We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay! Will definitely return!”
Review of Destin Gulfgate

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Destin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Destin Gulfgate
Certificate of Excellence
KY
Level Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great place to stay! Will definitely return!”
Reviewed 30 August 2011

As with all websites, you never know what to expect until you arrive. At the Gulfgate website you are able to look at individual condos, but still you never know. It was our first time to stay in Destin, and we had read the reviews here and decided this was the place we wanted to stay. We were not dissapointed at all. It really looked just like the website photos and video. Overall, very impressed. All staff were very friendly and welcoming. Very secure, clean, well-kept grounds outside and inside! Pool is small, but never crowded. Loved the beach set-up every day! We also really enjoyed the huge balcony. Inside condo was nice and for the most part very clean. Jacuzzi in master bath had some residue along the sides. Decided not to use it. Walk-in shower had low water pressure, and it took an extremely long time to get the water to be warm enough to shower. Evidently, the shower head above the jacuzzi does not work (at least we could not get it to work). Definitely need two showers for a two-bedroom condo. Fixtures in bathrooms looked very old. Could definitely use some bathroom upgrades. Not worth complaining about at the time, because we did not want to be disturbed by workers during our stay. Everything else was clean and well-kept. Very quiet. Rarely heard neighbors unless out on balcony and even then was not too bad. Our condo came with reserved inside parking and was a nice plus. Would definitely stay here again, but maybe a different condo number.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sacgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    18
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
158
41
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

This is our 2nd year staying at Gulfgate and we really enjoy the location, privacy and service. The beach is "private" so there are always plenty of chairs and umbrellas without being stacked up behind others. You can walk to the Back Porch restaurant which is very good. Gulfgate is a very family oriented establishement and thats why we will contiue to return. We stayed in 702 this year and it was perfect.

Room Tip: Rom 702 is upated and is very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank astrosll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2011

The Destin Gulfgate is our favorate place to stay in Destin ! We have stayed in 4 different condos and our favorate is # 901. We love to sit on the beach and the balcony is fantastic ! We love being right on the beach and having the Back Porch Restaurant so close is nice. We often go to the Destin Pass -- Lucky Snapper -- for a sunset dinner. We have stayed in late May, late Sept., and mid Oct.. All were great. Our only problem is that on some trips it may be just my husband and I so we need to find somewhere with a 1 bedroom and a lower price. We watch the live Web Cam often !!!! Phil and Monica are great ! We look forward to going again..... maybe in Sept. or Oct..

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jean7883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
louisville
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2011

My family and I truly enjoyed our stay at Gulfgate. We normally stay at Edgewater but decided to give this property a try since it is at the opposite end of the beach. We were not disappointed. The unit was well decorated, we used the free beach set up everyday, pool was a little small, but never over crowded, and the balcony was wonderful. We had a very relaxing and enjoyable vacation.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LouisvilleLisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owasso, OK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2011

We stayed at theGulfgate condo in Destin unit 401. I would have to say that this was the best beach rental we have ever stayed in. The location was perfect. Right across the street from the Track with a stop light right in front of the condo so it was easy to go either east or west on HWY 98. With the Destin traffic, this was nice. View of beach and ocean from balcony was awesome. Access to beach from condo was an easy 50 yd walk out the elevator. Set ups on the beach weren't included in our rental but owner had umbrella and beach chairs for our use. Beach not crowded on our part. All in all, I would give it an A+!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OKSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Destin hotels
0.1 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Destin
9.9 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach
1.5 km away
Wingate by Wyndham Destin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
SummerPlace Inn
SummerPlace Inn
#12 of 39 in Destin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
1.5 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Destin
0.5 km away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Destin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Destin Gulfgate? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Destin Gulfgate

Property: Destin Gulfgate
Address: 1180 Scenic Highway 98, Destin, FL 32541-8528
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 56 Speciality Lodging in Destin
Hotel Class:3 star — Destin Gulfgate 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Also Known As:
Destin Gulfgate Hotel Destin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing