We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (383)
Filter reviews
383 results
Traveller rating
339
31
7
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
339
31
7
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews back porch inside parking beach set ups covered parking wet bar never stay anywhere else every summer beach service large balcony family vacation zero entry free beach living room ice machine place to stay new appliances walking distance
Filter
Updating list...
346 - 351 of 383 reviews
Reviewed 15 December 2011

The Good---
For a rating on the overall Destin Gulfgate property, I give it 5 out of 5 stars. On the beach in front of the Gulfgate, I give it a 6 out of 5 stars ... really. The problem is with unit 1105.

We've been coming to Destin for 13 years and this was our second stay at Gulfgate. We love the staff, the property is well kept, and the beach is THE best (but please keep that a secret). The Good also includes its central location in Destin and it is in walking distance of The Back Porch restaurant.

The Good of 1105 is that David, the owner, is very nice and easy to work with, the condo is very large, and the view from the 11th floor is phenomenal. The sheets were nice as well as the heavy duty towels -- and the noon check-in is a great plus... but that leads to ...

The Bad and the Ugly---
The Bad and the Ugly of 1105 are what other reviewers have said and I should have listened to.... the place was filthy, outdated, and in disrepair. Bookcases, furniture, and light fixtures were covered in thick dust. Bathroom faucets were worn, closets were off the hinges, remotes didn't match TVs and didn't work, there was a section of the screen doors missing (so you couldn't leave the glass door open to enjoy the surf-sound without letting bugs in), and the kitchen is dated.

The simple reality is that with a 10am check-out and a noon check-in AND a one person cleaning crew, it is simply impossible to get the place completely turned over the RIGHT way. And it doesn't look like they have taken a full day to do a deep cleaning in a LONG time. Also, by not renting directly from Gulfgate, the front desk didn't know we were there so we had construction workers and even the fire department just walking in our place because they thought the place was vacant. Also, I found (no exaggeration THREE (3) ice scoops buried in the ice-maker by the bar -- while using a fourth one I found in the kitchen. Top hotels dump the ice between every guest – that obviously hadn't happened here in awhile.

So, we will return to Destin and will most likely stay at the Gulfgate again... just not in 1105.

And here's a little tip for Fall travelers -- wait till you get there to make reservations and get a 20% off walk-in special! Shhhh!!!

Date of stay: November 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
29  Thank LivingLifeBarefoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Condo 102 was beautifully decorated and very clean. We loved being right on the beach. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

Date of stay: August 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ParkerHolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2011

We have just stayed at the Gulfgate for the first time Oct 10 thru the 15 2011.The Gulfgate was great,from the staff to the grounds and room 306 was perfect.We are a family of three and wanted peace and relaxation and found it here.I would highly recommend this place. The room was clean and furnished with all the extras.When we come back to Destin I would look no further for a place to stay!My daughter was stung by a jellyfish and the beach attendant was great in treating the sting with windex { who knew}.I think his name was Kaci.The only thing I would change was the shower heads,which we noted on our review,they were just a little dated.

Date of stay: October 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2011

My family of six had never been to Destin so spent countless hours searching for the best family condo. Settled on Gulfgate. Decided to explore the other options once we got there for future reference. The more we looked the more we realized that we would return to Gulfgate for every Destin vacation. Huge condo with incredible balcony views. Front desk staff was incredible.

Date of stay: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lumpsdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

We just got back from our week at the Gulfgate and had a wonderful time!! We normally travel with our 2 teenaged daughters, but this time went just as a couple. This is our 5th trip down and we've stayed in a different condo each time. Every room has been well decorated and very clean. We prefer to stay in the upper floors for the great view from the balcony. We stayed the last week of September and had wonderful weather.

Our only problem this trip was we had a group of younger (early 20's) people come in our Thursday evening right above us and they turned on their rap music (which i normally don't mind -- I have teens....) and HEAVY BASS at 11:30 p.m. and played it until 1AM. We called the front desk with the answering service -- but they wern't able to do anything about it -- and suggested that we call the police (which we did not). The music started back up at 8am. The contract specifically states quite hours are from 10PM to 10AM. When we talked to Monica and Phill at the front desk -- they assured us they would take care of it. Phill kept working on the issue intil it was resolved.

My only complaint was the music started back up the last evening we were there around 6pm (which - they were in their rights to do) so we were unable to sit outside and enjoy the sounds of the waves -- you couldn't hear them over the bass vibrations.

Date of stay: September 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KynziekateMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews