We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (511)
Filter reviews
511 results
Traveller rating
185
136
85
51
54
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
185
136
85
51
54
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gift card bunk beds front row during peak season bedroom bath condo hot tub outdoor pool spring break through vrbo bring your own tiki hut washer and dryer an umbrella pull out couch view from the balcony we've stayed white sand
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 511 reviews
Reviewed 3 July 2018 via mobile

Beach chair/umbrella rentals are a joke. Beach is way too crowded with unused beach chairs/umbrellas (because no one wants to pay ridiculous amount of money to rent them) and condo is very crowded. For instance, there are only one set of elevators for the whole place! You have to wait a long time going up or down. We had to end up using the stairs. Luckily, we were only on the 4th floor. Room was nice, but that was the only pro. We will not be coming back. Also, if you want an extra towel, we were told you need to wash one yourself. This place has great reviews, but it did not match our experience. Oh and beach bar drinks are super pricey and watered down.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Brenna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PB-Marketing, Public Relations Manager at Resorts of Pelican Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we appreciate your comments and recommendations. We're listening and looking for every opportunity to assure a quality vacation experience. Anything less than a great experience is a concern to us.

We appreciate your patronage of the resort and do hope you consider a return visit in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2018 via mobile

If your vacation plans are to “go to the beach” and relax stay away from this place... you have to pay extra to get access to the Beach and space is very limited for families to be by the Beach front.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
5  Thank Rudy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PB-Marketing, Public Relations Manager at Resorts of Pelican Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your comments and recommendations. As this is the page for Pelican Beach Management, we're listening and looking for every opportunity to assure a quality vacation experience.

We are sorry you did not enjoy your experiences with the beach service company. They are contracted separately from us by the Pelican Beach Owners' Association. The beach service company is beginning their second year here and they are one of the largest in the area and offer a variety of services and products for guests and owners of the resort complex. The overall reviews and satisfaction with the company has been more towards the positive than your review suggests.

Personal beach chairs are allowed on the beach at any time in addition to the beach chair rental service. There is no charge to access the beach for anyone.

We (Pelican Beach Management) publish beach rules and beach service options on our website for our guest's benefit. Unfortunately, if you reserve directly through an individual owner or an different rental management company, you may or may not be aware. That is out of our control.

We appreciate your patronage of the resort and do hope you consider a return visit in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

The staff here is absolutely horrendous. Very rude, aggressive, and unprofessional. We had to wait 45 minutes on our room, to get "inspected". Finally went up to the room to see if there was anyone even up there. The door was shut. Knocked on it, no one came. Knocked on it a second time and a man came to the door very aggressive and sweaty, said the housekeeper didn't do a good job so he had to go up to the 14th floor to get some towels. I notified the front desk. Another big, tattooed lady asked if I went up to the room. I said yes. She stated that's probably the reason why he wasn't happy. Instead of apologizing, she implied it was my fault.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PB-Marketing, Public Relations Manager at Resorts of Pelican Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we appreciate your comments and recommendations. As this is the page for Pelican Beach Management, we're listening and looking for every opportunity to assure a quality vacation experience. Anything less than a great experience is a concern to us. We sincerely apologize for this experience if this was our staff or one's from any other rental operations.

We appreciate your patronage of the resort and do hope you consider a return visit in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018

I see that I am not the only visitor who is extremely disappointed in spending over 2k for a vacation ON THE BEACH to find out that if you do not rent chairs from resort you are stuck way back on the beach away from ocean view or if you do rent you are sitting on top of other people!!! It's all fine and good that resoert is near all the action and offers a beautiful ocean view balcony but we have come to the beach for several years and there are many other condo resorts to choose from. We thought we would try right in Destin for the kids, however, we will go back to our favorite condo in Okaloosa next year and just drive to Destin. The condo at Pelican is ok and everyone is nice but we drove 10 hours for the beach ....... THE BEACH! My brother is mentally handicapped and loves to sit at Waters edge but not gonna happen if I am not close to edge to watch him. Your resort needs to seriously rethink this. Thanks

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
8  Thank mtzky63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PB-Marketing, Public Relations Manager at Resorts of Pelican Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we appreciate your comments and recommendations. As this is the page for Pelican Beach Management, we're listening and looking for every opportunity to assure a quality vacation experience.

We are sorry you did not enjoy your experiences with the beach service company. They are contracted separately from us by the Pelican Beach Owners' Association. The beach service company is beginning their second year here and they are one of the largest in the area and offer a variety of services and products for guests and owners of the resort complex. The overall reviews and satisfaction with the company has been more towards the positive than your review suggests.

We appreciate your patronage of the resort and do hope you consider a return visit in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018

We have stayed at Pelican Beach since 2007. Five years ago I would have given this place 5 Stars. We loved it here. After this week we will never stay here again. Sadly, I have seen many comments like this throughout different review places on the internet and it's turning into a trend. The biggest down fall is the new beach rental company that they claim is a convenience for their guests so they don't have to carry beach chairs or umbrellas down to the beach. That would be ideal, but the prices are over the top and a huge fee on top of what you have already spent to stay here. They rope off the sides and say you cannot have any private beach set ups in front of a sign about 5 to 6 rows back. We asked a city life guard who was nearby about sitting up front on the beach where there was plenty of room. He said "I don't work for the resorts, I work for the city. The first 20 feet from the water is city property." We went ahead and sat there like many people were. We didn't set up an umbrella, just 4 short beach chairs where we could feel the water and still be comfortable. A man with a "security" shirt with the rental logo on it came around asking those in front of the rentals if they were watching small children in the water. If you said yes, he would allow one or two people to stay. If you said no, he would remind you of the resorts rules and say the rule is you can't set up private beach set ups in front of the sign. I asked who owned the beach. "Pelican does." "We paid to stay at pelican, so we are on their property and are fine." He said "when you pay to stay here, you also agree to abide by their rules." I asked who owned the water and he said "pelican does not own the water." So I moved my chair into the water. Many people are upset and it is a huge talk around the resort. We also understood the anger of those who paid for the front row. They were told they would have an unobstructed view of the ocean. They were scammed. Pelican Homeowners Association needs to seriously consider changing their rules back to the way it was when we first fell in love with this place in 2007. It is quickly turning into a trash hole and no one will come back.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank Andrea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PB-Marketing, Public Relations Manager at Resorts of Pelican Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we appreciate your comments and recommendations. As this is the page for Pelican Beach Management, we're listening and looking for every opportunity to assure a quality vacation experience.

We are sorry you did not enjoy your experiences with the beach service company. They are contracted separately from us by the Pelican Beach Owners' Association. The beach service company is beginning their second year here and they are one of the largest in the area and offer a variety of services and products for guests and owners of the resort complex. The overall reviews and satisfaction with the company has been more towards the positive than your review suggests.

We appreciate your patronage of the resort and do hope you consider a return visit in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews