We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Returning this year now DISSAPOINTED and very unhappy” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Omni Orlando Resort at Championsgate

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Omni Orlando Resort at Championsgate
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Davenport
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Returning this year now DISSAPOINTED and very unhappy”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012 via mobile

We stayed in a 2 bedroom villa last year and had a wonderful holiday, this included complimentary breakfasts for four. This was not an inexpensive holiday by any means. We decided we enjoyed the hotel and facilities so much that we would return this year for 14 nights , only to find after booking and paying, again a substantial ammount that we now do not recieve breakfast at all. The holiday is more expensive than last year and this really is very dissapointing indeed. I have written to voice my thoughts and request a discounted meal plan, with no response what so ever, and as I am a platinum select guest member this is also not acceptable. If I was able to cancel and not lose any money I would as a matter of principal.

Stayed August 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank TurpieFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

4,508 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,800
    1,077
    363
    171
    97
See reviews for
1,786
789
73
1,341
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (526)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

Mr. Mike Deitemeyer
President, Omni Hotels
420 Decker Drive
Irving, TX 75062

Dear Mr. Deitemeyer,

I have never been treated this way at a hotel! Before you assume this is a complaint from some overly-fussy guest, please read on. A bit about me: I am an executive and leisure traveler who stays more than 50 hotel nights per year. Typically we stay at Ritz /Marriott properties, however this year they were unable to accommodate our last minute Orlando plans. Thus my family and I branched out to Omni Champions Gate.

As you well know, it is the people, not the systems or processes that make or break a guest experience. Following are just a few examples of the best customer service I have ever experienced (including service at some of the world's most renown properties.)

Before booking, I worked with Pre-arrival Manager, Norma (last name removed) to learn about the property and our options. She was gracious and accommodating with several helpful emails. GM, Mike (last name removed) , took the time to write to me as well.

Upon arrival, we were delighted at the thoughtful room upgrade and the welcome bottle of champagne. The 14th floor suite was beautiful, and overlooked the pool and golf course. As you might imagine these upgrades are not unfamiliar to us, given how frequently we travel. However, they were delivered with that personal touch that is so hard to define, but so obvious when it is present.

The rooms, grounds and restaurants were lovely, and were befitting of an upscale property. But time and again, it was the staff that made the difference. It was not one person, but rather the overall culture that was pervasively apparent. Small problems were immediately acknowledged and taken care of. We truly felt our comfort and enjoyment was important to the staff at Champion's Gate.

However, this next one was over the top. Early one morning I went down to the coffee shop. There was coffee (and plenty of fat-laden danish) but no fruit. The cashier, Gladys (last name removed) noticed my disappointment, and returned with a lovely orange. It was remarkable enough that she tried to get some fruit from the restaurant's kitchen. But when that didn't work, she gave me an orange from her own personal lunch that was behind the counter! Wow! Gladys saw an opportunity to provide superior service, and she delivered! The fact that she felt able to do this, is the best illustration of an empowered, creative and customer-focused organization.

As I tell my own employes, customers are not stupid, and they absolutely know whether someone is faking it, or living it. From your GM, right through your front desk, back of house, and coffee shop cashiers, it is clear that Omni Champions Gate is truly living the "Power of One." Bravo and thanks!

So Mr, Dietemeyer, if you haven't been to the property in a while, get on a plane, and bring your best execs with you. Figure out what Champions's Gate is doing - and then bottle it. In the meantime, please pass my thanks onto Mike, Norma, and Gladys. Also, please know you now have an Omni guest for life.

Most Sincerely,

Matt (last name removed)

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank massmainetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tampa, fl
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

We usually stay at one of the two new Hiltons or the downtown Disney area, but we got a good deal at this hotel so we thought we'd try it out. The grounds and pool were very nice. The lazy river and zero entry pool were great for our child. The room on the other hand, was not great. It was dated and small. We were on the 3rd floor overlooking the roof/air conditioning units. It was also a wheel chair accessible room, so there was no bathtub (which we needed to bathe our child). There was a shower, but no "stall", just dirty grout, shower handle and a flimsy half curtain. This is necessary for those in wheel chairs, but these rooms should be used specifically for this need and not given to families with children. Or at least let us know at check-in to confirm this will be ok for our stay. The water from the shower soaked the entire bathroom floor and was definitely a hazzard. We were already told that the hotel was completely booked and we had already unpacked and moving rooms with an infant is not easy. We were only there for one night so it worked out fine for us. Overall, we had a very nice time, but for a similar price, I prefer one of the new Hilton's closer to Disney.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andi23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
74 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

OK, I admit I'm not the typical client. I like the outdoors, running, hiking, great landscape, etc. This place is more for the sedentary golfer and Disney World addicts. I was here at a conference.

The water tastes like swamp water. When I went running (they kicked me off the golf course because there minimal running trails), the swamps smelt like the water in my room. I called room service to ask if they have filter water...yes its $6 a bottle. Ran to get my own gallon jug.

The Internet does not work at night. Granted this is a technical conference so the geeks are probably downloading their porn, but still I've been to a lot of technical conferences where the Internet works.

My cell phone AT&T has 1 or no bars.

Landscape is nothing but swamp and gated communities.

Don't look under the sheets, I was sleeping on a pad with lot of pubic hair and crap. Kinda grossed me out.Not sure they wash the underpads.

PROS:

Nice rooms, clean, bit TV, no bedbugs. Typical nice hotel. Nothing super special but nice.

Room Tip: Take a room facing orlando might have better phone service. Bring your own drinking water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dman58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san jose, ca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

Our family loved the Omni Orlando. Being we're not golfers, we'd didn't expect much beyond a roof over our heads for our stay while we visited Disney nearby and other places. But our kids (3 and 6 yrs old) LOVED the lazy river, pools, and water slide. The other special activities set up by the hotel staff were a big hit as well and were well organized. And kids having fun makes for a great vacation anywhere.

Location was good in that the area is not exceptionally busy right near the hotel but still only 10-15 mins from Disney, I-Drive, and other activities.

The hotel staff was consistent in helpfulness and availability from those working at the pool to housekeeping to the front desk. One of the best assembled teams I've met in years of traveling.

If not already signed up for the Omni loyalty program, ensure you do before staying so you can take advantage of the "free" extra perks for the mornings and the evenings. Better than most hotel chain for entry level travelers.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Davenport
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Villas of Grand Cypress
#1 of 335 in Orlando
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Reunion Resort of Orlando
#13 of 153 in Kissimmee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Orlando Resort at Championsgate? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Orlando Resort at Championsgate

Property: Omni Orlando Resort at Championsgate
Address: 1500 Masters Blvd, Davenport, FL 33896-5312
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Davenport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Davenport
#1 Family Hotel in Davenport
#1 Business Hotel in Davenport
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,733 - ₹ 25,000
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Omni Orlando Resort at Championsgate 4.5*
Number of rooms: 720
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-diamond Omni Orlando Resort at ChampionsGate, located just 6 miles from Walt Disney World(R) Resort, provides scheduled transportation to the Walt Disney World(R) Theme Parks. In addition to 36 holes of championship golf, guests enjoy 15 acres of recreation including an 850 ft. lazy river, zero entry family pool, formal pool with private cabanas, and a lighted, 9-hole par 3 golf course, signature Mokara Spa a 24 hour fitness center, and seven on-site dining options. The main resort features 720 newly renovated guest rooms. In addition, there are 49 two- and three-bedroom luxury resort villas, equipped with full kitchens, a dining room, living room and private patio. The resort is located just 6 miles from the Walt Disney World(R) Magic Kingdom, and within 20-30 minutes from Universal, SeaWorld, the Shopping Outlets and Mall at Millenia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Prestigia and Expedia so you can book your Omni Orlando Resort at Championsgate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Orlando Resort At Championsgate Hotel Davenport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing