We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Phenomenal food, fantastic views”
Review of Marina Cantina

Marina Cantina
Ranked #3 of 789 Restaurants in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 10 - US$ 20
Description: Come enjoy the freshest locally caught seafood prepared in authentic Mexican dishes! Check out our fresh grouper tacos, snappper ceviche and carne asada - local favorites!
Restaurant details
Description: Come enjoy the freshest locally caught seafood prepared in authentic Mexican dishes! Check out our fresh grouper tacos, snappper ceviche and carne asada - local favorites!
Reviewed 26 March 2018

I have been to this place on several occasions but was really blown away this weekend. I had a party of 18 here. One of the managers, Elliott helped put together a fantastic time for us, his menu advice was perfect. Colin and Savana were exceptional in their wonderful service to our large party. They really put together a phenomenal afternoon for us. This is a can't miss for those visiting the Clearwater area, even if you aren't staying on the beach, take the ferry to the marina for a great meal in a gorgeous venue, with staff that is over the top helpful. My favorites are the seared ahi nachos, red snapper and chicken or grouper tacos.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Jennie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaystarRestaurant, Guest Relations Manager at Marina Cantina, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Thank you for the 5 star "Phenomenal" review! We appreciate your business! Happy that Colin and Savana took great care of you! We look forward to having you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,290)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

432 - 436 of 1,291 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2018 via mobile

After dinner, four of us decided to sit upstairs at the outdoor deck. We were seated and ordered drinks. It was at this point, the afternoon manager arrived at our table and told us if we don’t order food,we couldn’t sit there. She said there was a wedding party due in a half hour and we had to go somewhere else. After a lengthy argument, we were moved to another table next to the one we had. Shortly thereafter, another party was seated at the same table and they did not order food either. We left around 7 PM and the wedding party still had not arrived. The manager handled the entire situation poorly and was very rude to us. She did apologize profusely later in an attempt to make amends. It is highly unlikely we will go there again.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank FlyersBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaystarRestaurant, Guest Relations Manager at Marina Cantina, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your honest feedback. Our owner Frank Chivas would like the opportunity to speak with you direct regarding your experience. He has asked that you connect with him via cell or email (whichever you prefer) - he can be reached at 727-480-6704 or frank@baystarrestaurantgroup.com - Thank you in advance!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018 via mobile

Everything there was great. Seared tuna and empanadas were our favorites out of many great dishes. Plantains were a hit with the kids.

Date of visit: March 2018
1  Thank Brian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaystarRestaurant, Guest Relations Manager at Marina Cantina, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Thank you for the 5 star rating! We appreciate your business!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018

We came here last Fourth of July and was so happy with the food and service that we return the next day. We came back again for spring break this year and couldn't be happier. Get the Carne Asada. It is awesome. Our waitress, Savana, was so sweet and friendly. Great location next to the Marina.

Date of visit: March 2018
1  Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaystarRestaurant, Guest Relations Manager at Marina Cantina, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

Happy that Savana took great care of you! We appreciate the 5 star rating and look forward to having you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018

Had dinner with wife and kiddos (3 years and 15 months) tonight and can say without a doubt there is. No wonder why this place rates so high. Great staff. Helped me out with the kids and were very accommodating and understanding. The cocktail selection was excellent and a good variety of signature cocktails. I had the smokey margarita and it was fantastic if you like a very spicy/ smokey 'Rita. More geared to an adveterous drinker. Food was fresh and we stuck to the seafood tonight. Red snapper is a must. Smaller portion but very flavorful. Can't go wrong with any of the tacos but hey your in Florida eat the seafood. You can have BS pig belly tacos anywhere. Bill was around $100 for 4 cocktails, 2 apps, kids quesadillas, and desert. Really liked the decor as it was modern, fresh, bright , and an open concept with come shiplap in tastefully located areas. Thanks for a great meal tonight. Leo was our waitress and she was fantastic.

Date of visit: March 2018
1  Thank AndrewJZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaystarRestaurant, Guest Relations Manager at Marina Cantina, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

Happy that you and the kiddos enjoyed your experience! We appreciate you taking the time to write a review. Happy that Leo took great care of you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Marina Cantina also viewed

 

Been to Marina Cantina? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing