We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic, clean and perfectly adequate.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carrabelle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Moorings at Carrabelle
Exeter
Level Contributor
54 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Basic, clean and perfectly adequate.”
Reviewed 18 September 2011

We arrived after a very long day of travelling in heavy storms.We were keen to find somwhere with a nearby restaurant as we were too tired to search far. The owner assured us that a local restaurant would be open and she pointed it out. Having decided to stay we were shown the room which although basic, was fine. Lovely view over the harbour. No fridge but ice was available. Room clean and perfectly adequate for an over night stay. Unfortunately the restaurant was closed and we had to drive further to a rather down beat place which we would not have chosen if we weren't so tired, Food however was OK.Beach nearby was beautiful and we saw dolphins!

Room Tip: Go for upstairs asyou will get a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ExeterHilary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    32
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
26
27
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lucedale, Mississippi
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

We have stayed at the Moorings both in the hotel rooms and with out 38 ft. sailboat. I am very surprised at the nasty comments about the staff--some people just can not be pleased. The people ride around on golf carts for convenience (it is a large complex) and for security. People with boats have expensive electronics and equipment and it is much appreciated. The current is really strong in the harbour but the docks are full service and the staff is very helpful and courteous. They will give you a ride and pick you up to local restaurants. Harry's Bar is a local's bar and The Pit Stop is a great restaurant. The IGA grocery has anything you need. We have never been charged a price other than what was quoted. Weekends it is a higher. The room was basic. For the price you pay for waterfront--bring you own shampoo you have saved from another hotel. Carrabelle is a town worth visiting.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2011

My wife and I live about 2 hours from Carabelle in Southwest Georgia. Having been to Carabelle numerous times as a working musician we've always enjoyed our times there and we thought it was time to visit again. We had been by the Moorings a number of times and it always intrigued us...we love marinas...but the venues always provided accommodations and so we never had the opportunity to stay there until now. We were not disappointed in our choice of hotels.

I spoke with staff prior to our stay to ensure a room was available and they assured us one would be ready upon our arrival. Since our room would not be available until 3:00 PM we toured Carabelle and found that although much had changed the quaint, quiet town we remembered remained the same. We stayed overnight on Sunday and checked out on Monday...a short stay governed by work.

The room was on the second floor, very clean, and quite spacious with a king bed, a dining table with two chairs, a small refrigerator, and a small sink at the counter. The bathroom was very large and we had a balcony overlooking the marina. I don't own a boat, but if I did the slip was free. Although the hotel is pet friendly, we left ours at home.

The staff was exceptional...very accommodating and helpful. If you plan on using the pool make sure you ask the desk person for a key or you'll have to make the walk past the marina back to the lobby area. We used the pool and it was very clean with restrooms, an outside shower, and deck chairs. It's well lit at night and worth the evening swim. I noted during my stay that the staff makes regular rounds on the property to ensure safety and good order.

All-in-all, an exceptional value for the $69.00 we paid. It was a great break and we intend to return in October for a two-day stay so we can check out the beaches. For those of you who like Gulf seafood check out "The Fisherman's Wife" across the street. The staff recommended it, my shrimp and grouper were perfect, and I can't see how anyone would be disappointed with the price, quantity, and quality.

Room Tip: They have condos for large families as well as regular rooms. In both cases, ask for the second floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewportSouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2011

This a new hotel with spacious rooms opening to street as well as the river. Right now they are offering a free boat slip with room. We're towing our boat & had plenty of parking room. Carrabelle is old Florida. No Holiday Inns. No Micky D's. Great oysters & shrimp right off the boat!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank supihonbun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 April 2011

The room itself was very spacious and nice.Although you could hear the room next to you very clearly and late at night the noise was loud. The office staff was very rude and did not give you the attntion you deserved as a customer. They answered the phone rudly while attending to me and even took care of another customer while trying to handle me, which caused too much confusion. Before arriving- my rate was much cheaper than what I had to pay once I arrived and they would not honor what I was told over the phone. The men (ground keepers) on the golf carts were on you constantly and made us very uncomfortable :( I would not stay here again if they have the same unprofessional staff..........

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeachBum000_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carrabelle
34.5 km away
Gibson Inn
Gibson Inn
#2 of 5 in Apalachicola
364 reviews
28.8 km away
St George Inn
St George Inn
#1 of 2 in St. George Island
186 reviews
36.3 km away
Best Western Apalach Inn
Best Western Apalach Inn
#1 of 5 in Apalachicola
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
34.7 km away
Water Street Hotel & Marina
Water Street Hotel & Marina
#3 of 5 in Apalachicola
379 reviews
39.6 km away
Best Western Wakulla Inn & Suites
0.9 km away
The Old Carrabelle Hotel
The Old Carrabelle Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrabelle
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Moorings at Carrabelle? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Moorings at Carrabelle

Property: The Moorings at Carrabelle
Address: 1000 Highway 98, Carrabelle, FL 32322-2241
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Carrabelle
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Carrabelle
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,172 - ₹ 12,283
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moorings of Carrabelle has an unmatched reputation of the largest marina in Carrabelle. Accommodations are available with a hotel or condo unit *free boat slip available with room rental (*restrictions apply). We have a 32 room hotel and each room has a large bathroom with hair driers and a microwave, mini fridge, eat in table, coffee maker, and a 32 inch flat screen TV. Full service marina offers non ethanol gasoline, marine diesel, full tackle shop, Costa sunglasses, Calcutta men's and women's clothing and fishing gear. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Moorings At Carrabelle Hotel Carrabelle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing