We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Downward trend...”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Destin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Westwinds at Sandestin
Ranked #25 of 55 Speciality Lodging in Destin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2011

My wife and I have stayed a week or two in Westwinds for the past 14 years. We started out renting directly from Sandestin and then moved to renting from owners. We always had great experience with Sandestin but we eventually learned from others that we were paying a huge premium. When we have rented from owners we have had mixed experiences - usually the condo is not clean at check-in and often there are countless maintenance issues. We have noticed some concerning general trends for West Winds. (1) the class of clientele is on a downward spiral - lots of cigarettes, tattoos and foul language - diapers in the pool (2) pool and hot-tub maintenance is lacking (3) security of the property is in bad shape - the entire stay this year the gate from pool to ocean was not functional so we got to enjoy our time with a number of beach stragglers because nobody was checking wrist bands (not once was anyone from my family asked about a wristband).

Dining: We ate at McGuires, Lagniappe (twice), Fisherman's Wharf, Crab Trap, Fuds, Another Broken Egg

Room: We rented room 4826 on the 16th floor from MyVacationHaven and it was very clean with very few maintenance issues. They were responsive to our needs and we will definitely rent through them again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jon_mansfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (88)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 70 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2011

We rented 2 2BR condos at the Westwinds thru Resort Quest. I have used Resort Quest many times without any problems, but this time was not good. I was not impressed with the condo #4819 at all. It was much smaller than I thought it would be. The pictures are deceiving. The bath tubs did not drain so you had to stand in sandy dirty water while showering. Only 2 people could take hot showers as there was not enough hot water. Because we rented thru Resort Quest we did not receive any of the "perks" that we were told when we rented the condo. Don't expect to get free tennis, or bikes, or kayaks. There was not a manager around that we could find. The furniture needs updating as well as the mattresses. The pool was nice as was the beach chair attendant. He was very helpful. The "tiki hut" by the pool was an overpriced deli. A hot dog was $14! There was a fire on one of the floors above us. My son and grandson were in the condo and did not hear the fire alarm. I have been going to Destin for many, many years and this was our worst experience!
One day, however, we went to the Sandestin Hilton which was VERY nice!. Lots of room by the pool, reasonably priced food and drinks with waitresses that brought drinks to you. A pizza hut for the kids, and an ice cream parlor. They also have a very good breakfast buffet and a sushi restaurant that my kids loved. I would go back there and stay!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mer0406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2011

We just left from our 4 night stay at Westwinds. Absolutely a wonderful place to stay! Our condo was very spacious, extremely clean and had everything we needed. View was breath taking. Landscaping gorgeous. Huge pool! The only suggestion we have is a poolside or beachside tiki hut/bar. A place to enjoy an adult beverage. They do have a walk up snackbar down by the pool that serves alcohol but it just wasn't inviting. We WILL be back soon.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Momof2boys123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2010

Stayed in 3 Bedroom Condo on an upper floor. It was a little pricey and had a wonderful view from the balcony. We stayed one week. The staff was nice. The pro's were the great location, walking and bike trails, heated pool at Westwinds, golf courses (good deals) in Sandestin, and even took my two girls fishing on the dock, where they caught some redfish and trout. Pricing was a little high. In November, it's quiet. Most of the restuarants were slow and many area stores were closed. The pool snack bar was closed the entire time, so you have to go off the condo property for meals. The furniture was a little beat up and the dresser was broken. Our dryer started smoking, setting off the fire alarm, and we got stuck in the elevator for about 10 minutes. The room does not include cleaning service, so you have to pay extra for that. It was hard to find a beach attendant to rent chairs ... took 3 days before one showed up. We did it once during the week. All in all, we had a great stay and would recommend it.

I'd suggest checking out the Wharf ... kids loved it. Had an ice skating rink, zip line over a small lake, roped courses and tons of good places to eat and drink.

Favorite off property restaurant was Stinky's off 30A. Strongly suggest the Stinky Stew.... no kidding.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2010

Pros:
On the second floor parking level so no need to use elevator.
Pool and Fitness room access is on the same floor and very easy to get to.
Gulf front view (although you are on the second floor, so it isn't panoramic)
Washer/Dryer in room, beach chairs and umbrella in room - very nice to have.
All appliances worked well and the layout is good (rooms separated by kitchen and living area).
Love the keyless entry
Westwinds is a nice building. Public areas are cleaned daily.
Air conditioner works great.
Nice granite counters in kitchen.
Comfortable leather couch and chairs in living area.
Paved trail system that goes from gulf side all the way over to Baytowne (2 miles one way). Great for running, walking or biking.
Close to good restaurants, shopping and all the area has to offer.
Baytowne is a great place for the family to hang out, eat and be entertained.

Cons:
Master bedroom can be noisy because window is by the pool.
View is a little restricted because of low floor and the lattice that goes out over the fitness room/pool area
The condo was not very clean. Carpet and rugs really dirty. Showers had mildew, one of them lots of mildew. ( I did call to complain about this and they showed up probably within the hour to clean it on a Sunday, that was awesome.)
Bathrooms need updated.
The area Westwind guests are allowed to use on the beach can get very crowded. You are not allowed to sit across the rope line on either side of Westwinds designated beach area even if not one person is out on the beach.
Treadmills are very loud! Only two of them. But, at least they had something...

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GoGirlies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Destin
1.7 km away
Residence Inn by Marriott Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
16.3 km away
Inn on Destin Harbor
Inn on Destin Harbor
#28 of 37 in Destin
454 reviews
13.7 km away
Wingate by Wyndham Destin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach
0.9 km away
Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort
0.6 km away
Hilton Sandestin Beach, Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westwinds at Sandestin? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westwinds at Sandestin

Address: 9300 US Highway 98 W, Destin, FL 32550-7268
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 55 Speciality Lodging in Destin
Price Range: ₹ 8,031 - ₹ 43,005 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 115
Also Known As:
Westwinds At Sandestin Hotel Destin
Westwinds Sandestin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing