We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
American Indian Arts Celebration

We spent a few hours at the Seminole Big Cypress Reservation during their annual American Indian... read more

Reviewed 5 November 2019
Richard M
,
Naples, Florida, United States
A Cultural experience

Big Cypress Reservation has many wonderful cultural experience. A wonderful, modern museum, Rides... read more

Reviewed 29 August 2019
NeryMej
Read all 21 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Clewiston
from US$ 330.68
More Info
Reviews (21)
Filter reviews
21 results
Traveller rating
14
5
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
14
5
2
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 21 reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2018

For most people, a visit here will be quite a long journey, but, worth every mile!
We planned the trip well, before leaving the Naples area about 10.30 a.m. There are two main ways to drive there, the quickest way, is using the US41S, the alternative route, is using the I 75S, which is a Toll road, we paid $3.50. This way is longer, but a very interesting drive, and we were out for the day!
The drive takes you through beautiful scenery, and, after leaving the Interstate, we turned into the FL-29S, clearly signposted for Big Cypress.
This is a country road, through the Everglades, with birds, and alligators to see on the way, which is about 17 miles. The closer you come to Big Cypress, the more interesting things there are to see. - I saw the first herds of cattle I saw, in my two month holiday! There are herds of horses too, and, several farms.
The preserve has plenty of parking, close to the Museum. Everything around was very clean, and orderly. We saw the Pre-school, Gymnasium, Clinic, Fire Station,
Police Station, an RV resort, a Tent site ,and even Cabins for staying overnight, or longer.
The Museum was our real destination, and, the highlight of our visit. We watched the introduction film, in the Auditorium first ,this was very interesting, and, informative, then spent an hour wandering around the excellent exhibits. There is a Museum Store, and outside are boardwalk walks, mapped out, with signs, giving information about the Flora, and Fauna.
Picnic tables are behind the Museum, just outside, we took a picnic, and spent a while sitting there, in the sunshine, it was so peaceful.
If you are more adventurous, you are able to do a Swamp Safari, into the Everglades, or see exhibitions, with animals, and reptiles.
The whole day was great, and, the highlight of our trip to Florida. We will be going again, for sure!


,

Date of experience: January 2018
7  Thank Chrystine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2018

We traveled over from Marco Island along the I 75, it took about 1hr 30 mins.
The drive in along Snake Road is interesting in that there is nothing there, until you get to the Reservation, then Wow!! another world.
These guys have certainly got their act together, and as reported the average family gets a six figure income from the Casino operation, as can be seen in the houses, school, clinic etc.
The main attraction is the Museum, which details history of the Seminole's, including a 20 min film show.
You can also walk on the walkways through the forest, and experience other exhibitions.
Just outside the Museum, is a picnic area, so bring some goodies.
All in all, a great experience.

Date of experience: January 2018
7  Thank zootspain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017

Our family of six decided to visit this reservation on the advise of some friends..so glad we did, what an educational and adventurous day.. So many things to do.

Date of experience: July 2017
3  Thank Sandi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2016

It had been 20 years since we were on the reservation and it felt so good to see the growth and development of the community. The school was beautiful. Separate preschool and new gymnasium were the icing on the cake for the children. Government offices were beautifully designed and well maintained. Our main destination was the new museum. The life size detailed dioramas were spectacular. Betty Jumper's storytelling was also a favorite exhibit of ours.The mile long boardwalk along which the Tribal medicinals as well as other plants and animals were cataloged. was excellent. A depiction of the sacred ceremonial grounds were included on this walk as well as a depiction of a typical village. Down the road is Billie's Swamp Safari. There is a gas stop and at least two food stops so it is easy to make a day of it.

Date of experience: September 2016
1  Thank CyndyandByron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2015

An easy and scenic drive from either the east or west coast of south FL. The reservation has an easy layout that has numerous exhibits and shows all for one admission price. We got the full attraction pass with a coupon from the Big Cypress website. Besides gator wrestling and snake handling they have a swamp buggy ride thru the preserve along with an airboat ride that gets you up close to many native and introduced exotic species such as Blue Nilgai and water buffalo. You can stay overnight in one of a number of grass huts. We saw a momma gator and her newborns next to one of the huts. There are a couple of nice hiking trails over boardwalks. Good way to spend the day in wild FL.

Date of experience: December 2014
2  Thank DWathenYoungstown_OH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews