We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed Beach Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Emerald Grande at HarborWalk Village
Certificate of Excellence
Bartlett, Tennessee
Level Contributor
74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Disappointed Beach Vacation”
Reviewed 1 May 2012

The resort is very nice as many have said - good views, good access to restaurants and room was very comfortable. However, if you want the true beach experience this is not the place. To pay a premium price and have to take a shuttle to get to the beach was a huge disappointment (with tip jar displayed for the crew even though we were already paying a $30 resort fee per day!) The beach was small - those long romantic walks on the beach were not possible unless you left the resort and went to areas like Grayton Beach or other beaches. We had friends come into town a few days after us - they stayed at another hotel ON THE BEACH (oceanfront) for much less money that we paid. In addition, our room had broken table and shades. Still not fixed when we left. We also did not find the front desk staff very friendly. We would definitely recommend just visiting the Emerald to eat and walk around and then stay somewhere else less expensive if you want the full ocean and beach experience.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gwtwgs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria W, Manager at Emerald Grande at HarborWalk Village, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
gwtwgs1,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I'm sorry to hear that our location did not fit your needs. However, we advertise that our property is not directly on the beach but we do offer our own boat shuttle. Unlike other properties in the area we are unique in the sense that we offer many amenities. These include but not limited to: restaurants which serve local fresh seafood, unique boutiques for shopping, full service spa, pool and hot tubs with breath taking views of the harbor, complimentary DVD rental machines for resort guests, water sports and activities, and on many nights free entertainment. Please consider revisiting us and notifying me so I can ensure you do receive a first class experience at our property which is offered to all our guests and owners.

Regards,
Victoria Wyatt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

919 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    543
    183
    87
    56
    50
See reviews for
477
178
14
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Thought I would share since Memorial Day is around the corner. We own a condo in Destin but last year decided to rent it out. Last minute decided to go down and decided to take in the Emerald Grande. Nice area overlooking the harbor and the village that surrounds it. This is about all that is good. First off you will not be sure if you are staying at a hotel or a condo. The facility seems to be a hotel from all aspects until you actually need something. We arrived late the night we got there and check in was a disaster. Then when we got to the room the crib was not there for my toddler. The layout is is very choppy. There are about 4-5 different elevators that all travel different places. There is not a vending machine around unless you go down to the lobby. With the village on the grounds Memorial Day weekend this is a very busy place. Parking was difficult enough as it was I did not need the NAZI parking people giving me a hard time about where I could park. Again with a toddler after a very long day at the water park I did not want to park next door at a restaurant and walk. You would think they would have parking reserved for guests and not for the people eating and attending fireworks. Overall just a disaster that I thought I should share before anyone wastes their money.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank BirminghamMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria W, Manager at Emerald Grande at HarborWalk Village, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
BirminghamMatt,

Thank you for reviewing our property. I'm sorry about some of the negative experiences you had. As you can imagine, Memorial Day is one of the busiest weekends at our resort as well as the HarborWalk Village because of all the free entertainment and fireworks we provide. The property is quite large so sometimes people tend to get turned around but we do have directional signs posted all around property as well as in the units and a map is given upon check in. We also have phones by most elevators that can ring the front desk who is available 24/7 to assist lost or in need guests. Also, we do offer private parking which is strictly for our owners and guests at Emerald Grande and when the parking gets quite full or when we have large events, we do have our security team manning the garage as well as the lots so only owners and guests can park on property. You did not leave much detail on check in so if you'd like to discuss some of the issues you had last year please feel free to contact me directly at (850) 424-0631 or vwyatt@legendaryinc.com. I hope to hear from you soon.

Regards,
Victoria Wyatt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I stayed at this resort using my Wyndham Presidential Reserve points. This is definetly the best in their growing impressive collections to date. I booked a 3 bedroom 3 bath 4th floor Harbor View unit overlooking the bay with a gulf view beyond. The evening sunsets from my balcony outdoor living room was soooo beautiful that i made sure i was there nightly during sunset hours. Expensive to book it but i can certainly say i got my monies worth. Other than it being a little noisy from the large crowds below, i have nothing to complain about. It was a Great vacation experience.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Myvacationreport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

This was our second time at the Emerald Grande. Another 5 star vacation at this location! We went with another family this year, with 3 young children, and they loved it too! Such a great location! Love the rooms, comfortable beds, restaurant, pool area and the close location to the Harborwalk Village! The only time we left the grounds was to make a quick Walmart run. I see comments on the beach access from the Emerald Grande......why it works for us and why I love it. You do have to take a quick boat ride to the beach.....takes about 2 minutes. Love being able to go to the private beach and soak up some sun. Kids loved the beach area. Great spots to catch hermit crabs. They have great workers at the beach that provide you with chairs, umbrellas, etc. Often you can see dolphins on the way to the beach. We would head to the beach in the early morning, pack up a lunch & drinks....then head back to some much needed pool time in the afternoon. We had one room on floor 7 and one on the ground level, so it was so convenient to put the little ones down for a nap while we hung out on the porch/balcony area and still get some sun! Loved the gals in the restaurants/pool area! Super hard workers! LOVE THIS PLACE! Already rebooked for 2013! My only crazy suggestion......wish they had a person in Reservations in the hotel! Was ready to book and give them my $....but needed to call a 800#. Oh well........no biggie! Spring Break 2013 here we come!

Room Tip: Our 7th floor room was excellent! Our friends that we traveled with have little ones that still love...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MMSELLERS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria W, Manager at Emerald Grande at HarborWalk Village, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
MMSELLERS,

Thank you so much for the kind review. I'm happy to hear that you were able to take advantage of the numerous amenities we have to offer on property. Also, thank you for the feedback on the reservations line. But we actually do have reservationists on property and have our on proprety reservations line open from 8 AM-8 PM M-F and 9 AM-7 PM on Saturday and Sunday CST. We also have someone to take the call 24 hours a day just in case you may need assistance before or after those hours! Again, thank you for taking the time to review our property. We will look forward to serving you again in 2013!

Regards,
Victoria Wyatt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

We were lucky to stay in a three bedroom unit with friends and had a wonderful time. Kitchen is just the right size and has everything we needed...Furnture was comfortable. Beds were great and rooms were good size. Great view from the balcony of the "strip" and the bay and the beach area....the private beach is wonderful and the staff is very friendly....would love to go back again....

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bandit49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Destin hotels
14.9 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach
5.1 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Destin
3.6 km away
Wingate by Wyndham Destin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Inn on Destin Harbor
Inn on Destin Harbor
#26 of 39 in Destin
431 reviews
7.8 km away
The Henderson - A Salamander Beach & Spa Resort
18.4 km away
Courtyard Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emerald Grande at HarborWalk Village? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerald Grande at HarborWalk Village

Property: Emerald Grande at HarborWalk Village
Address: 10 Harbor Blvd., Destin, FL 32541-7374
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 56 Speciality Lodging in Destin
Price range (per night): ₹ 22,870 - ₹ 42,306
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Emerald Grande at HarborWalk Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Emerald Grande at HarborWalk Village is Destin's shining jewel overlooking some of the most marvelous turquoise water and sugar sand beaches in creation. The one-of-a-kind architecture blends harmoniously with the harbor front setting. All rooms have spacious balconies with panoramic views overlooking the Emerald Coast. With four different resort residence categories to accommodate families of all sizes, you'll enjoy luxurious accommodations that include custom-crafted furnishings and lavish baths, with a level of service that sets the standard for all other family resorts. Amenities include a full service European spa and fitness center, indoor and outdoor heated pools overlooking the Gulf of Mexico, full-time concierge, numerous restaurants to choose from as well as in-room dining, state-of-the-art business center, garage parking and 24 hour security. Emerald Grande is nestled inside HarborWalk Village where activities and entertainment waits to please each and every member of your family-dive in and make memories that will last a lifetime. Here you can find waterfront shopping, water sports, boat, pontoon and ski rentals, world class fishing, aqua adventures, dolphin cruises, clubs and nightlife, weekly fireworks, seasonal festivals, live entertainment, magic shows, and an array of restaurants to satisfy all tastes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Emerald Grande at HarborWalk Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emerald Grande Harbor Walk Village Hotel Destin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing