We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
US$ 123
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Quinta Inn Clearwater Central(Clearwater)(Great Value!)
US$ 101
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Quinta Inn & Suites Clearwater Airport(Clearwater)(Great Value!)
US$ 80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 78
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 239
US$ 227
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$ 321
US$ 293
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$ 259
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Comfort Suites(Clearwater)(Great Value!)
US$ 183
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Residence Inn Clearwater Downtown(Clearwater)(Great Value!)
US$ 131
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 95
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,693)
Filter reviews
2,693 results
Traveller rating
1,544
705
276
99
69
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,544
705
276
99
69
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshor restaurantfull kitchenswim barclearwater beachresort feeacross the streetone bedroom suitehot tubparking garagebeautiful hotelsurf styleself parknorth sideper dayglass of champagnepool deckgulf of mexico
Filter
Updating list...
2,183 - 2,188 of 2,693 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Hotel was excellent. We were very impressed with the staff. Always a friendly greeting. We had a small problem the a breakfast one morning but the manager (Joe, I think) came over and comped the late arriving omelet, and made sure we were ok on the subsequent mornings. The pool stafff was also excellent especially Marandi (aka Sweetpea). We werent thrilled with the 25 bucks for an umbrella and two chairs but understand the need to make a buck on the beach. Girlfriend was very upset about the 20 bucks a day for the valet parking. But hey, It's a Hyatt Regency..
Clearwater was a great town. Enjoyed Crabby Bills, Frenchy's Rockaway Grill, and Bob Heilmans beachcomber (dont miss that one.. the food was excellent).
Sharkman

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sharkman78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

A nearly new, incredibly clean hotel across the street from Clearwater Beach. Rooms are current and about a B+ for a higher end hotel, just not exactly luxurious or oversized. Bathrooms spacious with granite finishings. Shower was great, but they do use way too much water softener that leaves your skin feeling icky.

We reserved last minute close to a holiday weekend, and our only choice was a superior King. The room had views of both the Gulf and the Bay, but also of the parking garage. Balcony was right over the parking garage next door, and the sound of the HVAC system was overpowering.

Some TripAdvisor travelers state that they do not mind having to leave the hotel grounds to cross the street over to the beach, and rent chairs and umbrellas for $25 a day from the City of Clearwater, but where I come from that is an inconvenience that you cannot gloss over. Also, there is the $20 a day resort fee ( not sure what that covers, since there are no beach amenities), and the $20 a day parking fee...it all adds up to paying quite a premium on your daily rate- again for a property that is really very nice but simply not "luxury."

What sets this hotel apart from many others where we have vacationed in recent years is the exceptional staff- attentive, responsive and personable from the poolside to the restuarant, to the valets, concierge and the ladies at the spa. Most of the representatives at the front desk were great also- but our check-in experience was unimpressive.

This is how I translate the message I received back when I inquired as to whether we (as Gold Passport & American Express Patinum travelers) could upgrade our room at check-in (willing to pay for an upgrade): "We have a bunch of college baseball teams staying here this week for the Big East Tournament, and we can barely hide our excitement about these baseball teams, even though a lot of them haven't arrived yet, so we are all geared up for them, and that leaves us with no upgrade options for you, and here's what we can't do for you today, and here's another thing we can't do for you, and here's your key and see you later....)."

I do have to credit the managers who walked the hotel during our stay, checking on how guests were doing, wait staff at the pool who were friendly and cheerful and attentive to guests, room valets who would stop and ask about your stay even when on another assignment, parking valets who were friendly and helpful regarding directions, welcoming atmosphere at the spa, etc. A very cohesive and well focused staff who didn't miss a step in the early heat of the summer.

You will feel good about staying here, but you will notice when things don't go exactly right.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travelteam14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

This is our last night here. We stayed 7 nights. We booked through a local vacation rental agency and got great rates.

Location: Can't be beat. It is on THE best part of the beach, just a short walk to Pier 60. Easy access to beach from hotel. Walk out the front door of hotel and next door is a Surf shop, which also carries most of what you'll need...eggs, sunscreen, milk, juice, wine, bread, lunch meat, etc. A bit pricey, but no need to drive. It's great to just go downstairs and buy whatever you forgot or ran out of.

Facility: Absolutely gorgeous! Quality on everything, heavy thick doors, high-end door handles, sound proof walls (we never heard others in rooms next door), clean and very-well-maintained.

Layout is a bit confusing at first, with two towers of rooms separated by the pool/courtyard in between. You have to take two elevators to get to parking garage. But the facility is very large, and once you get your bearings straight, it all flows with sense.

The pool is on the 8th floor, which seemed odd at first. But the benefits were immediately realized. It's more secure up there, it's definitely "hotel guests" only with no stragglers wandering in, and the view is awesome. The pool is teaming with staff, the friendliest I've encountered in a long time, and that says a lot since I vacation pretty frequently. They have activities like Limbo, occassional live music, "dive-in" movies, etc. But they don't overwhelm you with constant stuff going on. Just the right mix.

The kiddie pool area is fantastic. The pool is a bit small, but they have an abundance of toys, little tykes houses, etc. And also comfortably-cushioned, shady seating for parents in an enclosed, secure area, My 4 year old nephew was busy for hours.

We were in room 940, just a floor above the pool station, and staff often shouted a friendly hello by our name up to our balcony if we were outside. The pool staff are not overly bothersome, but welcome engaging in conversation about the area, ask how you're doing, ask if you need anything, etc They are well-trained and top-notch at customer service.

There are three restaurants, we only ate at Swim, which was the poolside restaurant. Food was delicious. Around $10 for sandwich and a side. Drinks are pricey, beers run $4 to $6, anything else starts out at $11 a drink. Most of the time we just brought plastic tumblers down to the pool, which they have no problem with. We ate out also, at Crabby Bills, Shepherds, and Cooters. All three were fine. But with all that eating out, we appreciated having breakfast in the room, and making turkey sandwiches for the beach...all that eating out takes a toll on our digestive systems personally. There is a Beach Shanty restaurant across the street from the hotel serving $5 breakfasts, cheap sandwiches, etc.

There's a small smoking section in a remote but nicely appointed area away from the pool. Smoking is also permitted on the balconies, but I really didn't notice many smokers at all. It's definitely not a problem for non-smokers, but comfortable for those who do smoke.

On the first floor headed to the beach they have rentals for boogie boards, floats, etc., and the prices were very reasonable.

The hotel doesn't provide beach chairs/umbrellas. They are rented by local vendors. An umbrella and two chairs start out at $25 per day, extra chair is $7. The price goes down the later in the afternoon you rent them. Rentals are done at 5pm. They have cabanas for rent too, but I don't know the price.

Pier 60 starts activities 2 hours before sunset until 2 hours after sunset.

Rooms: We had a 1 bedroom, 2 bath unit with 2 queen beds in the bedroom and a sleeper sofa in the living area. See my photos please. There's a full-size fridge, dishwasher, cook top, and combination microwave/convection oven.

IMPORTANT: Utensils are for 4. 4 plates, 4 forks, 4 wine glasses, 4 bowls, etc. Pretty limited. Only one medium skillet. So if you have a large party, you'll need some paper plates, plastic ware, cups, napkins, etc. They do have kitchen scissors, cork screw, and a spatula.

Also, they only provide one dish towel and one potholder. There's no dish cloth, and no dish detergent...i.e. Dawn, Palmolive, etc. So if you plan on cleaning out a tumbler or hand washing a bowl or the skillet, bring a dishcloth or sponge. They do provide dishwasher detergent, coffee, and all the shampoo, soap, tooth paste, etc.

For the one bedroom unit we had, there were separate thermostats for the two rooms, which was great for sleeping. And the sleeper sofa was pretty comfortable as sleeper sofas go.

Overall, the rooms are nicely appointed...bar with three stools, dining table with 4 chairs, all fine quality.

Don't miss: Go upstairs to the Sky Terrace on the 16th floor. The whirlpool is there, as is the most incredible view of both the bay and the gulf! Bring your camera up there for sure.

If you have teens or shoppers in the group, go to International Plaza in Tampa. It's about 30 minutes, a very COOL mall with lots of upscale and trendy shops, plus good restaurants.

I just can't say enough good comments about the Hyatt Clearwater! Just message me if you have any questions, as I'm sure I left so much out.

Overall, I LOVE this property. It's finely-appointed, but it's the staff who are the icing on the cake!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BusyMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2012

Thank you for taking the time to provide such a detailed review. I am thrilled that you had such an amazing experience at our property. We want our guests to feel at home from the moment they arrive. I am pleased that you enjoyed the pool area as well as our restaurant Swim. It sounds like you enjoyed the location as well. We have a prime location within walking distance from all the sights and sounds of Clearwater. Your recommendation is our biggest compliment. We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to our property again soon!

Brock S. – A Guest Relations Associate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012

Great location and hotel! Pool area is outstanding and the beach is over the top! My wife and I did a site visit for a conference and found the hotel to be perfect. It was a little pricey in the market, but well worth every penny. Good restuarants and great location to walk everywhere! Enjoyed a small restaurant across the street that served a great sandwich at real reasonable prices. The spa was outstanding! The view of the bay and the beach from the 16th floor was stunning. It was all good.

Room Tip: No bad choices!
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AssocDean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, guest relations associate at Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2012

Thank you for your wonderful review. We're thrilled you had a wonderful time at our hotel. It's great to hear you were able to enjoy some of our many amenities. We often receive compliments on the spa and we're glad you were able to try it out. We look forward to your next visit.

Chrissi R.- A Guest Relations Associate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

My husband and I enjoyed five wonderful nights at this hotel. We were upgraded to a one bedroom suite which was beautiful and included a full kitchen and two full baths. The hotel is very clean and well maintained. Employees are always very pleasant and helpful. The white sand beach and and calm, spotless Gulf are just steps away.

The one complaint I did have is that the parking is open to the public. On the week-ends there are lots of day-trippers who tailgate in the covered parking lot are noisy and leave behind a mess. In the morning, we would find beer bottles, soda cans and lots of fast food packaging strewn all around the parking area. I was surprised that the Hyatt did not monitor this more closely.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jerseysandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews