We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good clean hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Coral Gables
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Coral Gables
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
São Paulo, Brazil
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Good clean hotel”
Reviewed 19 April 2012

The hotel was good, spacious clean roooms. The breakfast buffet was ok, could be better; the basic rate did not include wi-fi that was charged per day; and the valet parking was also an extra of US$22/day. Overall, the basic room rate added up to a regular rate for a 4-star. OK if you need a good hotel in the Coral Gables area, but not a great option if you need to be in other parts of Miami.

Room Tip: The hotel is located in a pretty silent area, so just try a pool facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricardo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRCoralgables, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Coral Gables, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Dear Rica_Fe,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you for the constructive feedback. Please let us know, next time you are coming to Miami. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back!

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    596
    487
    160
    79
    39
See reviews for
309
374
72
448
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vallejo, California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

The room was spacious and luxuriously appointed. We had our own balcony with two cafe chairs and a small table overlooking an attractive terrace one floor below. For a nominal fee we had very high quality wireless internet access which was worth every penny. More than once, we enjoyed the outdoor swimming pool, the Jacuzzi, and the fitness center. These three are in the same area and there is a changing area with steam room, sauna, showers and lockers (bring your own lock). The steam room and sauna are guest operated. The operating instructions are confused; The instructions that refer to the steam room are really for the sauna. Start the sauna before your workout to be sure it's hot enough when you need it. The steam room starts quickly with the push of one button. I thoroughly enjoyed the fitness room, pool, and Jacuzzi. The fitness room cardio machines have televisions built in and headphones are provided. Towels, refrigerated face cloths, and ice water are all generously provided. Most all equipment you need to get a full workout is here. Though it was well used, it wasn't crowded, and it was spotlessly clean and comfortable. The valets were ambassadors for the hotel, and deserve special mention. They were kind, professional, and incredibly helpful. Reception left room for improvement. When I first approached the lobby desk, I was second to walk up of a party of two. I was not greeted nor acknowledged by the receptionist. Warm greetings upon contact makes a guest feel so much more at home in a hotel and sets the tone for the entire stay. Fortunately, this was an isolated occurrence, and other interactions with reception more than made up for the initial cold one. There is a dedicated computer with a printer at reception for guests to print their boarding passes allowing you to check in 24 hours before your flight for best boarding group.The receptionist who helped us use it was more than kind and courteous. My overall impression of the Hyatt Regency Coral Gables is very favorable. The two night stay was one of the best hotel stays I've ever had, and I would stay there again without giving it a second thought. I would strongly recommend to others to stay here, and you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Ask to be near the elevator. Some rooms are quite a long way down two halls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShamusT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRCoralgables, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Coral Gables, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Dear ShamusT,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of our hotel on Trip Advisor. At Hyatt Regency Coral Gables it is our mission to make every guests stay a memorable experience. While we are very flattered by all the positive comments in your review, your constructive feedback really helps us improve our product and service. It's great that you brought up the confusion of the signage in the sauna. Something for us to work on.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back very soon. Thank you again!

Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

WE just ended a 7-day leisure trip to the greater Miami / South Florida area, and decided to stay at the Hyatt Alhambra Plaza. I've stayed ther quite often some years ago, and did notice some changes (unfortunately not for the better).

The hotel is very conveniently located in the upscale Coral Gables area with lots of restaurants, bars, etc within waking distance. The famous "Miracle Mile" is just two short blocks away, with its innumerable dining / entertaining options.

We got a fairly nice room with a balcony overlooking an interior patio, so it was very quiet and comfortable. Everything worked fine in the room and we had no issues with service, amenities, etc.

The staff is friendly and service oriented and tries their best to make you feel at home.

However, we did notice some changes versus earlier years that are probably a sign of tough economic times everywhere, but we did miss the following:

- Breakfast Buffet: We had a buffet only on some days of our stay. The staff mentioned they only put out a buffet based on occupancy (special occasions !!). Otherwise it's an expensive, limited a-la-carte only option. They also had a great Sunday Brunch before--no longer!
- In room amenities: I was surprised by the sub-par TV set up. It wasn't Hi-Def (which by now almost every hotel has) and with a somewhat limited channel line up.
- The room only had 1 phone (although there was a second cable - but no phone set).
- Parking was expensive (even using the self-park option).

Overall, it was an OK stay, but I felt the hotel has fallen on tough economic times and it shows thet are saving wherever they can.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael-Mx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRCoralgables, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Coral Gables, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Dear Michael-Mx,

First of all I would like to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Reviews like yours are very helpful for us and we are grateful for all the positive as well as constructive feedback.
It's good to hear that you liked our breakfast buffet. In the last month or so, we have been testing how the buffet was received by our guests. We believe that at times of high occupancy, a buffet is the most time-effective way to serve breakfast and our guests seem to like it. However, when occupancy permits, we like to offer the more personalized experience by offering an a la carte breakfast.
As per your comments on the HD TV, please be informed that we are working on that and the HD project should be completed shortly.
Regarding the phone, there are no excuses, every room should have at least 2 phones. We will look into this immediately.

Again, thank you very much for the great review. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Hyatt Regency Coral Gables soon.

Sincerely yours,

Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kissimmee
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

I had adquired a reservation of this hotel through a site in which you dont know the hotel until you pay (non-refundable) the fee for it. Since I payed a very low fee for my stay I must admit I was expecting mediocre service... I was extremely wrong. From the lady who tend to the parking lot (first encounter with hotel staff) who was so cordial and friendly, to the bell staff at entrance of the hotel who always during our stay had a great smile and a pleasant disposition to assist, the front desk staff at check in are very professional and quick to assist you. Then I honestly noticed in detail the decor.. Wow! Not only everything I looked at was pleasing to my eye but then add a great staff and I felt I was in the perfect hotel. I dont considered myself an extreme traveler but I must tell you there is a difference between quality of service and quality of place. I cant remember when was the last time I experienced both at the same time and I did in this hotel. But it didnt stopped there, it got better.. We met Ramiro the hotel bartender. He is sure a great and valuable asset to your staff. His personality is very welcoming and genuine. In my book he is the true meaning of hospitality, great knowledge about facts on the history of the hotel, great spots in Miami to visit but mainly we sense a pride in him to work for the Hyatt family. You sure have a valuable and loyal employee in him. I found my favorite place to stay the next time I go to Miami!! By the way location is extremely convenient to great restaurants that fit every budget and taste within walking distance and a short drive from another great spot on Coconut Grove and Keybiscayne Beach.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dalia361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Coral Gables, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Dear Dalia361:

Thank you for taking a moment to share feedback about your recent stay at our Hyatt Regency Coral Gables. It's great to hear how much you enjoyed your time with us and we appreciate you going into such detail about your stay. We'll make sure to recognize our employees for their tremendous customer service provided to you. We'll also give praise to Ramiro, our bartender, for the personalized service he offered while you were with us. Hyatt takes great pride in this, and we're delighted to hear your feedback. We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back with us again.

Sincerely,

Nick B. - Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We have stayed at the Hyatt Coral Gables on a number of occasions and until this last trip were very pleased. The hotel was not the same Hyatt quality we have come to know and appreciate. Yes, the rooms are clean and it is quiet. However, the dedication of the staff to customer service is lacking! We were in town for an event we had been planning to attend for two years. A lot of time and effort was spend planning the trip. The bell staff completely ruined the event for us! Despite requesting a cab many hours in advance in advance, there were no cabs to be seen when the appointed time came. After waiting for half an hour still no cab. When a cab did arrive we were very rudely refused the cab by the bell captain in favor of a guest who had been waiting 15 minutes and had no advance reservation. The management was very slow to respond to the situation but finally provided transportation for us. At this point we arrived an hour after our planned arrival at the event and missed many of the this we had been looking forward to. we are regular visitors to the Miami area... we have already located another hotel to stay at during our next trip to Miami in June.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank quittycat2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Coral Gables, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Dear quittycat2:

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay at our Hyatt Regency Coral Gables. We're sorry to hear the taxi wasn't ready for you and at the hotel when you requested it. Edwardo, our Bellman, was delighted to ensure you were at your destination, using the hotel's private car, and the manager was able to further compensate you for this mishap. We appreciate you being a returning guest, and hope this experience doesn't further deter you from joining us again, and we would be more than happy to welcome you back.

Sincerely,

Nick B. - Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coral Gables
Courtyard Miami Coral Gables
#4 of 12 in Coral Gables
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coconut Grove
Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Coconut Grove
Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami
Hotel St. Michel
#6 of 12 in Coral Gables
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Coral Gables? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Coral Gables

Property: Hyatt Regency Coral Gables
Address: 50 Alhambra Plz, Coral Gables, FL 33134-5204
Region: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Coral Gables
#2 Family Hotel in Coral Gables
#3 Business Hotel in Coral Gables
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,535 - ₹ 23,936
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Coral Gables 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the "Beverly Hills of Miami", Hyatt Regency Coral Gables, a stunning AAA Four Diamond hotel set in the heart of Coral Gables offers the unparalleled personalized service and luxurious accommodations that you seek for your weekend getaway. Relax by the pool with a fresh Mojito or enjoy regional flavors at Two Sisters, our award winning restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Agoda, Prestigia, Ctrip TA, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Coral Gables reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Coral Gables Hotel Coral Gables
Coral Gables Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Coral Gables

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing