We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great, responsive service but beware of moisture issues” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Daytona Shores - Oceanfront

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hampton Inn Daytona Shores - Oceanfront
Ranked #14 of 104 Hotels in Daytona Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
“Great, responsive service but beware of moisture issues”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

From the time you enter the Hampton Inn, you are treated wonderfully. I've never seen a front desk clerk that seemed to enjoy his job more. He explained everything the hotel had to offer, even beyond the normal Hampton Inn. This hotel offers the use of free beach towels and beach chairs and has great, fresh cookies available in the evening. It has a large oceanfront pool with stairs from the pool area that go right to the beach.

I entered my room and found a large, well decorated room with a flat screen TV on a granite countertop, a refrigerator, work desk, easy chair and king-sized bed. I had a balcony with 2 chairs with a view of the Atlantic Ocean. The AC was running and the room was cool, but felt damp. When I took off my shoes, I realized the room was more than damp as my socks got wet walking on the carpet.

I went to the front desk and the clerk was honestly upset that I had this problem. He began to scramble for solutions, including offering to move me but he had no other oceanfront rooms. He came up with a workable solution in that he would have housekeeping try to extract water from the carpet while I was at dinner. When I got back, I found out that he personally had moved a dehumidifier into my room. I entered my room to an artic chill and a dehumidifier going full blast. It worked well enough so I stayed there and sat on the balcony listening to the ocean until bedtime.

The next morning I enjoyed hot coffee and hot scrambled eggs for breakfast, looking out at the Atlantic Ocean and reading the local paper left for me at my door. Check out took less than 30 seconds and I went on my way. Even though the moisture issue concerned me, the staff was fantastic and the location unbeatable. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank grhokie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    703
    241
    94
    32
    31
See reviews for
479
382
48
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leesburg
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

This Hampton is the best place to stay in Daytona Beach, Florida. From the minute you walk in the front door, the staff is always there making sure you have a great stay with no stress and great experiences. They will do anything to make sure you are enjoying your stay, from the smiles or the items (towels, chairs, toys, skim boards) that you can borrow to take down to the beach to enjoy, especially if you are from out of town. The breakfast is great and the cookies are a welcome snack at night. It is truly a family-oriented hotel and Sandy Ellis is the manager of the year in my book!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gator1006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

We were driving down to the west coast of Florida at the end of Dec. and our first beach stop was at the Daytona Beach Hampton Inn. The front desk was extremely friendly and very helpful with dinner suggestions. Our room was nice with a flat screen TV,comfortable beds, and after seeing the view from our balcony we decided to walk on the beach. I locked our cash in the safe and enjoyed the immediate access to the beach.The next morning I forgot to check the safe and realized it upon our arrival on the West Coast. I called the front desk and the young man called the room to see if he could check the safe. He called me back that he would have to wait for the guests to return but would call us later. Amazingly, he called with wonderful news that he had found our money. He and the General Manager mailed me a check to arrive at our next destination. I was so happy and impressed that this hotel values service and honesty above all.

Room Tip: Be nice and specific about what you would like in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rblock49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eatonton, Georgia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

The hotel is older, but in fair-good condition, and the rooms include a mini refrigerator and a microwave. The bedding and furniture had been updated at some point. The bed was too soft for us, but the pillows were comfy.The pool and spa are not well maintained at all, but there are plenty of lounge chairs and towels are provided. However, the beach is accessible from the pool area. Hot and cold breakfast is included. The best part is most of the rooms face the ocean. We were on the 8th floor and had a beautiful view of the beach and ocean and even watched a pod of dolphins a couple of days. All the rooms, but the first floor have balconies with a couple of chairs and a small table, which is nice, but there were these tiny fly-like bugs that bite and we were not able to stay out there and we couldn't enjoy the nice breeze and listen to the surf because there are no screen doors. Screen doors or screened balconies would be a huge plus. The staff was friendly and helpful. There are restaurants and shops within walking distance. We would return.

Room Tip: Some rooms are accessible from inside and some from outside. 1st floor rooms do not have a patio. On...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DeeDee134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte
Level Contributor
299 reviews
253 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

We've actually stayed here before this most recent one night stay. Like so many of the hotels in Daytona Beach, this hotel shows its age. It's sad to see Daytona Beach stagnate from a tourism point of view. The Hampton Inn is still probably one of the nicer places on the beach as so many of the hotels were built many, many years ago and need serious updating. The location is about three miles south of the center of the beach area, so is in a quieter area. The lobby is 1970's spartan, and could use some refurbishing. Our beachfront room was comfortable, with a good bed, flat screen TV, etc. But the walls, fixtures and carpet showed their age (admittedly it's difficult to keep beach hotels in great shape). There were only a few people staying there the night we were there, so we didn't understand why we were given a room where you had to walk outside to get to your room (it was a very cold day for Daytona)---half of the beachfront rooms have interior access, and most of those were probably empty. The breakfast buffet was on par for Hampton Inns, and the front desk staff were generally friendly. Obvioulsly we didn't use the outdoor pool, but it didn't look like anything special. Our rooms was overpriced on this Sunday before the start of Speed Weeks. Hardly anyone was there, but they had already inflated the room price a bit. Overall, probably not a bad place to stay in Daytona, but not up to the contemporary standards of Hampton Inns.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lchjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Daytona Beach hotels
5.4 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Daytona Beach Oceanfront
10.0 km away
Hampton Inn Daytona Beach/Beachfront
0.2 km away
Hyatt Place Daytona Beach - Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
Sun Viking Lodge
Sun Viking Lodge
#6 of 104 in Daytona Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
1.2 km away
Days Inn Daytona Oceanfront
Days Inn Daytona Oceanfront
#16 of 104 in Daytona Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,279 reviews
9.6 km away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Daytona Beach
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Dayto...
#21 of 104 in Daytona Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Daytona Shores - Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Daytona Shores - Oceanfront

Property: Hampton Inn Daytona Shores - Oceanfront
Address: 3135 South Atlantic Avenue, Daytona Beach, FL 32118
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Daytona Beach
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
#13 Family Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,594 - ₹ 20,394
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Daytona Shores - Oceanfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy scenic, breathtaking views of the Atlantic Ocean while relaxing at the newly renovated Hampton Inn Daytona Shores - Oceanfront, completed January of 2016. Featuring 110 guest rooms that are equipped with a microwave, mini - fridge, 37" flat screen TV and free Wi-Fi. At Hampton Inn Daytona Shores - Oceanfront, all guests will enjoy our Free Hot Breakfast, JumpStart fitness center, along with the Oceanfront Pool & Spa area. We are located only minutes from Daytona International Speedway, Daytona Lagoon Water Park, Oceanwalk Shoppes & Amusements and many other local Daytona Beach attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Hampton Inn Daytona Shores - Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Daytona Shores - Oceanfront Hotel Daytona Beach
Hampton Inn Daytona Beach
Daytona Beach Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing