We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brotula’s is the Bomb.com”

Brotula's Seafood House & Steamer
Ranked #7 of 403 Restaurants in Destin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 9 - US$ 29
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Description: Brotula's Seafood House & Steamer is a locally-owned & operated, casual, family friendly seafood restaurant on the Destin Harbor. The name Brotula's is derived from the Bearded Brotula or Cusk Eel that is caught right here in the local waters at depths of 350 feet. It is one of the best kept secrets among the local fishing community and some amazing tasting fish. Here at Brotula's we specialize in fresh, locally-sourced seafood, produce, and a wide array of steamed and boiled shellfish platters that are integrated into a fun and rustic, yet sophisticated southern fish house. Some of our most popular dishes includes the steamed snow crab, lobsters, and mussels. The Chef Inspired menu will display a wide variety of flavors, with focuses on New South culinary preparations of traditional coastal offerings from around the country. Come and join us for a one-of-a-kind dining experience!
Restaurant details
Description: Brotula's Seafood House & Steamer is a locally-owned & operated, casual, family friendly seafood restaurant on the Destin Harbor. The name Brotula's is derived from the Bearded Brotula or Cusk Eel that is caught right here in the local waters at depths of 350 feet. It is one of the best kept secrets among the local fishing community and some amazing tasting fish. Here at Brotula's we specialize in fresh, locally-sourced seafood, produce, and a wide array of steamed and boiled shellfish platters that are integrated into a fun and rustic, yet sophisticated southern fish house. Some of our most popular dishes includes the steamed snow crab, lobsters, and mussels. The Chef Inspired menu will display a wide variety of flavors, with focuses on New South culinary preparations of traditional coastal offerings from around the country. Come and join us for a one-of-a-kind dining experience!
Reviewed 10 December 2017 via mobile

Atmosphere, food quality, service, location. EVERYTHING was right with this place. We were a party of 25+ on a Leaders Retreat. The foos was superb, the decor and lighting was just right, and the service was excellent. Big Shout Out To John and Danielle. Those two were energetic, funny and they really took care of us. I will return in the future. If you are in the area, you will not be disappointed if you choose to dine here. This place is definitely one to add to your list of places to eat. Thank you John and Danielle I really appreciate what you did for us. You both ROCK!

1  Thank llahmone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyler J, Owner at Brotula's Seafood House & Steamer, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2017

We're glad your Leaders Retreat group dinner was an amazing one. We'll be sure to pass along the kind words to John and Danielle -- they'll be happy to know you felt taken care of and they played a big part in making your experience so special. Thanks so much for the kind words -- we look forward to having you back.

All the best,
Chris and Tyler, Co-Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,068)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

496 - 500 of 2,068 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2017 via mobile

We went here for a leadership retreat, there was 25 of us! When I tell you that Danielle and John were amazing servers! They had no problem taking care of us. Very accommodating and patient. The food was good as well.

Thank Rachael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyler J, Owner at Brotula's Seafood House & Steamer, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2017

Rachael, we appreciate the feedback and are glad everyone had such a wonderful time with us! Thanks and hope to see you again soon.

All the best,
Chris and Tyler, Co-Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2017

We were disappointed in Brotula's because we expected a much higher quality of food since it was higher on the list than Boshamp's. The salad was very simple and the vegetables were full of cheese and bacon. The proteins were mostly fried. It was our last lunch for this trip and I regreted our choice to go here. The food was good but not great.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ruthie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyler J, Owner at Brotula's Seafood House & Steamer, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2017

Ruthie, it's disappointing we didn't meet expectations -- we work really hard to serve up delicious and innovative dishes with only the freshest ingredients. If you were looking for lighter fare, we would've been more than happy to create a dish for you. We're sorry we didn't communicate this to you during your visit. We'd love to make it up to you and have another chance at impressing you -- we think you'll be pleasantly surprised.

Thank you,
Chris and Tyler, Co-Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2017 via mobile

Went to Brotula's with friends during my vacation in Florida. Our waiter Jon was very helpful in suggesting cocktails and meals. The shrimp and grits was delicious.

Thank Jean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyler J, Owner at Brotula's Seafood House & Steamer, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2017

Jean, you're the best! Thanks for your review. Hoping you'll make it back our way again soon.

All the best,
Chris and Tyler, Co-Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2017

Enjoyed a great dinner with grammar school friends. Friendly service. Great food. Server Jon was very attentive.

Thank Patti B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyler J, Owner at Brotula's Seafood House & Steamer, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2017

Patti, it's fantastic that you enjoyed stopping by. Thanks for the feedback. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

All the best,
Chris and Tyler, Co-Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brotula's Seafood House & Steamer also viewed

 

Been to Brotula's Seafood House & Steamer? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing