We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In and out”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Wilmington Newark/Christiana Mall
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Newark
Certificate of Excellence
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
147 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“In and out”
Reviewed 18 June 2011

I wasn't here long enough to enjoy all of the amenities but it's a nice place with a lot to offer.. Nice rooms nice beds. Plenty of parking.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BSmith0731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    103
    29
    11
    6
See reviews for
67
26
18
98
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bayside, New York
Level Contributor
145 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2011

My family and I stayed at this Courtyward as part of a weekend getaway to the Brandywine area and Longwood Gardens. The hotel is located on a commercial strip of stores and is specifically located next to a highway in one area that has a Fairfield Inn, a Toys R Us and Borders. It is a couple of minutes away from the Christiana Mall, but still about 25 minutes to the main attractions in the Brandywine area (vineyards, Longwood Gardens, etc.)

The hotel was recently renovated throughout including the lobby and all rooms. As such, it looked like a new hotel throughout. The staff was very friendly and helpful througout our stay and responded nicely to any questions that we had.

The rooms were new as well, but still too small. Between the bed, the desk and a small table, there was very little room to walk around. The bathroom was also a little small with a sink outside the toilet/bath room. There was a balcony to the room, but with a view of the highway.

Internet was free in the room, and the room had good versions of the regular amenities such as a small fridge and a decent sized flat screen TV.

We would have liked to have taken advantage of the pool area which looked nice but didn't have enough time.

It's a nice hotel - and it is what it is - a good hotel to stay in as a stop through, or a family function.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petertom25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jason_abbey, General Manager at Courtyard Wilmington Newark/Christiana Mall, responded to this review, 9 May 2011
Thank you for staying with us and for your review. I understand you were staying with small children. I'm sorry the room didn't meet your needs. In additon to our normal rooms, we also offer suites with an additonal living room attached to the bedroom. Perhaps this extra space would have been a better fit for your family. I hope you consider this option the next time you are in the area and that you are able to find the time for you and your family to enjoy our heated indoor pool.

Sincerely,
Jason Abbey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
170 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2011

I rolled up here at 9.15 pm on a Saturday night , without a reservation, and they had a room with king size bed for $89 AAA rate. Check in was quick and friendly and the room was better than average, with pleasing looking bed linens, a sofa, fridge, coffee maker and a TV with a remote that worked (too often the buttons are so well used that they barely respond to vigorous pressing).

Only two mild gripes:- the room I was given was quite a walk away, and I don't think the hotel was full - I guess they have to rotate the use of the rooms. Secondly, many chain motels offer a free breakfast, and Courtyard don't, and what they do offer isn't noticeably cheap or that interesting. On the plus side, it meant I skipped breakfast altogether!

Great location for the mall and I-95, and free internet.

Room Tip: Ask for one that is not too far from reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
1 review
Reviewed 12 April 2011

The hotel is located in a nice commercial area. It is nice and service is good. We stayed for 10 days when we moved to the city. Good service.

Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank elocuent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jason_abbey, General Manager at Courtyard Wilmington Newark/Christiana Mall, responded to this review, 20 April 2011
Thank you for your response. We appreciate you staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2011

UPSIDE - The staff member checking us in was very pleasant, the rooms and pool area are clean, the fruit served at breakfast was quite good, and there was hot water for showers unlike the last hotel our team stayed at!
DOWNSIDE - The rooms are a bit small. We had a king and a twin sized pullout, and i asked for bedding for the pullout, and they brought a single flat sheet! We did have a small balcony, but most of our team members had rooms with small windows only. REQUEST A BALCONY!
The hotel lobby, halls, and rooms were VERY hot. A continental breakfast was set up in the part of the lobby not under construction, and even the staff members were saying how uncomfortably warm it was.
There was not an open staircase on our side of the hotel! The only stairs were blocked by tape as they were under construction. I'd imagine if that isn't a direct violation of a firecode, it should be. In an emergency, i'm sure they could have been used, but the renovation being done required the use of powerfully scented glue, which made being in the hall almost intolerable.
The "business center" is one PC set up in the lobby, and it didn't seem to be working most of the time.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hockeytraveler43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jason_abbey, General Manager at Courtyard Wilmington Newark/Christiana Mall, responded to this review, 20 April 2011
Thank you for your comments and for bearing with us as we completed our renovation. The renovation was completed April 11. It was a complete hotel renovation, with rooms getting new carpet, wall covering, drapes, furniture, HD TV's, mattresses and box springs and linen. The hallways, stairs and elevators recieved new carpet and wallcoverings and additional lighting. In the lobby, we have expanded our business center to having 3 PC's, 2 printers and wi-fi. We have added dinner service and a lounge and many tech savvy amenities throughout the lobby such as outlets by all furniture and HD TV's in the booths in the restaurant.

I know it can be frustrating when a product doesn't meet your expectations. I'm sorry that the stairs, hall and lobby were under construction during your stay, I hope you give us another chance to impress you with our friendly service and great new product.

Best Regards,
Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newark hotels
0.4 km away
Hilton Wilmington / Christiana
0.5 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington Christiana
2.8 km away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#4 of 24 in Newark
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark
2.9 km away
Four Points by Sheraton Newark
9.1 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newark/Wilmington South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Wilmington Newark/Christiana Mall? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Wilmington Newark/Christiana Mall

Property: Courtyard Wilmington Newark/Christiana Mall
Address: 48 Geoffrey Dr, Newark, DE 19713-3603
Region: United States > Delaware > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Newark
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,143 - ₹ 14,541
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Wilmington Newark/Christiana Mall 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Courtyard Wilmington Newark Hotel near Christiana Mall provides greater flexibility and choices for our guests. Our Newark, Delaware hotel lobby features inviting, flexible spaces to work or relax, free Wi-Fi throughout and easy access to the latest news, weather and airport conditions via our GoBoard. The highlight of our new Newark, Delaware hotel lobby experience is The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect., providing guests with healthy food and beverage offerings in the morning and evening dinner service with cocktails. Located just off I-95, our Newark hotel near Delaware Park is just minutes to shopping, dining and entertainment attractions at the Christiana Mall, revitalized Main Street in downtown Newark and plenty of family activities near Wilmington. Each of our spacious hotel rooms feature Marriott bedding, large workspaces and free wireless high-speed Internet access. Your stay at the Courtyard Wilmington Newark, Delaware Hotel is sure to be more comfortable and productive than ever before! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Wilmington Newark/Christiana Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Wilmington Newark/Christiana Mall Hotel Newark
Courtyard Newark
Newark Courtyard
Newark Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing