We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Vacation Rental”
Review of Destin Gulfgate

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Destin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Destin Gulfgate
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 December 2011

We have visited the Destin area seven times over the past several years, including five years at Sandestin and one year at Sundestin. The Destin Gulfgate was far and away our favorite rental. The two-bedroom condo (#304) was very spacious, clean and comfortable, and was filled with top of the line upgrades such as stainless steel appliances, granite countertops, beautiful tiled ceiling, and fully equipped kitchen. We also loved the 30 foot balcony with a table, several chairs, and two lounge chairs. There were also nice flat panel TVs and Blu-ray DVDs in every room. We were also VERY impressed with the staff, who were extremely friendly and instantly fixed a few small problems, such as a dead lightbulb. They really made us feel welcome. The location, near the harbor and the Destin Commons is also very nice. Staying here cost us less money than Sandestin has in the past, and we enjoyed it a lot more, both for the great unit and since we were right on a very nice beach. Gulfgate is actually only a few buildings down from Sundestin, but we felt the Gulfgate unit was much nicer and more modern. Overall, we had a great stay here and we'll be booking again soon for next year!

Room Tip: All the rooms have the same layout, so just go to their website, look at the room pictures, and use...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jeremy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (295)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

258 - 262 of 295 reviews

Reviewed 15 December 2011

The Good---
For a rating on the overall Destin Gulfgate property, I give it 5 out of 5 stars. On the beach in front of the Gulfgate, I give it a 6 out of 5 stars ... really. The problem is with unit 1105.

We've been coming to Destin for 13 years and this was our second stay at Gulfgate. We love the staff, the property is well kept, and the beach is THE best (but please keep that a secret). The Good also includes its central location in Destin and it is in walking distance of The Back Porch restaurant.

The Good of 1105 is that David, the owner, is very nice and easy to work with, the condo is very large, and the view from the 11th floor is phenomenal. The sheets were nice as well as the heavy duty towels -- and the noon check-in is a great plus... but that leads to ...

The Bad and the Ugly---
The Bad and the Ugly of 1105 are what other reviewers have said and I should have listened to.... the place was filthy, outdated, and in disrepair. Bookcases, furniture, and light fixtures were covered in thick dust. Bathroom faucets were worn, closets were off the hinges, remotes didn't match TVs and didn't work, there was a section of the screen doors missing (so you couldn't leave the glass door open to enjoy the surf-sound without letting bugs in), and the kitchen is dated.

The simple reality is that with a 10am check-out and a noon check-in AND a one person cleaning crew, it is simply impossible to get the place completely turned over the RIGHT way. And it doesn't look like they have taken a full day to do a deep cleaning in a LONG time. Also, by not renting directly from Gulfgate, the front desk didn't know we were there so we had construction workers and even the fire department just walking in our place because they thought the place was vacant. Also, I found (no exaggeration THREE (3) ice scoops buried in the ice-maker by the bar -- while using a fourth one I found in the kitchen. Top hotels dump the ice between every guest – that obviously hadn't happened here in awhile.

So, we will return to Destin and will most likely stay at the Gulfgate again... just not in 1105.

And here's a little tip for Fall travelers -- wait till you get there to make reservations and get a 20% off walk-in special! Shhhh!!!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
29  Thank LivingLifeBarefoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Condo 102 was beautifully decorated and very clean. We loved being right on the beach. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Parker Holly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2011

We have just stayed at the Gulfgate for the first time Oct 10 thru the 15 2011.The Gulfgate was great,from the staff to the grounds and room 306 was perfect.We are a family of three and wanted peace and relaxation and found it here.I would highly recommend this place. The room was clean and furnished with all the extras.When we come back to Destin I would look no further for a place to stay!My daughter was stung by a jellyfish and the beach attendant was great in treating the sting with windex { who knew}.I think his name was Kaci.The only thing I would change was the shower heads,which we noted on our review,they were just a little dated.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2011

My family of six had never been to Destin so spent countless hours searching for the best family condo. Settled on Gulfgate. Decided to explore the other options once we got there for future reference. The more we looked the more we realized that we would return to Gulfgate for every Destin vacation. Huge condo with incredible balcony views. Front desk staff was incredible.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lumpsdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Destin hotels
1.5 km away
Wingate by Wyndham Destin
9.9 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach
1.5 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Destin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Destin
13.4 km away
Courtyard by Marriott Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
1.4 km away
Resorts of Pelican Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Destin Gulfgate? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Destin Gulfgate

Address: 1180 Scenic Highway 98, Destin, FL 32541-8528
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 55 Speciality Lodging in Destin
Hotel Class:3 star — Destin Gulfgate 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Also Known As:
Destin Gulfgate Hotel Destin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing