We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice property with a few exceptions!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #9 of 96 Hotels in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Miami
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice property with a few exceptions!”
Reviewed 30 May 2012

The property is very nice however the photos are deceiving because the beach is public and not private. The parking is a rip off at $16 per day and the $25 resort fee is a nuisance. They should waive at least the parking fee to guests!
The pool is way too small. I am a platinum Hyatt member and they did not even give me an ocean view room. The room itself was very nice and huge. There is a lot of traffic up and down and I would suggest not leaving the hotel to drive around. I was not even told all the services that the $25 resort fee included and had to find out myself. I fely like I was on my own the entire time I was there with no support. You get lost in that place! They need better customer service.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vimaury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,311
    623
    242
    72
    55
See reviews for
1,064
702
41
176
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (605)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East Windsor, New Jersey
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Hotel was excellent. We were very impressed with the staff. Always a friendly greeting. We had a small problem the a breakfast one morning but the manager (Joe, I think) came over and comped the late arriving omelet, and made sure we were ok on the subsequent mornings. The pool stafff was also excellent especially Marandi (aka Sweetpea). We werent thrilled with the 25 bucks for an umbrella and two chairs but understand the need to make a buck on the beach. Girlfriend was very upset about the 20 bucks a day for the valet parking. But hey, It's a Hyatt Regency..
Clearwater was a great town. Enjoyed Crabby Bills, Frenchy's Rockaway Grill, and Bob Heilmans beachcomber (dont miss that one.. the food was excellent).
Sharkman

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharkman78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

A nearly new, incredibly clean hotel across the street from Clearwater Beach. Rooms are current and about a B+ for a higher end hotel, just not exactly luxurious or oversized. Bathrooms spacious with granite finishings. Shower was great, but they do use way too much water softener that leaves your skin feeling icky.

We reserved last minute close to a holiday weekend, and our only choice was a superior King. The room had views of both the Gulf and the Bay, but also of the parking garage. Balcony was right over the parking garage next door, and the sound of the HVAC system was overpowering.

Some TripAdvisor travelers state that they do not mind having to leave the hotel grounds to cross the street over to the beach, and rent chairs and umbrellas for $25 a day from the City of Clearwater, but where I come from that is an inconvenience that you cannot gloss over. Also, there is the $20 a day resort fee ( not sure what that covers, since there are no beach amenities), and the $20 a day parking fee...it all adds up to paying quite a premium on your daily rate- again for a property that is really very nice but simply not "luxury."

What sets this hotel apart from many others where we have vacationed in recent years is the exceptional staff- attentive, responsive and personable from the poolside to the restuarant, to the valets, concierge and the ladies at the spa. Most of the representatives at the front desk were great also- but our check-in experience was unimpressive.

This is how I translate the message I received back when I inquired as to whether we (as Gold Passport & American Express Patinum travelers) could upgrade our room at check-in (willing to pay for an upgrade): "We have a bunch of college baseball teams staying here this week for the Big East Tournament, and we can barely hide our excitement about these baseball teams, even though a lot of them haven't arrived yet, so we are all geared up for them, and that leaves us with no upgrade options for you, and here's what we can't do for you today, and here's another thing we can't do for you, and here's your key and see you later....)."

I do have to credit the managers who walked the hotel during our stay, checking on how guests were doing, wait staff at the pool who were friendly and cheerful and attentive to guests, room valets who would stop and ask about your stay even when on another assignment, parking valets who were friendly and helpful regarding directions, welcoming atmosphere at the spa, etc. A very cohesive and well focused staff who didn't miss a step in the early heat of the summer.

You will feel good about staying here, but you will notice when things don't go exactly right.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelteam14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

This is our last night here. We stayed 7 nights. We booked through a local vacation rental agency and got great rates.

Location: Can't be beat. It is on THE best part of the beach, just a short walk to Pier 60. Easy access to beach from hotel. Walk out the front door of hotel and next door is a Surf shop, which also carries most of what you'll need...eggs, sunscreen, milk, juice, wine, bread, lunch meat, etc. A bit pricey, but no need to drive. It's great to just go downstairs and buy whatever you forgot or ran out of.

Facility: Absolutely gorgeous! Quality on everything, heavy thick doors, high-end door handles, sound proof walls (we never heard others in rooms next door), clean and very-well-maintained.

Layout is a bit confusing at first, with two towers of rooms separated by the pool/courtyard in between. You have to take two elevators to get to parking garage. But the facility is very large, and once you get your bearings straight, it all flows with sense.

The pool is on the 8th floor, which seemed odd at first. But the benefits were immediately realized. It's more secure up there, it's definitely "hotel guests" only with no stragglers wandering in, and the view is awesome. The pool is teaming with staff, the friendliest I've encountered in a long time, and that says a lot since I vacation pretty frequently. They have activities like Limbo, occassional live music, "dive-in" movies, etc. But they don't overwhelm you with constant stuff going on. Just the right mix.

The kiddie pool area is fantastic. The pool is a bit small, but they have an abundance of toys, little tykes houses, etc. And also comfortably-cushioned, shady seating for parents in an enclosed, secure area, My 4 year old nephew was busy for hours.

We were in room 940, just a floor above the pool station, and staff often shouted a friendly hello by our name up to our balcony if we were outside. The pool staff are not overly bothersome, but welcome engaging in conversation about the area, ask how you're doing, ask if you need anything, etc They are well-trained and top-notch at customer service.

There are three restaurants, we only ate at Swim, which was the poolside restaurant. Food was delicious. Around $10 for sandwich and a side. Drinks are pricey, beers run $4 to $6, anything else starts out at $11 a drink. Most of the time we just brought plastic tumblers down to the pool, which they have no problem with. We ate out also, at Crabby Bills, Shepherds, and Cooters. All three were fine. But with all that eating out, we appreciated having breakfast in the room, and making turkey sandwiches for the beach...all that eating out takes a toll on our digestive systems personally. There is a Beach Shanty restaurant across the street from the hotel serving $5 breakfasts, cheap sandwiches, etc.

There's a small smoking section in a remote but nicely appointed area away from the pool. Smoking is also permitted on the balconies, but I really didn't notice many smokers at all. It's definitely not a problem for non-smokers, but comfortable for those who do smoke.

On the first floor headed to the beach they have rentals for boogie boards, floats, etc., and the prices were very reasonable.

The hotel doesn't provide beach chairs/umbrellas. They are rented by local vendors. An umbrella and two chairs start out at $25 per day, extra chair is $7. The price goes down the later in the afternoon you rent them. Rentals are done at 5pm. They have cabanas for rent too, but I don't know the price.

Pier 60 starts activities 2 hours before sunset until 2 hours after sunset.

Rooms: We had a 1 bedroom, 2 bath unit with 2 queen beds in the bedroom and a sleeper sofa in the living area. See my photos please. There's a full-size fridge, dishwasher, cook top, and combination microwave/convection oven.

IMPORTANT: Utensils are for 4. 4 plates, 4 forks, 4 wine glasses, 4 bowls, etc. Pretty limited. Only one medium skillet. So if you have a large party, you'll need some paper plates, plastic ware, cups, napkins, etc. They do have kitchen scissors, cork screw, and a spatula.

Also, they only provide one dish towel and one potholder. There's no dish cloth, and no dish detergent...i.e. Dawn, Palmolive, etc. So if you plan on cleaning out a tumbler or hand washing a bowl or the skillet, bring a dishcloth or sponge. They do provide dishwasher detergent, coffee, and all the shampoo, soap, tooth paste, etc.

For the one bedroom unit we had, there were separate thermostats for the two rooms, which was great for sleeping. And the sleeper sofa was pretty comfortable as sleeper sofas go.

Overall, the rooms are nicely appointed...bar with three stools, dining table with 4 chairs, all fine quality.

Don't miss: Go upstairs to the Sky Terrace on the 16th floor. The whirlpool is there, as is the most incredible view of both the bay and the gulf! Bring your camera up there for sure.

If you have teens or shoppers in the group, go to International Plaza in Tampa. It's about 30 minutes, a very COOL mall with lots of upscale and trendy shops, plus good restaurants.

I just can't say enough good comments about the Hyatt Clearwater! Just message me if you have any questions, as I'm sure I left so much out.

Overall, I LOVE this property. It's finely-appointed, but it's the staff who are the icing on the cake!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BusyMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 29 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide such a detailed review. I am thrilled that you had such an amazing experience at our property. We want our guests to feel at home from the moment they arrive. I am pleased that you enjoyed the pool area as well as our restaurant Swim. It sounds like you enjoyed the location as well. We have a prime location within walking distance from all the sights and sounds of Clearwater. Your recommendation is our biggest compliment. We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to our property again soon!

Brock S. – A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AssocDean
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012

Great location and hotel! Pool area is outstanding and the beach is over the top! My wife and I did a site visit for a conference and found the hotel to be perfect. It was a little pricey in the market, but well worth every penny. Good restuarants and great location to walk everywhere! Enjoyed a small restaurant across the street that served a great sandwich at real reasonable prices. The spa was outstanding! The view of the bay and the beach from the 16th floor was stunning. It was all good.

Room Tip: No bad choices!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AssocDean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, guest relations associate at Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 28 May 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review. We're thrilled you had a wonderful time at our hotel. It's great to hear you were able to enjoy some of our many amenities. We often receive compliments on the spa and we're glad you were able to try it out. We look forward to your next visit.

Chrissi R.- A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
1.0 km away
Sandpearl Resort
Sandpearl Resort
#7 of 96 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,322 reviews
0.2 km away
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
#12 of 96 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,193 reviews
0.8 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Clearwater Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Opal Sands Resort
Opal Sands Resort
#4 of 96 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
2.0 km away
Sheraton Sand Key Resort
Sheraton Sand Key Resort
#13 of 96 in Clearwater
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,469 reviews
0.6 km away
Hilton Clearwater Beach
Hilton Clearwater Beach
#24 of 96 in Clearwater
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa
Address: 301 South Gulfview Blvd, Clearwater, FL 33767-2460
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Clearwater
#4 Luxury Hotel in Clearwater
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Clearwater
#7 Business Hotel in Clearwater
#7 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
#12 Family Hotel in Clearwater
Price range (per night): ₹ 16,278 - ₹ 33,654
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Hotel Clearwater
Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing