We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice but not friendly or child proof”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Resorts of Pelican Beach
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice but not friendly or child proof”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

There was one detail that is found in every condo unit that makes life very difficult with a toddler. The main door to each condo is not child proof. It is basically like a hotel door but with no extra security latch. So you can turn the door knob twice and it is open. Our 2 year old figured this put very quickly. We had to put a chair and bookcase in front of the door to prevent him from opening the door. I would not have stayed here had I known this. Plus the staff was not very friendly or helpful.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingmama2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

393 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    113
    66
    35
    28
See reviews for
217
62
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

We rented unit 2007 from a private owner. Upon arrival we found many issues. There was something black and fuzzy growing in both showers and on the exhaust fan. The air conditioner was very dirty and had no filter. The furniture was filthy as was the carpet. The ladder on the bunk bed was unsecured and bent. This unit did not meet our expectations for the money we spent. The owner did refund some of our money although he argued with us that we owed for a day and a half since we did not move out until 5:30.

Pelican Beach Management was a helpful as they could be since we rented from a private owner. They helped us secure another unit within the same building, although we spend another $300. I enjoyed the resort itself very much. The beach was clean and nice. My kids loved the pool on the beach and we found everyone to be very helpful.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

This was our 2nd trip to Destin and to the Pelican Beach Resort. Unit #403 was nicely decorated and maintained. We found the bed comfortable and our unit had updated TV's (compared to those pictured in other units), however, we didn't use them much :-) The resort staff was friendly and nonintrusive. It has an outdoor pool, baby pool and indoor pool. I disliked that the sun was blocked by the building by lunch time and the pool water was VERY COLD. Also, I wish they had better pools. They were small and simple. We've stayed at resorts in Myrtle that have great kiddie pools with sprayers and a lazy river. I'd hardly call these "kiddie pools". The beach space is private and had a lot of rental umbrellas but we didn't mind it so much since we have a baby and set up a shade tent (wanted to be in the back so we didn't block others' view). I found some dirty dishes in the cabinet (guests are supposed to leave dishes in the dishwasher cleaned) so it's possible previous guests put them in the cabinet uncleaned. I'm paranoid and wash all dishes we are going to use prior to use anyway. This unit is located right at the elevator but fortunately, it was overly noisy. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mtucker_slp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

I love the location of the Pelican because it's right in the heart of Destin. It's nice having multiple beds/bathrooms and a full kitchen. I would recommend that you ask to see the room first or ask on the phone if it has recently been updated because the last room I got there had a sleeper sofa that I wouldn't give a homeless person to sleep on. It was so horrible to even sit on much less sleep on. I told the front desk and they gave us a $30 back and an air mattress. Not so good for a 70 year old lady with back problems to sleep on. Good place but just be aware of exactly what you are getting before you accept it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has recently been updated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa2155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012

Had a 3 bedroom condo at the Terrace building. Check in was fast and easy, and security was present, had a check-in shack, and then saw them on the grounds. The Condo was clean, great view. Had a few maintenance issues, but were fixed within 1 hour of calling them in. The beach is wonderful, clean, plenty of umbrellas to rent. (if you tip these guys, the price goes down!) The water is clean, clear and fun. Right across the street is a Win-Dixie to get all your needs for the week, and within 2-3 miles is everything in destin. Would stay here again, maybe try the building right on the beach. Beach was busy, but plenty of room. if you want to throw a football around, might have to go down to the next section, that was pretty open.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to have a view. Terrace building is back from the main beach, but walk is maybe 200 y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Destin hotels
11.3 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach
1.5 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Destin
0.3 km away
Wingate by Wyndham Destin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 km away
Residence Inn Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
1.4 km away
SummerPlace Inn
SummerPlace Inn
#14 of 39 in Destin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
4.2 km away
The Henderson - A Salamander Beach & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Resorts of Pelican Beach? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resorts of Pelican Beach

Property: Resorts of Pelican Beach
Address: 1002 Highway 98 E, Destin, FL 32541-2992
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 56 Speciality Lodging in Destin
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,447 - ₹ 32,413
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Resorts of Pelican Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pelican Beach Resort and Conference Center and the Terrace at Pelican Beach are located in the heart of Destin. Pelican Beach Resort includes 340 gulf-front and gulf-view condominium units, 19 floor high-rise with 1 and 2 bedroom units. The Terrace includes 95 units lakefront views with 2 and 3 bedroom condominium units.Guests at either property can use the facilities at both, which include 3 large pools, one kiddie pool, two hot tubs, two fitness centers, two saunas, tennis, and an arcade/game room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Resorts of Pelican Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resorts Of Pelican Beach Hotel Destin
Pelican Beach Resort Destin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing