We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Roach Hotel! Yummy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Clermont
Certificate of Excellence
Oshawa
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Roach Hotel! Yummy”
Reviewed 21 April 2012

I stayed with the resort this year after having a wonderful time last year. This year after killing up to 13 roaches and having them spray wasp spray in our unit they said call if you find another one. They asked if i could keep the drains close and door shut but this was like killing my wife thinking one of these bugger are going to crawl into my baby's playpen and into his ear. This has been the worse time here. They say the have 2 barbecues at every unit and they do one is broken with a sign waiting for cleaning. Don't fall for the presentation for 1 hour either it is 3 to 4 hrs long. Oh yes they had me checked out a day early too.

Room Tip: It is like forest said life is like a box of chocolates you never know what room the roaches live in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

8,975 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,990
    2,891
    1,269
    426
    399
See reviews for
6,438
1,459
111
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (389)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prince Edward Island
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

We made our second visit to Summer Bay last week. Last year we went with friends and had a two bedroom condo which was lovely. This year, since we were travelling alone, we opted for the one bedroom setup ... big mistake! The one bedroom unit had a smaller bathroom and smaller closet than the second bedroom in the two-bedroom unit. The bedroom closet was the size of a broom closet ... we were able to hang less than half the clothes we had with us. Disappointing for sure since we were paying about $200 dollars more for the one bedroom unit than we paid for the two bedroom unit last year (guess the Florida economy is picking up again?) ... paying more for less :-(

However, the real annoyance was the internet service that we were paying $40 for. Last year, the performance was poor but the service workable ... this year, for our $40, internet was virtually non-existant (major bandwidth issues). This is more than an inconvenience for people who must be able to stay in contact with their office back home. The free internet service in the lobby provided excellent service, so we spent far too much time in the lobby. And despite promises of a refund of our $40, they never delivered on that promise (despite several follow-ups). It bothers us to have to pay for a service that is available for free at the cheapest of motels, but it is truly aggravating to pay for it and not get the service you are paying for.

Other than our issues with the internet (and the size of our one bedroom unit), we enjoyed everything else that Summer Bay had to offer. The staff were generally excellent (except for those I was dealing with on the internet issues) and the recreational facilities are top notch.

Unfortunately, that will likely be our last stay at Summer Bay. The internet issues left a bad taste in our mouths because in 2012, like it or not, the internet is an extremely important part of people's lives ... even while on vacation.

We are now at Vacation Villages Parkway, just a few miles down the road. A much bigger and well appointed one bedroom unit and blazing fast internet service ... and we are paying more than $300 less than what we paid for our week at Summer Bay. No wonder Vacation Villages Parkway are in the process of building more facilities while Summer Bay is starting to get a little ragged around the edges (room decor outdated and worn). The competition is going to kill Summer Bay if they don't start tending to the little things ... and obviously, internet service is a very little thing with them.

Room Tip: Avoid the 500 block of buildings if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kreskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, On
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We have owned a timeshare at Summer Bay since 1997. We originally got it as a FREE travel voucher, but as soon as we arrived there... Oh my goodness, it was like heaven on earth. We'd never been to such a beautiful place in our lives. We've stayed there 4 times since. The 1st 2 with the kids and the next 2 just my hubby and I. I also gave my son and his wife a week away there in 2008.
Back 10 years ago they (Summer Bay) we're very family oriented and had lots of planned stuff for the kids and also as a family to do together- such as tie-dye t-shirts($) or 'family feud' or the 'newly wed game' (nice prizes included), but the last couple of times we've been down, there were no programs set up, it was disappointing for all of us. I found the staff generally great to work with.
We attend the sales meeting for us to buy more timeshares, and yes typically they are way too pushy, but that's their job. I could definitely do without the hard pressure sales, but that's only a couple of hours out of our whole week. We're going back next week for a short stay hopefully everything is as it always has been. I'll let you know. *FYI* It's been the BEST thing we've done for ourselves during our 30 years of marriage.

Room Tip: Don't go during hurricane season- been there, done that, don't want to do it again !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prairieville, Louisiana
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

The entrance and security was nice. It felt like a nice community of condo rentals. Check in was terrible. Clerks were rude and unwelcoming. Our unit did not have a fresh smell. The bedding decor looks like an out dated casino carpet.

I am a firm believer hotels condos etc..
If you're there for travel your most likely to use to use it to shower and sleep right? The beds were worse than a cardboard spring loaded Walmart clearance mattress. I found the pullout more comfortable!! Guest services said that was their only beds and they could only offer some extra blankets to soften the feeling up. I found this to be a lie on the next morning tour. They have pillow tops for owners only.

Kitchen appliances were extremely limited and out dated. I didn't even have a pan to cook with. Were told to limit our few small garbage bags or they would charge us.

Internet signal sucks AND its $10 a day.

The dryer does not dry unless you only have one garment in there.

It is much farther from Disney then most that I've stated at.

We did this as an RCI Exchange and we had to pay for the housekeeping! Oh if we call them for anything they will charge housekeeping fees.

The units have a community door for the entrance. Pray you don't have loud next door neighbors!! It will suck.

Activities and events are one step. Above a motel...which has nothing.

The ONLY thing nice is the 24 hour pools which is far from worth the headaches. I'm never coming back.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We (two couples) stayed at Summer Bay the week of February 27th thru March 3rd. Our three bedroom villa was comfortable and roomy. We had a screened in porch which was nice in the evening since the bugs can be a problem in good weather.
Both pools were clean and heated, which was fabulous, lots of towels, and chairs to lounge on.The food at the pool bar was good, and not pricey. Activities were also fun should you want to partake. Small beach was also nice if that would be your choice.
The only thing we didn't like was that we had to pay for wireless service, and also use of the computer and printer. The time on the tickets that I bought to use both ran out faster than the time listed, a bit of a rip off.
Schuttle service to the Disney & other parks was amazing, and all the drivers couldn't have been nicer. No charge to and from Disney, minimal charge for the other parks, but worth it so you don't have to park.
Grocery shopping was so convenient, supermarket minutes from the property, and the road to it leads directly from Summer Bay. Prices were great.
Lot's of dining all along 192, as well as shopping. Needed to get a few things at Target, and there it was!
Been to Orange Lake, that is beautiful, but Summer Bay was also a great vacation spot.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank oceancity58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clermont
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Florida Center
Universal's Cabana Bay Beach Resort
Quality Inn Maingate West
#6 of 17 in Clermont
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts

Property: Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts
Address: 17805 US Highway 192, Clermont, FL 34714
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Lake County > Clermont
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Clermont
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,481 - ₹ 17,962
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts 3.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you seek relaxation, exploration, or inspiration, Summer Bay Orlando by Exploria Resorts has something for the whole family. Experience a luxury family destination that delivers the thrill of Orlando's world-renown attractions with the comforts of a leisure getaway. Enjoy all the highlights of our 400-acre lavishly landscaped resort and 64-acre private lake, located a mere 10 minutes from Walt Disney World Resort. Summer Bay Orlando is the perfect Florida getaway for family, fun, and freedom.Luxury accommodations: Why settle for a cramped room when you can settle into a spacious sanctuary? From roomy hotel accommodations to two or three bedroom fully furnished condominiums, we've got you covered with home-style comfort. Enjoy a homemade dinner with the family. Step out on your balcony to watch a glorious Florida sunset. Or take the night off and watch a movie on your flat screen TV. Stress-free park hopping: hop on our complimentary shuttle to Epcot(R), Magic Kingdom(R) Park or Universal Studios Florida(R).Fun in the sun: Whether your goal is a relaxing escape or a spectacular adventure, Summer Bay Orlando can fulfill your desire with a host of activities, amenities, and dining options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summer Bay Hotel Clermont
Summer Bay Resort Orlando
Summer Bay Resorts

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing