We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brunch”

Brotula's Seafood House & Steamer
Ranked #8 of 311 Restaurants in Destin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 9 - US$ 29
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Description: Brotula's Seafood House & Steamer is a locally-owned & operated, casual, family friendly seafood restaurant on the Destin Harbor. The name Brotula's is derived from the Bearded Brotula or Cusk Eel that is caught right here in the local waters at depths of 350 feet. It is one of the best kept secrets among the local fishing community and some amazing tasting fish. Here at Brotula's we specialize in fresh, locally-sourced seafood, produce, and a wide array of steamed and boiled shellfish platters that are integrated into a fun and rustic, yet sophisticated southern fish house. Some of our most popular dishes includes the steamed snow crab, lobsters, and mussels. The Chef Inspired menu will display a wide variety of flavors, with focuses on New South culinary preparations of traditional coastal offerings from around the country. Come and join us for a one-of-a-kind dining experience!
Restaurant details
Description: Brotula's Seafood House & Steamer is a locally-owned & operated, casual, family friendly seafood restaurant on the Destin Harbor. The name Brotula's is derived from the Bearded Brotula or Cusk Eel that is caught right here in the local waters at depths of 350 feet. It is one of the best kept secrets among the local fishing community and some amazing tasting fish. Here at Brotula's we specialize in fresh, locally-sourced seafood, produce, and a wide array of steamed and boiled shellfish platters that are integrated into a fun and rustic, yet sophisticated southern fish house. Some of our most popular dishes includes the steamed snow crab, lobsters, and mussels. The Chef Inspired menu will display a wide variety of flavors, with focuses on New South culinary preparations of traditional coastal offerings from around the country. Come and join us for a one-of-a-kind dining experience!
Reviewed 2 May 2017

Were visited Brotula's for a Sunday Brunch. We were seated outside overlooking the harbor on a sunny day. Our waiter was awesome with our large party and gave advice on food questions without hesitation. Great recommendations too! We truly enjoyed our visit here and the view!

Thank MaryAnn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyler J, Owner at Brotula's Seafood House & Steamer, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2017

So happy to hear you were able to enjoy a lovely brunch with us, MaryAnn! It means a lot that you enjoyed the food and the service, so we'll be sure to share your kind words with the team. Hope to see you again soon!

Until next time,
Chris and Tyler, Co-Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,836)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

751 - 755 of 1,838 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2017 via mobile

Wonderful experience overall. We had a relaxing lunch with great food, great service (thanks Sydney!) in a laid back environment!

Thank Katharine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyler J, Owner at Brotula's Seafood House & Steamer, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2017

It means a lot that you enjoyed a relaxing lunch at our place, Katharine! We appreciate your compliments on the food and the service, so we'll be sure to share this with Sydney. Hope to see you again soon!

Until next time,
Chris and Tyler, Co-Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2017

We stopped at Brotula's for lunch. We nearly had the place to ourselves, but hey we were visiting in the shoulder season so I figured we shouldn't be too worried. We tried a few of their cocktails - both were fantastic.

We ordered the Fried Crab Claws and Tuna Dip as appetizers. My husband hates tuna (unless it's tuna steak) and even he liked the dip. The crab claws were lightly battered and quickly devoured.

We also ordered a Steam Pot to share and the Grouper Floridian. The local shrimp steamer with mustard and beer was really delicious, with fresh shrimp and just enough flavor. The Grouper Floridian was hands down the best part. It was by far the best thing we ate during our trip. The grouper tasted fresh and the sauce was perfect! I will be craving this until we make it back again.

The service was friendly, the parking lot is large and just in front of the restaurant. If you are looking for outdoor dining, they have a large covered deck that you can admire the boats from. Rather hang out in the air conditioning?
They have a large indoor area too. I would highly recommend this restaurant to any seafood lovers!

Thank Jessi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyler J, Owner at Brotula's Seafood House & Steamer, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2017

Thanks for stopping by for lunch, Jessi! We're so happy to hear you enjoyed everything from the fried crab claws to the grouper. We appreciate your support on here and hope to see you again soon!

All our best,
Chris and Tyler, Co-Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2017 via mobile

We enjoyed our dinner but our waiter J was outstanding. Thank you J for all your advice on picking our dinners!! We will be back.

Thank Joyce T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyler J, Owner at Brotula's Seafood House & Steamer, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2017

Picking the perfect meal is always a tough choice, so we're happy to hear your server was able to help you out with that, Joyce! We're flattered by your compliments on the food and the service. Already looking forward to your return!

All our best,
Chris and Tyler, Co-Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2017

As locals this is one of our favorite restaurants. The food is always fresh & tasty. We were there with a large group & had impeccable service & attention to each detail. They go out of their way to listen & fill each request. Summer is by far the best server we have ever had in any restaurant.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank djg324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyler J, Owner at Brotula's Seafood House & Steamer, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2017

First things first, happy to have you as neighbors! We are blown away by your compliments on the service, so we know that Summer will love reading this. We're looking forward to seeing you again soon!

Until next time,
Chris and Tyler, Co-Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brotula's Seafood House & Steamer also viewed

Destin, Florida Panhandle
 
Destin, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Brotula's Seafood House & Steamer? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
;