th of July. Kathryn was fantastic, keeping in touch the days leading up, getting us early check in, and driving us to the wedding location (to the beach). We were upgraded from garden to gulf view and the view and the room was stunning! ! The beach was perfect, private, and beautiful. After the ceremony, we arrived back to our room to find champaign, chocolate covered strawberries, and a card. It was fantastic. We did ask to be picked up from the beach and after waiting 20 min, we gave up and walked back. The only other complaint was that when we ordered room service, one of our two sides wasnt with it and we had to call to be told they were out. The main dish itself was decent, though a bit over cooked (ordered two rare steaks, got two medium steaks). We were offered a replacement for the missing side though, and the crab cake starter was fantastic. All in all, amazing service, the staff was outstanding and the room was just perfect. We definitely would love to come back in the future and recommend it.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madison V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David M, General Manager at The Henderson - A Salamander Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2018

Dear Maddienicole4,

Thank you for your review and congratulations on your marriage! Kathryn Lynch or Jillian McCarthy are at your service for wedding bookings at The Henderson Beach Resort. As you mention, they will touch all the detailed planning with you in advance, and make certain your day is most memorable!

On behalf of our dining team, please accept our apologies for not providing the options selected which is being readily addressed - if we do not have what you ordered for a side; then, we are glad to offer alternatives two - fold!

We greatly appreciate your detailed feedback to assist with our continued quality improvements, and look forward to an anniversary visit down the road!

Congratulations!

Thank you for being our guests and warmest regards.

David M.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018 via mobile

It’s difficult to pinpoint what the defining moments were making our stay at the Henderson so far above and beyond our expectations. This was our second stay here - and our first hotel EVER where we actually sought out the general manager for the sole purpose of extolling the property and the service.

Words fail. The rooms are exquisite. The seascape cannot be beat in the United States. The staff is so personable yet polished and professional. The food is incredibly delicious - to the extent that we only left the property once during our weeklong stay. Memorable. (And we are definitely food critics in the highest regime. Difficult to please is an understatement.)

Try it for yourself. You won’t be disappointed.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank LizzieLovesLunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David M, General Manager at The Henderson - A Salamander Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2018

Dear Lizzie Loves Lunch,

Thank you for your five point review and sharing your feedback from the visit to the resort for future travelers!

I am delighted, always, to read reviews from our return guests. It was a pleasure to meet and we aim to share the same "best vacation ever" experience with each of our guests - definitely appreciative of food critics and feedback along your tradition to return as our guests too!

We have more to come in the year and ahead with events, menu releases, activities, and our guest service offerings. Please know that your feedback as our guest is the best to help us continue to develop in a manner and service approach to serve you, our guest.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you back.

Thank you,

David M.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2018

This is my second stay at this new property. The property is beautiful! My biggest complaint is the service. There was no consistency at all. The pool staff is fantastic. They were attentive and pleasant each day of our week long stay. Michael down on the beach is wonderful. Great personality, great attitude, great service. You need more employees like him. Kirill at Primrose is an asset to the property. He is the best. He gets it! The restaurant itself, long wait time for food that is just OK. Housekeeping was inconsistent. One day turndown the next day nothing. You drive up to the door or walk out to get your car and workers are talking amongst themselves without even greeting you. It would be nice if they even opened your door for you to get in your car. It's the little things and I have a hundred examples of how this resort could be so much better because it has the potential to be amazing but the lack of employee training, lack of consistency and management turnover is really hurting them right now.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank 894moniquem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David M, General Manager at The Henderson - A Salamander Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2018

Dear Moniquem,

Thank you for returning as our guest to the beautiful, Henderson Beach Resort! You raise a complaint and comment that is most pertinent to our resort - service and consistency in service. We are pleased to read that some were attentive and pleasant each day of your week long stay, and look to make this a through-and-through experience. From the front drive to our pool, our commitment is hospitality. Please accept our sincere apologies for the lapses you experienced during your visit.

Our teams are addressing each point, and with our new leadership team, we wish to assure you that training, development, warm hospitality, and a most comfortable visit with exquisite service is our standard. We would be pleased to welcome you back again, and to have the opportunity to connect more directly. Please feel free to contact us at 850.424.4404.

We look to live up to the potential of our guests. The highest standards are The Henderson Beach Resort.

Thank you very much for your review.

Sincerely,

David M.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews