We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Autumn Afternoon Picnic”
Review of The Garden Kitchen

The Garden Kitchen
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Deli, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The newly opened Garden Kitchen is a 270sq m stone built tea room, farm shop and lecture facility. The building has been designed sympathetically to blend in with the nursery, with old tools and gardening memorabilia hanging off the walls and a grand stone fireplace as the centerpiece. All the food is sourced locally, so whether you are looking to start your day with a hearty breakfast, maybe a tasty lunch or try out our take on the traditional afternoon tea, The Garden Kitchen will have something for everyone including the young gardeners among us too. Holden Clough Nursery with its new tea room and farm shop is an enchanting destination not just for those who love gardening but for those who simply want a great day out!
Reviewed 27 September 2017 via mobile

My husband and I are in the area for a week and this was on the list of recommended things to do. We originally had a reservation for Monday but they had to cancel - a water pipe burst in the village and the surrounding area was affected. They were very apologetic (I think I spoke to Lucy? She was lovely!) and I rescheduled for this afternoon. We were promptly seated at our reservation time and we didn't have to wait long before our picnic was brought out to us. It was delicious! The autumn theme includes cauliflower and smoked cheese soup, mushroom vol au vonts, chilli con carne, pulled pork sandwich in addition to a mini welly of spiced apple juice, lemon curd and cream scone, Parkin (gingerbread) cake, blackberry crumble and a Black Forest cupcake. Everything was delicious though I - despite originally disagreeing(!) - agree with other reviewers that an additional savoury item instead of one sweet would be welcomed. Alternatively, smaller scones and Parkin cake? Some pouring cream to go with the crumble and cake would also be lovely - could be served in a mini watering can! The presentation was fabulous, I loved everything about it. Oh, and the skinny fries were spot on too, as was my mocha with a shot of caramel, cream and marshmallows! I'd love to come back to try a different season's offerings! Thank you very much.

Thank kayleighnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Garden_Kitchen, Assistant Manager at The Garden Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review us! We are terribly sorry we had to cancel your visit on Monday due to the unexpected water mains pipe bursting in the village - but I'm glad to hear you could join us yesterday instead. I shall ensure all your comments are passed on to the rest of the team and hopefully we shall see you again soon!
Kind regards,
Deborah O'Reilly - Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,119)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

145 - 149 of 1,119 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2017

My friend and I had a lovely Sunday Lunch. It was beautifully presented and tasted really good. The staff were very friendly and the atmosphere was lovely and cosy. We will definately visit again and I would highly recommend The Garden Restaurant. There was plenty of choice and a nice area to sit out - if you wanted to. The Garden Centre was lovely and a good choice of quality plants,shrubs and gifts.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Catalan58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Garden_Kitchen, Manager at The Garden Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2017

Thanks for taking the time to review us!

And thanks for your kind words... hopefully you will be back again soon to sample some other dishes on our menu.

Kind regards,

Lucy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017

A very comfortable cafe within a lovely plant nursery. Good flat whites and plenty of food choices. All cakes looked wonderful.

Thank pollyoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Garden_Kitchen, Manager at The Garden Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Thanks for taking the time to review us and a lovely one at that!

Hopefully you will join us again soon to sample some of our homemade cakes.

Kind regards,
Lucy
Restaurant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017

We were a group of 20 gardeners and booked in for coffee and scones on the way to Scotland.
Kate and the team were on excellent form, as usual. The scones were so fresh they hadn't finished cooling. Coffee topped up and fantastic plants to buy as well.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sally R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Garden_Kitchen, Assistant Manager at The Garden Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Thank you for your kind review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stop off with us & believe we will be seeing your group again this weekend!
Kind regards,
Deborah O'Reilly - Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017 via mobile

Great food & service. Reserved table which is recommended as it's popular. Beautifully decorated & relaxing. Made our special Lunchtime extra special. Our group eat inside although there's a lovely patio area to enjoy in nice weather. Can't recommend it highly enough ... well worth 5 star rating! Garden centre have lovely plants too.

Thank Pippa243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Garden_Kitchen, Manager at The Garden Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2017

What a lovely review!

Thank you for taking time to review us, I will share your kind words with the team.

Hopefully you will join us again soon.

Kind regards,
Lucy
Restaurant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Garden Kitchen also viewed

Clitheroe, Lancashire
 
Clitheroe, Lancashire
Clitheroe, Lancashire
 

Been to The Garden Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing