We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enormously Overpriced for what was offered”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #20 of 27 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Reviewed 14 August 2017

We stayed here for 3 nights with some other families who had kids participating in a local baseball tournament. We knew the location was great, but the rooms were $380 per night. Having done this tournament before, we knew what location we wanted and the reviews on this place weren't great, but we rolled the dice. Positives: location is awesome, service was good, nice pool, nice restaurant with buffet breakfast and that food was very good. Negatives: dirty bathroom, broken light fixture, room safe that jammed when opening, balcony door that locked us out on our balcony, old rugs, uncomfortable, small beds, small rooms. We had a nice weekend anyway, but I won't stay here again until they start taking the enormous amount of money they charge per night and invest that in upgrading their hotel. Also, it rained one morning and when it cleared up later in the day, they wouldn't lend out beach chairs They said that they sent the staff home. And, we had to reactivate our room keys multiple times throughout our stay because they stopped working. No laundry facilities either. I don't know where the overpriced room money is going, but I'm sure it's not going to the poor staff members who really tried their best to deal with unhappy customers, nor is it going into keeping the hotel nice and worth the fees they charge.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor facing the boardwalk and it was actually pretty quiet, I was worried abou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (627)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 35 of 627 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2017

We stayed aug 10-13, 2017. One adult 3 kids. Room 206 was great. There was enough room for everyone two queen beds and a pull out couch. Room was clean had two bathrooms which was perfect considering we had 3 kids ages 13-15 there. Shower pressure was good, which is a rare find these days and the water was hot. We had a small (working) refrigerator and a microwave as well as small coffee pot. Side view of the ocean, boardwalk and beach. Staff was nice and helpful. Hotel handled all the kids well. It was not noisey or crowded (mind you it was a baseball tournament weekend). Can't beat the location. No need to drive, everything is right next to the hotel: beach, food, arcade, bars, and shops. Hotel offers free beach chairs and umbrella rentals. I do wish there was a laundry room. We enjoyed our stay. Thank you.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StarlettCast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017 via mobile

We came expecting a nice room with a king bed. We have a small king suite with one small window with chicken wire in the glass. When i asked if i could have a window that opens i was told that none of the king bed rooms windows open. Really at a beach front hotel? The room also smells of bug disinfectant, is dark and grim. I was directed by the website to make the reservation online and that information was not given. I made the reservation in January as we were coming for a wedding. Other quests reservations include breakfast, but not ours. Because, we were told, that was a promotion for reservations made in June and July. We were also charged the top rate.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank oceanlover57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017 via mobile

I am currently here for a week with my family and am very disappointed. The location is of course superb and the pool on the boardwalk is a nice touch, but our room is dark and smelly and musty and there is ZERO ventilation...no window to open to dry our wet towels and clothes and bathing suits and when I asked the front desk for help, they just shrugged their shoulders. Service has been very poor. We are paying about $375/night and I feel completely gypped. Our "suite" has a separate little area with a pullout bed that is probably 30 years old....extremely uncomfortable. Never again.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
8  Thank Cheska L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017

So this is an older hotel that is in need of some TLC but don't let that discourage you. It's right on the boardwalk and close to so many restaurants and shops. It's oceanfront people. I would rather stay in a 4 star hotel right on the ocean than a 5 star hotel with no beach views. But that's just me. Halls are narrow but location is everything. I would stay here again next time we come to Rehoboth!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank CoffeeMate32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkM1010, General Manager at Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2017

Love your sentiment!!!! We are older, but of much value. We are mature, but full of grace. We are in an unbelievable location and so thrilled to be a part of it!!!!

Thank you for being a guest and for staying with us. As you so brilliantly captured, we are a GEM that has a great location and is located in the heart of the beach community.

Each year we add something new, so when you return next year, we think you will definitely appreciate the new improvements. Having said that, its IMPOSSIBLE to be in a better spot in Rehoboth Beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rehoboth Beach hotels
0.1 km away
Boardwalk Plaza Hotel
Boardwalk Plaza Hotel
#5 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
910 reviews
0.6 km away
The Breakers Hotel & Suites
The Breakers Hotel & Suites
#18 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
255 reviews
4.6 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Rehoboth Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Brighton Suites Hotel
Brighton Suites Hotel
#13 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
282 reviews
5.4 km away
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
#8 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
693 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Rehoboth
Hotel Rehoboth
#7 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 101 N Boardwalk, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971-2103
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range: ₹ 5,293 - ₹ 20,472 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront and on the boardwalk, the Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center is centrally located within walking distance of a wide variety of restaurants, clubs, galleries, live theatre productions, arcade games and (of course) the beach! Our seasonal restaurant, outdoor oceanfront beach bar, coffee shop and outdoor pool are added bonuses! With over 10,000 square feet of meeting and banquet space too, the Atlantic Sands is host to weddings, conferences, meetings and banquets of all kinds. Our oceanfront rooftop patio can be reserved for cocktail events, wedding ceremonies and more. Complimentary Wi-Fi and parking for overnight guests, comfortable rooms, the friendliest and most capable staff in town, and a location that can't be beat has made the Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center many people's first choice for decades! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Sands Hotel And Conference Center
Atlantic Sands Rehoboth Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing