We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Class Act!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Central
Ranked #56 of 95 Hotels in Clearwater
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Class Act!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

I had a problem with my room the 1st night I checked in. When I asked the front desk what they could to make up for my inconvenience, she called the owner and called me back to let me know they removed the charge from my credit card and gave me the room free of charge.

When we came back there to stay again 2 days later, they had upgraded us to a two-room suite (at no additional charge) with a full kitchen, living room and bedroom with a balcony overlooking the pool area. What a classy way to make up for a mistake! Thank you.

Room Tip: Near the pool is nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gus_Cicala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

563 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    205
    115
    57
    39
See reviews for
230
167
58
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

We used the stay at this location when it was econolodge. The most of the things changed since than . We liked the pool very much . I would definately recommend

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel Group

Helpful?
Thank berry974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

My husband & I just returned from a12-day stay at this Travelodge. We have had extensive experience with this property, having stayed there in its previous incarnations as an EconoLodge, and also during its sharp decline as the Buena Vista Hotel.

I am happy to report that The Wyndham Corporation and Travelodge have made great strides! Travelodge took over the property in 2011, and since then has been working to renovate and improve every aspect of the hotel. An employee shared with me as we checked out that while only 60-some rooms were available in 2011, they are now up to 96 renovated rooms, and work is continuing on the remaining rooms.

Our stay here (March 6-18) was unremarkable, and I mean that in a good way. We found our room to be clean and comfortable. One minor quibble: our hot/cold bathtub spigots were mis-marked! Other than that, we had no problems. Along with the room, we found the front desk staff (especially Ann) to be friendly and attentive, and the housekeeping staff does a very good job. Can't comment on the pool, simply because we were too busy to visit the pool this trip!

All in all, we were very satisfied, and have already made our reservation for next March.

Room Tip: Travelodge is pet-friendly and also offers rooms to smokers. Be sure to be specific if you are plan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LDV24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broomall, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

When I reserved this room over seven weeks before arrival, I had requested a first floor room, as my wife has knee problems and uses a cane. On arrival, we were given a second floor room (no elevators) and were told that, what with its proximity to the concurrently active Phillies spring training complex (why we were there also), no first floor rooms were available.
The other problem was that the shower head on arrival needed a new washer, with almost as much spray emanating every which way from the connection as from the nozzle.
To me, the mark of a good consumer experience is not necessarily that everything is done perfectly at the outset, but the merchant's willingness and ability to admit responsibility for problems and try his/her best to rectify it. In this regard Kelly, the franchisee, was stellar. When a cancellation opened up a first floor room, he moved us to it for the second half of our four-night stay.
He was apologetic about the shower head, saying they were gradually rooting out a bad batch they had bought. More importantly, he had the faulty shower head fixed within a few hours of notification.
Kelly was friendly, pleasant, helpful, and forthcoming at all times. All the other staff members we encountered were also friendly and courteous. Our rooms were generally well-maintained and very clean. The complimentary breakfast was good, fresh, and cleanly and neatly displayed, though it would have been nice to have included a few more hot items beside waffles, toast, and drinks. To be sure, when a wider selection of hot breakfast foods was really needed, Lenny's- the breakfast and lunch gold standard in Clearwater- was literally only a few steps away.
So in the end, our stay here was quite positive overall, and we would certainly be happy to return.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rondelco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna BC Canada
Level Contributor
134 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

The large clean heated pool and the good service are the two things that stand out about this typical looking travellodge. The price, the continental breakfast, and the barbeque at pool side are some others. The rooms are clean two star. Next door is one of those older mom and pop restuarants that you can get huge breakfasts and lunch for cheap. It is near a large mall with a Target superstore and many newer chain restaurants. Halfway between St petersburg and Tampa it has easy access to both. Surrounding area is freeway/ older buildings-- not much romance here unless you rent by the hour. All in all a good choice especially if you have kids as the pool is heated to 85 and most hotel pools are not heated in the tampa -clearwater area.

Room Tip: ask for pool side
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WillyDoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
0.1 km away
La Quinta Clearwater Central
La Quinta Clearwater Central
#33 of 95 in Clearwater
4.0 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
8.7 km away
Candlewood Suites Clearwater
Candlewood Suites Clearwater
#59 of 95 in Clearwater
3.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
9.4 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa Bay Clearwater AP
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hampton Inn Clearwater Central
9.2 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#19 of 95 in Clearwater
4.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
0.4 km away
Clarion Inn & Suites
Clarion Inn & Suites
#61 of 95 in Clearwater
3.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Central? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Central

Property: Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Central
Address: 21252 US Hwy19 North, Clearwater, FL 33765 (Formerly Travelodge Clearwater)
Region: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Clearwater
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,019 - ₹ 5,575
Hotel Class:2 star — Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Central 2*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the MAGNUSON HOTEL CLEARWATER CENTRAL, located just a .5 Mile from the Phillies Spring Training Camp. Start out your day with our complimentary HOT continental breakfast. Take advantage of our beautiful weather and take the free shuttle from our Hotel to the Beach. After the game, throw some steaks or burgers onto the barbecue, located in one of the picnic kiosks surrounding our tropical outdoor pool. Enjoy our free WiFi, Beautiful resort pool and outdoor sitting area. And to help keep you in touch, we offer a complimentary Business Center right off the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HotelQuickly, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Clearwater Hotel Clearwater
Buena Vista Hotel
Buena Vista Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing