We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Stay at Inn on Destin Harbor”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Inn on Destin Harbor
Ranked #26 of 39 Hotels in Destin
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Our Stay at Inn on Destin Harbor”
Reviewed 10 March 2012

My husband & I were visiting the Destin, FL area for a couple of days and needed a place to stay. We were driving by the Inn on Destin Harbor on Hwy. 98 and the property looked fairly decent so we stopped to inquire about availability. The Inn had a "boutique type but outdated look from the outside. The lobby area was very nice, nice furniture, etc. and a beautiful view of the harbor, made you think it was a nice place to stay.

They did have availability as it was a Sunday so we booked a 2 night stay. We requested a room on the top floor where it would be quiet and also have a view of the harbor. Our room was not ready to occupy so we went across the street to McGuire's Irish Pub to have something to eat. Great place to eat!

Our room was ready when we returned. The room was average size w/ 2 queen beds. The bathroom was to the right of the room entrance. It was positively the smallest bathroom we have ever seen in a hotel. You could hardly turn around in it and taking a shower was a challenge. There could not have been more than 2-3 ft. from the door entrance to the bathtub. Everything in the bathroom was very old and outdated. The sink area was outside the bathroom door so at least there was somewhere to put all our toiletries, etc. Again, old and outdated fixtures. The room was clean at least. There was a fridge, coffee maker, no micro.

The slider to the deck was very old, drafty and didn't lock. There was a small "handyman" sliding hinge lock placed at the top of the slider. Good thing we were on the 5th floor. The metal slider runners were very old, dirty and corroded looking, as well as the in-room heater. The deck had a couple of old plastic chairs on it. The view of the harbor was outstanding and we could have sat there all day looking at the boats, fishermen, etc. We even saw some dolphins, ducks, and lots of seagulls flying around the area.

The bathtub drain did not drain properly and the water was backing up into the bathtub when you were taking a shower. We notified a maintenance worker that was out in the hallway and they did come right away and plunge it. It did work ok after that.

The continental breakfast was ok, nothing outstanding. The personnel were not the friendliest we have ever met except for the manager (believe his name was Chris). He was very accommodating and helpful.

I wouldl really have to say that this was not our favorite place to stay and would hesitate to give it a good recommendation. I would rank it between poor and average at best.

The positive thing about the Inn was the harbor view, we at least got some justification to our stay there. There are many many hotels along Harbor Blvd. if you are looking for a place to stay, probably not w/ the view that we had though. All in all, I would say to look elsewhere. The management needs to desperately update the Inn if they want to stay competitive.

They do allow pets but restricted to certain rooms. I did hear a small dog barking quite a bit while we were there.

Room Tip: If you do want to stay here, request a room on the fifth floor (top floor) and facing the harbor so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank May_Zee_2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

438 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    125
    78
    47
    55
See reviews for
103
181
18
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

We were on a belated Anniversary road trip and ended up staying the night in Destin. Of course we arrived after dark with no reservation but checking in was not a problem at all. This is not a 4 star resort but it was a very comfortable nights rest. I would definitely stay here again for the price, even without making a reservation it was only $65.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clarksat35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denton, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

We've stayed here on three separate occasions at different times of year (Fall, Summer, and Winter), the staff has always been really friendly, and the Harbor-view rooms have gorgeous views. The bathrooms could definitely use some updating (though the vanities look to have been updated in the past few years since they have granite countertops), the pool area needs more shaded areas during the summer-time and I wish they would change their smoking policy. The smoking policy states no smoking in your rooms, but from what I understood you can smoke on your balcony. There were people in our hallway who were not only smoking on their balcony, but leaving their balcony doors open so the smell of smoke permeated through their room and into the hall.

We used to live in Destin so we really like the location (walking distance to McGuire's, AJs, and KJs, just to name a few), it's close to Louisiana Lagniappe, and it's only a short drive to the beach. It doesn't include a hot breakfast, but it does have a good assortment of cereals, yogurt, pastries and even toaster waffles. I also love their complementary wine and champagne evenings. All-in-all, yes it's an older hotel in need of some TLC, but we still love staying here when we're in town.

Room Tip: Definitely try to get a harbor-view room, that is one of the best things about this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TiffC99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bandon, OR
Level Contributor
236 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

Our timing was fabulous: we got a Harbor View (for the Street-view price) the night of the Christmas Boat Parade followed by fireworks and had a wonderful seat on our balcony for my husband, some friends, and me. We were also given a bottle of champagne upon arrival (I have not a clue why). The pool wasn't heated in the winter so couldn't use it. As we were driving away after checkout, the outside was being painted. The beach is so tiny I would not say it is on a beach.

Room Tip: ASK FOR A HARBOR VIEW! To stay in a place on the harbor and face the street would be a bummer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoodKarmaTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
58 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

The reception area and the rear of the hotel are well maintained, but the room and balcony we were given were slightly grubby and in need of refurbishment. The sliding door to our balcony had no lock, was covered in dirt and didn't actually slide open without lifting it up.

The beds were fairly comfortable and there's a decent selection at breakfast, although quite how the scrambled eggs resembled and tasted like air I'll never quite understand.

Beware that quite a lot of the local bars and restaurants in Destin are closed between January and the start of March. Golf at the local Kelly Plantation is HIGHLY recommended, and the two girls on reception were very friendly and very helpful.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alexdodo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Destin hotels
2.6 km away
Wingate by Wyndham Destin
4.0 km away
SummerPlace Inn
SummerPlace Inn
#14 of 39 in Destin
414 reviews
0.5 km away
Village Inn of Destin
Village Inn of Destin
#29 of 39 in Destin
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 km away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#20 of 39 in Destin
170 reviews
1.3 km away
Destin Inn & Suites
Destin Inn & Suites
#30 of 39 in Destin
135 reviews
17.4 km away
Courtyard Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on Destin Harbor? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on Destin Harbor

Property: Inn on Destin Harbor
Address: 402 Harbor Boulevard (Highway 98), Destin, FL 32541
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Destin
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,203 - ₹ 16,670
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn on Destin Harbor 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
- Located in the heart of Destin, Florida, directly on Destin Harbor- Walking distance to award-winning Destin waterfront dining- Waterfront pool with spacious deck overlooking Destin Harbor- All rooms are non-smoking, each with a private balcony- Ever-changing panoramic views of Historic Destin HarborOffering Scenic Views and Sumptuous Service- Accommodations include complimentary continental breakfast with a waterfront view of the Destin Harbor- Perfectly located accommodations for the Destin hotel or motel traveler, ideally suited for leisure, military, or corporate travelers- Pet-friendly rooms are available with additional fee, please ask when booking your room- 24-hour concierge service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Inn on Destin Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On Destin Harbor Hotel Destin
Hotel On Destin Harbor
Inn Destin Harbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing