We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderfully educational experience!”

Manatees In Paradise
Ranked #2 of 51 Tours in Crystal River
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: No Walk-ins Accepted - Small boat tours - We no longer offer tours: May-October due to the water quality and manatee numbers. Tour Reservation Confirmation Required by email only -We are a private tour company owned and operated ONLY by the owners/captains. We give each tour the "personal and educational" attention you want and allow the manatees to feel comfortable while we explore their world. While on tour if you ask, we'll even explain how manatee rescues are performed and what we do in our spare time as manatee volunteers to help PROTECT and PRESERVE, this incredible species for future generations. LOOK- DON'T TOUCH the wild manatees, touching/rubbing/petting manatees reduces their chance for survival as you habituate them towards boats and people. Keep wildlife wild.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderfully educational experience!”
Reviewed 28 April 2012

We viewed several reviews of manatee tours on TripAdvisor. We chose Capt Stacy because her values really seem to match with ours: a private tour, no frills needed, and most importantly: educational. We wanted to not only see and ideally swim with the manatees, but also learn more about them. We had a wonderful time, interacted with several manatees, and Capt. Stacy even took several pictures that she emailed to us. Possibly the most important result: we left Crystal River with a greater knowledge of and respect for these amazing sea creatures, thanks to Capt. Stacy's expertise and passion. If you're looking for a tour guide that emphasizes environmental awareness and educational interaction with wildlife, look no further than Manatees in Paradise!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank SarahnSean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

793 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    784
    6
    1
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NB
2 reviews
“Amazing Experience”
Reviewed 28 April 2012

I and my new husband went on one of Capt. Stacy's tours recently and, even though it was chilly and windy, had the time of our lives swimming with manatees. Capt. Stacy was very helpful and full of knowledge and help us to have many successful swims with a few different manatees. She worked very hard to provide us with many memorable moments (even though we went during the time when not too many manatees were around) and never once did she look at the time or seem disinterested in what was going on (I can not say the same thing about some of the other tour operators that I saw however.)I highly suggest to anyone who would like to swim with the manatees, to go on a tour with Manatees in Paradise so that both you and the manatees will have an enjoyable time together.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank TWR2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
270 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“2nd time out with Stacey”
Reviewed 28 April 2012 via mobile

This was our second time out with Capt Stacey and it was again a very enjoyable and informative trip.

Stacey has a great knowledge of the area and the wildlife and is very entertaining and informative.

Helpful?
Thank PeterBarras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, MA
1 review
“Memorable family adventure”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Our family of four - Mom, Dad and two sons (ages 6 & 9) - had a fantastic time with Capt. Stacy. She could not have been more accommodating of our travel plans and made the day a stress free experience. Seeing our 9 year old come face-to-face with a manatee was incredible. Capt. Stacy was wonderful with the kids who were a bit nervous going in the water. The family photos she took of us and e-mailed were an unbelievable bonus and much appreciated. Her love of the manatees comes through and she taught the boys wonderful lessons about caring for these creatures and their environment. After seeing other crowded tour boats in the bay, we knew we made the right choice

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank KathandScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natick, Ma
Level Contributor
9 reviews
“Unforgettable, heart-warming and inspiring experience!”
Reviewed 22 April 2012

My daughter, 24, son, 20 and a sophomore marine bio major at Eckerd College and I--- aging mom- spent a several hours from mid-afternoon to dinner time with Captain Stacy and three of the manatees that call Crystal River home all year long. We met a mom and her almost 2 year old baby as well as another juvenile. Comfortable in our wet suits and snorkel gear, which we rented from Stacy, we "hung in the water" watching the baby nurse, mom munch on clumps of bottom vegetation and the juvenile cat nap between taking breaths of air at the surface. He had the cutest whiskered nose. We fell absolutely in love with these sweet, gentle creatures.

Stacy's passion for the manatees is evident. She is very knowledgeable and eager to share her experiences and knowledge of manatees as well as the environment which they now are forced to share with increasing numbers of people. We felt very comfortable with Stacy's direction so as to "meet" but respect the space of these creatures. We all highly recommend you tour with Manatees in Paradise. If you have a good underwater camera- bring it- we did not have one but Stacy kindly provided photos for us---- WOW! It was also delightful to snorkel up into the Three Sisters Springs. Beautiful clear water - and fun to see the springs that provide a main water source in the area. Don't miss this opportunity.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank pbroekel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Manatees In Paradise also viewed

 
Crystal River, FL
 

Been to Manatees In Paradise? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing