We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Courtyard Wilmington Newark/Christiana Mall
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Quality Inn(Newark)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (250)
Filter reviews
250 results
Traveller rating
83
112
35
13
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
83
112
35
13
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschristiana mallfront deskmarriott propertiesbusiness tripnext morningroom was cleana wonderful staythis past weekendnew castlegreat customer servicebusiness travelerparking lotupon checkbistroroselobbyproperty
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
227 - 232 of 250 reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2011

My family and I stayed at this Courtyward as part of a weekend getaway to the Brandywine area and Longwood Gardens. The hotel is located on a commercial strip of stores and is specifically located next to a highway in one area that has a Fairfield Inn, a Toys R Us and Borders. It is a couple of minutes away from the Christiana Mall, but still about 25 minutes to the main attractions in the Brandywine area (vineyards, Longwood Gardens, etc.)

The hotel was recently renovated throughout including the lobby and all rooms. As such, it looked like a new hotel throughout. The staff was very friendly and helpful througout our stay and responded nicely to any questions that we had.

The rooms were new as well, but still too small. Between the bed, the desk and a small table, there was very little room to walk around. The bathroom was also a little small with a sink outside the toilet/bath room. There was a balcony to the room, but with a view of the highway.

Internet was free in the room, and the room had good versions of the regular amenities such as a small fridge and a decent sized flat screen TV.

We would have liked to have taken advantage of the pool area which looked nice but didn't have enough time.

It's a nice hotel - and it is what it is - a good hotel to stay in as a stop through, or a family function.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petertom25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jason_abbey, General Manager at Courtyard Wilmington Newark/Christiana Mall, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2011

Thank you for staying with us and for your review. I understand you were staying with small children. I'm sorry the room didn't meet your needs. In additon to our normal rooms, we also offer suites with an additonal living room attached to the bedroom. Perhaps this extra space would have been a better fit for your family. I hope you consider this option the next time you are in the area and that you are able to find the time for you and your family to enjoy our heated indoor pool.

Sincerely,
Jason Abbey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2011

I rolled up here at 9.15 pm on a Saturday night , without a reservation, and they had a room with king size bed for $89 AAA rate. Check in was quick and friendly and the room was better than average, with pleasing looking bed linens, a sofa, fridge, coffee maker and a TV with a remote that worked (too often the buttons are so well used that they barely respond to vigorous pressing).

Only two mild gripes:- the room I was given was quite a walk away, and I don't think the hotel was full - I guess they have to rotate the use of the rooms. Secondly, many chain motels offer a free breakfast, and Courtyard don't, and what they do offer isn't noticeably cheap or that interesting. On the plus side, it meant I skipped breakfast altogether!

Great location for the mall and I-95, and free internet.

Room Tip: Ask for one that is not too far from reception.
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2011

The hotel is located in a nice commercial area. It is nice and service is good. We stayed for 10 days when we moved to the city. Good service.

Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
Thank elocuent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jason_abbey, General Manager at Courtyard Wilmington Newark/Christiana Mall, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2011

Thank you for your response. We appreciate you staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2011

UPSIDE - The staff member checking us in was very pleasant, the rooms and pool area are clean, the fruit served at breakfast was quite good, and there was hot water for showers unlike the last hotel our team stayed at!
DOWNSIDE - The rooms are a bit small. We had a king and a twin sized pullout, and i asked for bedding for the pullout, and they brought a single flat sheet! We did have a small balcony, but most of our team members had rooms with small windows only. REQUEST A BALCONY!
The hotel lobby, halls, and rooms were VERY hot. A continental breakfast was set up in the part of the lobby not under construction, and even the staff members were saying how uncomfortably warm it was.
There was not an open staircase on our side of the hotel! The only stairs were blocked by tape as they were under construction. I'd imagine if that isn't a direct violation of a firecode, it should be. In an emergency, i'm sure they could have been used, but the renovation being done required the use of powerfully scented glue, which made being in the hall almost intolerable.
The "business center" is one PC set up in the lobby, and it didn't seem to be working most of the time.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hockeytraveler43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jason_abbey, General Manager at Courtyard Wilmington Newark/Christiana Mall, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2011

Thank you for your comments and for bearing with us as we completed our renovation. The renovation was completed April 11. It was a complete hotel renovation, with rooms getting new carpet, wall covering, drapes, furniture, HD TV's, mattresses and box springs and linen. The hallways, stairs and elevators recieved new carpet and wallcoverings and additional lighting. In the lobby, we have expanded our business center to having 3 PC's, 2 printers and wi-fi. We have added dinner service and a lounge and many tech savvy amenities throughout the lobby such as outlets by all furniture and HD TV's in the booths in the restaurant.

I know it can be frustrating when a product doesn't meet your expectations. I'm sorry that the stairs, hall and lobby were under construction during your stay, I hope you give us another chance to impress you with our friendly service and great new product.

Best Regards,
Jason

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2010

Really, this is a decent hotel, reasonably priced, quiet and clean if somewhat tired. High point is the pleasant and accomodating staff - we inadvertently left some coats which they held in the manager's office for us to pick up on our way back home. There are several decent chain restaurants close by. We used to stay at the Hilton just around the corner but around the holidays the Hilton can get crazy. This Courtyard is just as convenient to I-95, less expensive, and definitely quieter during the holidays. Give it a look.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ikespop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jason_abbey, General Manager at Courtyard Wilmington Newark/Christiana Mall, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2011

Thank you for your review. We've completed a hotel renovation of our rooms and lobby as of April 11th, 2011. We hope to see you the next time you are in the area. You may be happy to hear that we have also added dinner service and Starbucks to our lobby restaurant - the Bistro.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews