We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE FROM ENTIRE STAFF”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carrabelle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Moorings at Carrabelle
Reviewed 12 April 2011

The room itself was very spacious and nice.Although you could hear the room next to you very clearly and late at night the noise was loud. The office staff was very rude and did not give you the attntion you deserved as a customer. They answered the phone rudly while attending to me and even took care of another customer while trying to handle me, which caused too much confusion. Before arriving- my rate was much cheaper than what I had to pay once I arrived and they would not honor what I was told over the phone. The men (ground keepers) on the golf carts were on you constantly and made us very uncomfortable :( I would not stay here again if they have the same unprofessional staff..........

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeachBum000_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (66)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 64 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2010

What a disappointment!!! I was told one price by the night clerk then charged a higher price when I went to check out. The carpet was a filthy mess and the bed sheets were stained with an orange color stain. I got into town late and had no choice but to stay there but never again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hoopo294
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2010

We stayed at the Moorings over Labor Day weekend. Our plans to go to the Bahamas got blown over by hurricanes. We have been fishing out of Steinhatchee and had noticed that some of our coordinates were actually closer to the Carrabelle area. So we made a last minute phone call and had no problem reserving a room and a slip.

The Moorings in nothing fancy. But it ranks high our list because it is clean, comfortable, convenient, friendly and affordable. The marina is truly full service and can accommodate about any size of boat. There is a well-marked channel out to open water - we saw everything from little flats boats to 60'+ sport fishermen and big sail boats. We had never been there and had no problem navigating our 26' boat out. Be warned though that the boat ramp is a bit of a tight squeeze though. It was tough getting our F350 crew cab and 28' trailer into the ramp at the marina -- but my husband did manage it -- anything bigger wouldn't fit. But there is a very, very nice public ramp nearby which could easily accommodate just about anything. The marina has gas, bait, ice... anything you need.

You can choose from the hotel or condos. There is also a pool at the marina. The rooms in the hotel are huge, but very basic. They have been recently remodeled and are very clean. Ours had a comfortable king sized bed, a dresser, and a nice table and chairs. There is a coffee maker which is always nice. You share a balcony with the room next to you. All of the rooms have balconies that overlook the marina. The bathroom is also huge with a good shower. My only complaint would be that the towels are very low quality and the hotel does not provide shampoo.

The staff was phenomenal and the place is very secure. This is one of the few marinas where we felt completely comfortable leaving everything on board our boat. It was nice not to have to haul fishing poles up to the room! There is 24 hour security and there are cameras everywhere. Everyone was so nice and very helpful.

The town of Carrabelle is quaint and quiet. A couple of cute shops and some hole-in-the-wall kind of restaurants with fantastic food. Everything pretty much shuts down by nine- with the exception of a couple of bars. Harrys is a great place to hang out and play pool in the evenings. We got in late (about 9) and were hungry. The guy at Harrys sent us over the bridge to the Pit Stop for dinner -- it was the only place open and still serving food. We had fantastic mahi sandwiches there! Other good restaurants were 2 Al's (also over the bridge) and The Fisherman's Wife -- a little trailer with fantastic seafood!

Carrabelle has just about everything you could want for a boating weekend. Nice beaches too. Float out the channel to Dog Island -- it's all sandy bottom around the island so you can easily anchor for a day on the beaches of the island. There are nice beaches on the mainland too. Within about 10 miles you are in deep water for bottom fishing, or there is plenty of flats action inshore. Apalaichacola (sp?) is an easy 15 minute scenic drive along the bay. It's an adorable little village with great shops and restaurants. We wanted to get to St George island as we heard it was really nice too, but ran out of time. Oh well... guess we'll just have to go back -- the sooner the better!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YYJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2009

We stayed at The Moorings in late January/09. The rooms are spacious and in good condition. All went well until around 11pm when our neighbours checked in. With our windows and doors closed we could hear everything they said while out on the balcony and in their room including their tv, a little muffled, however, sometimes word for word- They were carrying on normal conversation. Finally at 2:30 am after one man let out a few hoots after getting into the shower, they quieted. -- At 6:00am it started again until they vacated for their day of fishing. -- When asked by the receptionist if we enjoyed our stay, i mentioned this fact. She said she would check it out, however, I simply stated that these men were not partying, they were carrying on a conversation.
The section we stayed in appeared to be new. Obviously there is very little insulation between some of the rooms. I did see other tourists checking out and all seemed to be satisfied.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luvtogoNovascotia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2008

We planned on spending one night in Carrabelle during a trip to FL during Christmas week 07 and wanted to stay at The Moorings of Carrabelle.

The Moorings at Carrabelle is under renovation. This is a motel & condo type place on the bay water with a marina, boat slips, etc. It's right in town and on Hwy 98. No problem finding it. It's a nice place, great views and lots of boats.

We've stayed here previously but didn't stay this time because of the cost & the renovations. The cost has risen too high for the type of location it is. We can't afford it any longer!

Previously we enjoyed a 2 br condo with a large living & dining area as well as a nice kitchen at The Moorings. I'd love to see what the renovations will look like when it's done..

3  Thank bluealt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carrabelle
34.7 km away
Water Street Hotel & Marina
Water Street Hotel & Marina
#3 of 5 in Apalachicola
404 reviews
28.8 km away
St George Inn
St George Inn
#1 of 2 in St. George Island
196 reviews
29.1 km away
Buccaneer Inn
Buccaneer Inn
#2 of 2 in St. George Island
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
The Old Carrabelle Hotel
The Old Carrabelle Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrabelle
184 reviews
Show Prices

Been to The Moorings at Carrabelle? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Moorings at Carrabelle

Address: 1000 Highway 98 E, Carrabelle, FL 32322-2241
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Carrabelle
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Carrabelle
Price Range: ₹ 5,211 - ₹ 12,375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moorings of Carrabelle has an unmatched reputation of the largest marina in Carrabelle. Accommodations are available with a hotel or condo unit *free boat slip available with room rental (*restrictions apply). We have a 32 room hotel and each room has a large bathroom with hair driers and a microwave, mini fridge, eat in table, coffee maker, and a 32 inch flat screen TV. Full service marina offers non ethanol gasoline, marine diesel, full tackle shop, Costa sunglasses, Calcutta men's and women's clothing and fishing gear. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Moorings At Carrabelle Hotel Carrabelle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing