We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“wedding ceremony and reception held there in early December, 2010” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Cape Coral Resort At Marina Village

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Westin Cape Coral Resort At Marina Village
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Cape Coral
Certificate of Excellence
SW Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“wedding ceremony and reception held there in early December, 2010”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

We booked the outdoor Tiki Hut in Tarpon Gardens close to hotel and used some of the beautiful grounds nearby under the huge, old Banyon trees... very little cost and it was already decorated for Christmas. The outdoor wedding ceremony was perfect with lots of sun and cool breezes. The Tiki Hut was attractive, large, had tables, chairs and had a serving area with an open bar area that we stocked ourselves. There were extra amenities like large toilet rooms nearby and several pretty, large outdoor pools that were lit up.
Then, we moved to the Resort at MarinaVillage for the continuing reception and small gatherings.... all exceptionally nice. The hotel rooms were comfortable, very attractive, close to each other and had kitchens like condos so the pre-wedding dressing of wedding ceremony participants had an easy time preparing. Total costs were extremely low. I thought it was one of the nicest weddings I had been to and everyone had a great time. so much better than a formal church wedding. There also were several wedding parties going on in formal dining rooms in the hotel.,,, for other persons.
The marina offers a variety of boat slips and trips. There is no beach but there are regularly scheduled boat trips a very short ride to the great beach at Ft Myers Beach.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dmbSWFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunStreamResorts, Manager at The Westin Cape Coral Resort At Marina Village, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Thank you for sharing your wedding experience with us! It means the world to us when we here were a part of making your day truly special! We hope you will come back and celebrate with us in years to come!

Sincerely,
The Management Team at The Resort at MarinaVillage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    868
    321
    86
    25
    15
See reviews for
471
517
33
89
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (421)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

We spent President's weekend with my wife at this resort. We arrived with great expectations after reading so many good reviews.
The problem is that we booked a Studio, which is a hotel room with two double beds.
We asked for one with a Queen or King bed, but they don't have this. They asked us to pay extra if we want to move to a One-Bedrrom unit.
The Studios have not been updated, as it seems they have update the one and two-bedrrom units. They look a bit outdated.
The pro:they have a coffee maker and a fridge.
The con: two double beds, old beige carpet, everything looks a bit old.
The food at Marker restaurant is very good and service excellent, whereas at the pool bar the waitress was rude and eager for us to leave because we just got one martini.
We took advantage of the boat shuttle, it is a nice trip to Fort Myers Beach. We also enjoyed walking along the marina, and we bought some food at the deli which was fantastic (try the stuffed grape leaves).
The main problem with this hotel is that it is TOO FAR from the beach. There is no beach closer than 40 minutes driving, so if you want a beach resort, this is not it. There is nothing around, we rode bicycle for almost one hour just to arrive to a depressing Cape Coral main street with three shops and four restaurants.
To go to anywhere else you need to take the car, cross a bridge (tolled) and drive 40-60 minutes. We went to Sanibel Island (one hour) and Fort Myers Beach (50 minutes) and we liked much more those two cities.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fercho29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunStreamMgmt, Manager at The Westin Cape Coral Resort At Marina Village, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Hello fercho29,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Resort at MarinaVillage during the holiday weekend. I apologize that the studio did not meet your expectation. The studios are our most basic hotel room for those just looking for a place to rest their heads at night, whereas our 1, 2 and 3-bedroom units provide full-home amenities, including fully stocked kitchens, granite counter tops, spacious living rooms and floorplans and several different bed-type options within each room. The resort is only a little over 2 years old and my apologies that you felt your room was a bit outdated. I hope that any concerns you had were adressed with the front desk staff as I am sure they would have been happy to move you to a different studio if an upgrade is not what you were looking for.

To some, Cape Coral may seem a little off the beaten path, however many of our guests enjoy that aspect of the hotel and the ability to hop on our water taxi to the beach or take a drive in the car to the local, more populated areas, but always know they can come back and enjoy the relaxing atmosphere at our beautiful resort. Plus, with bike rentals, several retail shops, a full-service spa & salon, kayak rentals, 3 pools, fitness center, sunset cruises and several onsite dining options, many feel there is just enough to keep them at the resort during their stay.

I will address your issue at the outside bar with our Manager in an effort to make sure that every guest feels welcome, no matter how many beverages they choose to enjoy. Customer Service is something we take pride in and I am saddened to hear that we did not meet both yours and our expectations.

If you are ever looking for a relaxing getaway, we hope you will consider staying with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
The Resort at MarinaVillage Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

This was a girl's getaway trip and we wanted r & r in beautiful surroundings and this 18 floor resort didn't disappoint. All the one bedroom units face east towards the river, all the two bedroom units face west towards the marina and Sanibel/Captiva. Other than an extra bedroom & bath, both the 1 and 2 bedroom units are identical. All units have a very spacious screened balcony, and all units except the studios have a very nice kitchen open to the adjacent dining/living area as well as a washer/dryer. No bathtubs but the showers are large with one sink in the main bathroom and the other in a separate vanity area. The lower floors, especially the 1 bedroom & studios, would probably not have much in the way of water views.Very nicely furnished but none of the sofas make into a bed so plan accordingly. Parking is free and you are met by someone very friendly, like Michael, who will bring all your luggage, groceries, etc to your room - do not expect to do this yourself, he won't let you lift a finger. THANKS MICHAEL!

The pool was really nice and warm and the jacuzzi nice and hot. All the grounds, common areas, and personal space was very, very clean and well tended. A Tiki hut near the pool/jacuzzi area served up drinks and food; live music most nights; fire pit to linger by. Pool towels supplied.

The on-site restaurant seemed pretty busy; we only had take out and it was good.

Bike & helmet rentals are free; free water taxi to Ft Myers beach a couple days a week (ask at the desk); the shops along the promenade were small and specific to a certain clientele.

Check in was friendly but even though we had been told at noon that our room was ready, when we got there are 2pm (loaded with groceries) we couldn't check in until 4pm.

There is really no mini-mart in the resort, only very basic things like bags of chips & soda - no real food, but there are Publix grocery stores everywhere and as close a a couple miles away. However there is a small mini-mart in the Promenade area by the marina with some very basic things and a small sandwich/coffee shop.

Entering Cape Coral is via a $2 Toll charge but no charge to leave. Again, a $2 toll to cross into Ft Myers Beach - Naples area and a $7 toll to Sanibel/Captiva and either of these is slow going because there is only one road to carry all traffic. It took us 2 hours to drive 14 miles on a Friday late afternoon. Parking along Ft Myers beach varies from free to $7 but all parking in Sanibel/Captiva is $2/hr except the causeway beach, which is no charge. The sand ranged from the shipped in silica sand in Ft Myers to salt & pepper grain sand with tons of shells in Sanibel/Captiva. Around Lovers Key State Park the water is very pretty and you can rent bicycles to tour the area.

During our weeks stay the maid came mid-week with towel exchange but you could pay for full service. The maids only make minimum wage so we felt a tip was due. Trash is separated into recycle and other.....nice touch.

Resort at Marina Village caters to boaters; I think quite a few units were rented to them while their boats "rested up" at night in the marina. This is a lovely resort and we felt safe to the Nth, staff extremely friendly. The only drawbacks were having to wait to check-in and no DVD player in the unit.

Room Tip: To get the best views get a higher floor, especially if you are in a studio or one bedroom. The two...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank calltheman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, Pa
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

We booked this resort through Interval International. The hotel is just wonderful. We had a two bedroom villa which was huge. You could easily live here permanently. It was beautifully furnished and very comfortable. We were given a second floor unit which turned out to have both an indoor patio and an enormous outdoor one. They have a boat that takes you to Ft. Myers Resort free of charge. The pool is heated, and overlooked the river. We were sorry we had not booked additional weeks. We will definitely return to this great resort.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maclinda50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunStreamMgmt, Manager at The Westin Cape Coral Resort At Marina Village, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Dear Maclinda50,

Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience with us at The Resort at MarinaVillage. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay and can't wait for you to vacation with us again!

Sincerely,
The Resort at MarinaVillage Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

We have just spent two weeks in a one bedroom condo at the resort, overall I think we can say we were very happy during our stay.

The Condo was brand new & very well equiped, clean & comfortable, I would also add that it was huge for just two people. We also had the benefit of being on one of the upper floors so the views from the balcony were quite spectacular. The building is "L" shaped & you have a reserve facing or marina facing room. If you prefer a suuny aspect IO would reccommend the marina view as these rooms are south facing, we had a reserve facing room found this fine as we were out most of the time.

The kitchen was very well equiped with oven, hob, microwave, fridge freezer & dishwasher which is great if you don't want to eat out every day. The rest of the condo was equally well equipped with good quality comfortable beds & large flat screen TVs in living area & bedroom. We were very comfortable here for the duration of our stay.

Add to this the fact that the staff from reception throught to hosekeeping & the bar were really friendly & helpful & you get agood idea of the high stabdards set here.

The only downside was the location. Whilst in a quiet & attractive location it was quite a way out of Cape Coral/Fort Myers & some people might not like this, we were there to play golf so this did not really affect us as we were out everyday anyweay. This aside we would not hesitate to reccommend the Resort & Marina Village, we thoroughly enjoyrd our stay.

Room Tip: Marina View best for a sunny aspect
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Henkeepers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunStreamMgmt, Manager at The Westin Cape Coral Resort At Marina Village, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Dear Henkepers,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. WOW, 2 weeks! What a great vacation!

The quality of our rooms and high customer service standards are important to us and to hear that both of these areas were to your satisfaction is wonderful.

We hope you will share your vacation with us again in the near future.

Sincerely,
The Resort at MarinaVillage Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Coral
4.7 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cape Coral/Fort Myers Area
4.6 km away
Hideaway Waterfront Resort & Hotel
5.9 km away
Dolphin Key Resort
Dolphin Key Resort
#4 of 6 in Cape Coral
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 km away
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
13.1 km away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,864 reviews
6.0 km away
Holiday Inn Express Cape Coral/Fort Myers Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Cape Coral Resort At Marina Village? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Cape Coral Resort At Marina Village

Property: The Westin Cape Coral Resort At Marina Village
Address: 5951 Silver King Blvd, Cape Coral, FL 33914-8054 (Formerly The Resort at MarinaVillage)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Cape Coral
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Cape Coral
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,364 - ₹ 27,479
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Cape Coral Resort At Marina Village 4*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Cape Coral Resort at Marina Villageoffers you all the amenities of Tarpon Point Marina including four star waterfront views, plus resort luxuries such as room service, housekeeping and concierge services. Experience flawless service in our sleek tower of guest rooms and suites with sweeping views of the Caloosahatchee River, San Carlos Bay and Gulf of Mexico. Our traditional rooms and our 1, 2 and 3-bedroom suites range from 445 square feet to 2,195 square feet, with grand rooms, master suites, guest suites, and dining terraces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your The Westin Cape Coral Resort At Marina Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Resort At Marinavillage Hotel Cape Coral

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing