We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Strides Made by Travelodge at this Location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Central
Ranked #59 of 98 Hotels in Clearwater
Reviewed 19 March 2012

My husband & I just returned from a12-day stay at this Travelodge. We have had extensive experience with this property, having stayed there in its previous incarnations as an EconoLodge, and also during its sharp decline as the Buena Vista Hotel.

I am happy to report that The Wyndham Corporation and Travelodge have made great strides! Travelodge took over the property in 2011, and since then has been working to renovate and improve every aspect of the hotel. An employee shared with me as we checked out that while only 60-some rooms were available in 2011, they are now up to 96 renovated rooms, and work is continuing on the remaining rooms.

Our stay here (March 6-18) was unremarkable, and I mean that in a good way. We found our room to be clean and comfortable. One minor quibble: our hot/cold bathtub spigots were mis-marked! Other than that, we had no problems. Along with the room, we found the front desk staff (especially Ann) to be friendly and attentive, and the housekeeping staff does a very good job. Can't comment on the pool, simply because we were too busy to visit the pool this trip!

All in all, we were very satisfied, and have already made our reservation for next March.

Room Tip: Travelodge is pet-friendly and also offers rooms to smokers. Be sure to be specific if you are plan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LDV24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (590)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

469 - 473 of 590 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2012

When I reserved this room over seven weeks before arrival, I had requested a first floor room, as my wife has knee problems and uses a cane. On arrival, we were given a second floor room (no elevators) and were told that, what with its proximity to the concurrently active Phillies spring training complex (why we were there also), no first floor rooms were available.
The other problem was that the shower head on arrival needed a new washer, with almost as much spray emanating every which way from the connection as from the nozzle.
To me, the mark of a good consumer experience is not necessarily that everything is done perfectly at the outset, but the merchant's willingness and ability to admit responsibility for problems and try his/her best to rectify it. In this regard Kelly, the franchisee, was stellar. When a cancellation opened up a first floor room, he moved us to it for the second half of our four-night stay.
He was apologetic about the shower head, saying they were gradually rooting out a bad batch they had bought. More importantly, he had the faulty shower head fixed within a few hours of notification.
Kelly was friendly, pleasant, helpful, and forthcoming at all times. All the other staff members we encountered were also friendly and courteous. Our rooms were generally well-maintained and very clean. The complimentary breakfast was good, fresh, and cleanly and neatly displayed, though it would have been nice to have included a few more hot items beside waffles, toast, and drinks. To be sure, when a wider selection of hot breakfast foods was really needed, Lenny's- the breakfast and lunch gold standard in Clearwater- was literally only a few steps away.
So in the end, our stay here was quite positive overall, and we would certainly be happy to return.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rondelco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

The large clean heated pool and the good service are the two things that stand out about this typical looking travellodge. The price, the continental breakfast, and the barbeque at pool side are some others. The rooms are clean two star. Next door is one of those older mom and pop restuarants that you can get huge breakfasts and lunch for cheap. It is near a large mall with a Target superstore and many newer chain restaurants. Halfway between St petersburg and Tampa it has easy access to both. Surrounding area is freeway/ older buildings-- not much romance here unless you rent by the hour. All in all a good choice especially if you have kids as the pool is heated to 85 and most hotel pools are not heated in the tampa -clearwater area.

Room Tip: ask for pool side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WillyDoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Stayed last year and twice this year. Same friendly staff, clean comfortable rooms and good breakfast. Were on a two month trip and stayed at many places. This was one of the best. Would recommend to anyone . Wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marya48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

I have been a regular here at this hotel for almost a year now, we drive almost 16 hours from Va. to get to this wonderful hotel. I will tell you I have stayed at other hotels in and around this area. Marriott, Holiday Inn or Comfort Inn just cant compare to Travelodge Clearwater. Nothing comes close to the friendly employees at this hotel. They start off by welcoming you with a smile from the very 1st foot in the door. The staff is amazing especially Ann and Kelly! They will go above and beyond to make sure that you are completly happy and satisfied with your stay. The pool is amazing.. its HUGE so you never get that feeling of too many people in the pool. The rooms are VERY comfortable.. very clean! There are usually about 10 of us who venture down 5-6 times just during the summer.. all staying for at least 10 days.. the on site laundry facility is perfect, especially for those who travel for an extended amount of time. The beautiful Clearwater beach is a short drive maybe about 10 minutes. But so worth it since the hotels down on the beach are about 300.00 a night. This hotel is so close to everything resturants, WALMART (bc no matter how far you go from home a trip to walmart is almost always needed) shopping is amazing if thats what you are looking for. Lennys "BEST BREAKFAST IN CLEARWATER" is right next door! The hotel also offers a wonderful hot or cold breakfast with plenty to choose from. If your looking for a trip into one of the most amazing cities ever Tampa is right over the bridge maybe 15 min away. This hotel is right in the heart of everything.. its perfectly located to anything and everything you could possible need or want while on vacation or on a business trip. We cant wait to go back!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jsavage76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
0.4 km away
Clarion Inn & Suites
Clarion Inn & Suites
#61 of 98 in Clearwater
374 reviews
0.1 km away
La Quinta Inn Clearwater Central
9.4 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa Bay Clearwater AP
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9 km away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#39 of 98 in Clearwater
358 reviews
0.2 km away
Hampton Inn Clearwater Central
1.1 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#70 of 98 in Clearwater
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Central? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Central

Address: 21252 US Highway 19 N, Clearwater, FL 33765-2826 (Formerly Travelodge Clearwater)
Region: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 98 Hotels in Clearwater
Price Range: ₹ 3,744 - ₹ 12,007 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Central 2*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Central is your gateway to Gulf Coast adventure. When you make us your home base during your Florida stay, you'll find yourself nearby all the attractions you're looking forward to and surrounded by all the amenities you need. Enjoy our free Wi-Fi, cable TV, pool, business center, laundry facilities, and more while you're our guest. Plus, start your day off with a free breakfast before heading out to the beach, the golf course, Busch Gardens, Brighthouse Field, Clearwater Marine Aquarium, Ruth Eckerd Hall, and so much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Clearwater Hotel Clearwater
Buena Vista Hotel
Buena Vista Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing