We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Imaginative and delicious”
Review of Shorebreak Lodge

Shorebreak Lodge
Ranked #13 of 289 Restaurants in Rehoboth Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 10 - US$ 30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Atlantic Ocean
Description: Open Year round, Just 133 steps to the Atlantic ocean. Beach side restaurant serving locally sourced seafood, produce, and meats. Coastal gastropub cuisine, extensive wine, list, handcrafted cocktails, Tap and craft beers. Happy Hour 4pm -6pm. with John Flynn on Piano Wed. We start with what we call our kitchens mantra from Julia Child; "You don't have to cook fancy or complicated masterpieces, just good food from fresh ingredients." Our interpretation is to not get in the way of the food, let the ingredients speak for themselves. We mix this altogether with a nice selection of handcrafted cocktails (a must these days), craft brews, and wines, throw it all together in a relaxed beach cottage atmosphere, and try our best to provide you with the friendliest service we know how. Outdoor patio dining, There you have it: Shorebreak Lodge.
Reviewed 30 June 2017 via mobile

I had the shrimp and grits. Very creamy grits and we'll seasoned tomato-based sauce. My wife had the octopus salad seasoned with harisa and garbanzos. Very crisp flavor and just the right amount of heat. The restaurant offers appetizer sized portions and the prices are reasonable $6 -$12 for a good sized appetizer.

Great service too. Thanks so much. We'll put this on our A list for the yearly visit.

Thank Jonsimon55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (259)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 41 of 259 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2017

We were here for dinner June 2016. It was good, but not memorable. Came 6/22/17 for happy hour - WOW. We sat at the bar with Dennis as our bartender. I ordered the happy hour clams appetizer & the Brie n Nan. Both were delicious! Very good happy hour red wine. The highlight, however, was our bartender, Dennis. He was informative, fun, and an altogether great guy. Shaun (sp) the manager was there & was so gracious. We will certainly return next year, same time & hope Dennis & Shaun are still there.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank gracecat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2017

Recently dined here with friends for restaurant week. What a bargain for 3 courses at $35! I started with the mussels in a delicious broth. Perfectly prepared and very good. Had the grilled octopus for the main course which was also excellently prepared and very good. Finished with the donut bread pudding. Way too good. I just love this place and the new owner is promising exciting new things to come. Put this one on your list as it is not to be missed.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DancingQueen012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shorebreak L, Manager at Shorebreak Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2017

Thank you for coming in for restaurant week as it supports Meals on Wheels. charity. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your meal and appreciate the feedback! Hope you will dine with us again and enjoy our ever changing menu as it changes with the most freshest seafood and veggies available throughout the seasons. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 3 June 2017 via mobile

Blackened Scallops are best in De. Short ribs & risotto melt in your mouth. Grilled Octopus fantastic. Great shrimp with grits & red sauce.

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shorebreak L, Manager at Shorebreak Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2017

We are so thrilled you loved our Surf and Turf dish. It is one of the most popular items on our menu and so happy you had a chance to try it! We look forward to serving you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2017

We tried the Shorebreak Lodge four years ago and had a very disappointing experience. After a long timeout, we decided to give it another chance and went for dinner last night. Happily, our experience was much improved.

The Shorebreak has an interesting menu, and there were multiple things we each wanted to try. We wanted something small to start, so we ordered the olives and almonds appetizer. Great choice; light, but with good flavor. I ordered the lamb and chorizo meatloaf. It was excellent. I could not have been more pleased. We also enjoyed the chocolate pecan pie for dessert.

There are still a few things for the management to work on. Overall, the service was excellent. But, at the end of the meal, we have a number of people come to the table. We were asked if we'd like another glass of wine twice in rapid succession. And, even thought we declined, a different server arrived with a fresh glass for my partner several minutes later. Not a big deal, but it under cut the server that had been with us throughout the meal. The other thing is that the dining room is still very loud. When we sat down, we literally had to shout across the table at one another and noticed that everyone else was doing the same thing. They really, really need to add some soft surfaces to soak up the sound.

Overall, the timeout is over. We're planning to go back soon.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shorebreak Lodge also viewed

 
Rehoboth Beach, DE
 

Been to Shorebreak Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing