We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'm Still Up in the Air Over This One”
Review of Sand Castle Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sand Castle Motel
Ranked #57 of 98 Hotels in Daytona Beach
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
295 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“I'm Still Up in the Air Over This One”
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Occasionally, I find myself in a tough spot when reviewing a place, and this is one of those times. We stayed here six years ago, and the place could not have been more perfect. This most recent stay, however, was not so much. Let me start with what was good. The price for any of the rooms here is very reasonable, especially for being right on the beach. The rooms are a little dated, but they are nice. The pool is great, too- the deep end is 9', and it is always clean. The housekeeper, Irina, is super nice, and really takes pride in her work. Once I looked out onto the balcony and saw her down on her hands and knees scrubbing the neighbor's balcony. She kept our room spotless. We had an ocean front unit, and the view was spectacular. There is ample covered parking, so you won't always have to get into a hot vehicle. The managers were very nice (the actual owners live elsewhere, they told us).
Now for the bad... it is NOT QUIET here at night. There were a few other families with little kids like us here, but there were also some older people here (50's and 60's?) that just couldn't seem to maintain any level of respect and civil obedience once the sun went down. We had a guy outside screaming to the top of his lungs one night over and over. Another night, there was an entire gang of older folks sitting outside on the picnic table playing drinking games and being really loud... so loud, in fact, that the police came and asked them to quieten down! These are but a couple of examples of our week here, but there was something going on like this every night that disrupted our family's sleep. We even complained to the management, and they just told us to call the police. So, take my review for what it's worth, and make your own decision. It's cheap to stay here, but, if you're looking for a classier bunch of people (not everyone that was there, just the rowdy ones) to vacation with, you may want to look elsewhere. For us... we probably will not be back here again.

Room Tip: The ocean front rooms are situated away from the courtyard and are much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DisneyF4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    14
    5
    3
    6
See reviews for
22
16
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Such a great place to stay in Daytona. My parents have been going for the past few years and I joined them Sept 2011 and had such a great time were all going back this Sept too!!
Lonnie and her staff are very welcoming and make you feel as though they have known you all your life!
The cocktails at 4pm are brilliant too and the Karaoke is also fun!! Mind you that may only happen when our gang is there!
Roll on Sept 2012!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 June 2012

We've been staying at the sand castle each year at the same time renewing friendships we've made over the years. It's homey and everyone is friendly. The owners have a weekly cookout for the guests. They bring out the karaoke machine and everyone gets in on the fun. If you want a clean, comfortable place to stay on the beach make your reservations at the Sand Castle!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Socialrunaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ozark, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2012

Spent a few days this week with my son at the beach. It is a quick drive from Orlando and much more relaxing. The owners were wonderful and the location was incredible. You literally walk out the door to the beach. The rooms were clean, the beach beautiful and the other guests very friendly. It seems to cater to long-term retirees. However, my little boy had a blast. The hotel is situated in a nice area with large condominiums, away from the busy areas. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Request the beachfront rooms- the views are amazing. They have a full kitchenette and there is a Pub...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katmom3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine
Level Contributor
248 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Feels like our second home every time! Clean and affordable oceanfront motel. Close to everything with lots of choices to have local seafood lunch or dinner, either on the ocean or the river. Dress up or dress down. Even karaoke every so often on the upper deck. You'll love it!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gsg1557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Daytona Beach
0.2 km away
Tropical Suites Daytona Beach
Tropical Suites Daytona Beach
#66 of 98 in Daytona Beach
31 reviews
0.3 km away
Pirates Cove
Pirates Cove
#63 of 98 in Daytona Beach
66 reviews
1.0 km away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Oceanfront
Holiday Inn Express and Suites O...
#3 of 5 in Daytona Beach Shores
780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Beachside Motel
Beachside Motel
#36 of 98 in Daytona Beach
236 reviews
0.6 km away
Days Inn Daytona Oceanfront
Days Inn Daytona Oceanfront
#13 of 98 in Daytona Beach
1,374 reviews
0.7 km away
Dolphin Beach Club
Dolphin Beach Club
#59 of 98 in Daytona Beach
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sand Castle Motel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sand Castle Motel

Property: Sand Castle Motel
Address: 3619 S. Atlantic Ave., Daytona Beach, FL 32127
Region: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 98 Hotels in Daytona Beach
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,135 - ₹ 9,369
Hotel Class:2 star — Sand Castle Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sand Castle Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sand Castle Hotel Daytona Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing