We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Vacation at Summer Bay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Clermont
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We (two couples) stayed at Summer Bay the week of February 27th thru March 3rd. Our three bedroom villa was comfortable and roomy. We had a screened in porch which was nice in the evening since the bugs can be a problem in good weather.
Both pools were clean and heated, which was fabulous, lots of towels, and chairs to lounge on.The food at the pool bar was good, and not pricey. Activities were also fun should you want to partake. Small beach was also nice if that would be your choice.
The only thing we didn't like was that we had to pay for wireless service, and also use of the computer and printer. The time on the tickets that I bought to use both ran out faster than the time listed, a bit of a rip off.
Schuttle service to the Disney & other parks was amazing, and all the drivers couldn't have been nicer. No charge to and from Disney, minimal charge for the other parks, but worth it so you don't have to park.
Grocery shopping was so convenient, supermarket minutes from the property, and the road to it leads directly from Summer Bay. Prices were great.
Lot's of dining all along 192, as well as shopping. Needed to get a few things at Target, and there it was!
Been to Orange Lake, that is beautiful, but Summer Bay was also a great vacation spot.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank oceancity58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (9,806)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8,867 - 8,871 of 9,806 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2012

I was at the summer bay for spring break March 14-18th when I arrived I checked in and automatically I thought my vacation was goin to be ruined I booked a mth in advance and I booked a 2bed room 2bath condo with jaccuzzi tub and walk in shower and a balcony I check in at the club house get my room keys and open the door and it was a 2bedroom villa no jacuzzi tub no balcony no walk in shower pissed!!!!!! So we demanded what iwas promised or I wanted a refund and take my family else where but they took care of us and from wed to Sunday I had an excellent time there!! Def will be booking in advance next yr .......love the heated pools the friendly staff and all the onsite activities for the kids ***** 5stars from me.........gemeal Gude

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gbaby85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

My friend and I have Lupus and are on Chemo treatments so we went to Florida March 2012 to rest and just stay mellow. We thought we were going to a resort hotel where everything you need is right there. Booked through Expedia they don't tell you that this is a time share, NOT a hotel. The front desk tells you a different thing every time you call so here is the scoop. It is a 75.00 with out tip ride from the airport! They do not offer transportation! You are better off to rent a car for a week. The boast about having so many places to eat but here is the truth. You can take the shuttle to Denny's or order nasty fried food at the poolside bar. The gift shop is WAY over priced! My friend bought an ice cream bar ( because they wouldn't refund her 4.00 and change she spent on a box of Grahm crackers that were all soggy and gross) and it was about 4.00! They are not 1 mile from Disney they are 1 mile from the welcome sign and another 5 or 6 away from the actual place! There is no spa to speak of they have the usual over crowed over chlorinated hot tub and a " spa day" at the activity room where you can spend an extra 10.00 for some nail polish or something silly. Check in is 4pm Room was very dirty. You have to pay for your toilet paper,tissue,and trash bags after the first one. My "clean" blanket was crusted with what looked like vomit. Having a a compromised immune system I was very nervous about how clean this place really was. Our dishes in the cabinets were crusted with food and obviously not cleaned. The toilet backed up 3 times, the last time the guy drilled it out and proceeded to leave puddles of biological waste on the floor!! After explaining that due to our medical situation this is a potentially deadly situation it took several calls to get housekeeping in. When housekeeping finally came he swept the floor with a towel tied to a stick and left broken glass that he has swept out from under the fridge in the middle of the floor! We told if we wanted the floor disinfected to take the shuttle to the store and buy cleaner. We did and I cleaned the bathroom myself! Garbage Disposal blew food all over the place had to be replaced. Fire alarm had to be fixed, We were locked out of the room 3 times due to a bad battery in our door. One morning we had a bird in our dryer vent going crazy! Pool furniture is filthy, most of the tables are broken and cracked ( dollar store plastic). Shuttles don't show up when called and then when they do the drivers complain about how no one communicates with them. Pools is open 24 hours with no supervision or emergency phone available which is very dangerous because the place is loaded with kids. My friend sat down with Ken the manager who was rude and defensive. He refunded only 1/2 of what he should have and it was reluctantly. When my friend showed him her new white socks that were black after a morning walking on the rug he accused her of lying about the state of cleanliness ( " how do I know you didn't walk around outside in your socks??"). I emailed him photo's of the bathroom after the plumbing issue and got no response at all. We had asked to speak with him on day 2 only to be told he was "too busy" we finally heard on back on day 6! The only caring people there are the one's who have no power and don't get paid well. Mary in housekeeping, Harry in Housekeeping, and a lovely girl from security were very kind and agreed with our take on the situation. Sadly that doesn't help you when you are stuck there. I would never recommend it to anyone ever. And I really hope Ken doesn't find himself ill and vulnerable one day. He just may end up running into someone like himself!

Room Tip: go someplace else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank jacksonsmummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

My family and I have been visiting Summer Bay for the past 8 years. The service was the worst that we have ever experienced. We checked in on Saturday March 17, with our 2 small grandchildren, and had to wait in line for over 25 minutes. There was only one desk clerk on duty. The manager was in the back office, continued to open the door and peek out, but never helped. Awful!

When we got to the condo, the kitchen floor was filthy, the dishwasher leaked and there was no coffee pot. The worst part was the plug socket in our grandkid’s bedroom was literally hanging out of the wall with the wires completely exposed. I took a picture of this and posted it.

While we still enjoy Summer Bay and its amenities, the management really needs to get it together. There was no attention to detail. Too bad, because it used to be an A+ resort.

Room Tip: Inspect your room for cleanliness and maintenance items before unpacking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lawry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

We stayed March 17-24, 2 adults and 1 child (4yrs old). Overall we were very happy with Summer Bay. Nice pool and beach area. We spent 2 days hanging out there at the pools. My son loved the beach and the zero depth pool. We had a one bedroom condo and the one thing I did not like about that was there was really no "dining room". There was a round glass table in the living room - really no area to sit and eat. The other things I wasn't happy about was that you had to pay to use internet and also had to pay to use the inflatables in the lake. I felt that as a resort guest you shouldn't have to pay for those. It might be one reason why I don't stay there again.
The location of the resort was great. Close to dining, shopping and not far from the parks (6 miles). 192 can get busy, so you may sit in traffic on occasion.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Renee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clermont
0.6 km away
Crown Club Inn Orlando By Exploria Resorts
0.8 km away
Quality Inn Maingate West
Quality Inn Maingate West
#6 of 17 in Clermont
322 reviews
21.8 km away
WoodSpring Suites Orlando Clermont
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.8 km away
Red Roof Inn Orlando West - Ocoee
35.0 km away
Days Inn & Suites Clermont
Days Inn & Suites Clermont
#10 of 17 in Clermont
420 reviews
0.5 km away
Liki Tiki Village
Liki Tiki Village
#27 of 154 in Kissimmee
2,856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts

Address: 17805 US Highway 192, Clermont, FL 34714
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Lake County > Clermont
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Clermont
Price Range: ₹ 4,735 - ₹ 15,373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts 3.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you seek relaxation, exploration, or inspiration, Summer Bay Orlando by Exploria Resorts has something for the whole family. Experience a luxury family destination that delivers the thrill of Orlando's world-renown attractions with the comforts of a leisure getaway. Enjoy all the highlights of our 400-acre lavishly landscaped resort and 64-acre private lake, located a mere 10 minutes from Walt Disney World Resort. Summer Bay Orlando is the perfect Florida getaway for family, fun, and freedom.Luxury accommodations: Why settle for a cramped room when you can settle into a spacious sanctuary? From roomy hotel accommodations to two or three bedroom fully furnished condominiums, we've got you covered with home-style comfort. Enjoy a homemade dinner with the family. Step out on your balcony to watch a glorious Florida sunset. Or take the night off and watch a movie on your flat screen TV. Stress-free park hopping: hop on our complimentary shuttle to Epcot(R), Magic Kingdom(R) Park or Universal Studios Florida(R).Fun in the sun: Whether your goal is a relaxing escape or a spectacular adventure, Summer Bay Orlando can fulfill your desire with a host of activities, amenities, and dining options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summer Bay Hotel Clermont
Summer Bay Resort Orlando
Summer Bay Resorts

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing