We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Pass this place by” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark
Ranked #15 of 24 Hotels in Newark
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
278 reviews
160 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Pass this place by”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2011

I consider myself an honest reviewer and usually give reviews to the places that I like. However, this place was such a disappointment that I felt the need to actually write a "poor" review. We stayed here as it was a last minute reservation and the hotel that we usually stay in was booked solid. We have stayed at many Country Inns and have found them to usually be good to very good. The room was defintely not as clean as it should have been, the toilet was leaking. No one seemed to be able to fix it and we ended up turning off the water supply so we could sleep at night. The "business" center had a broken printer and it was (no exaggeration) 88 degrees in the small little room. I tried leaving the door open and it just made the heat come on. Yes, this was in June. We felt like no one was in charge. Everything would be taken care of "tomorrow" along with the non-existent shuttle to the track/casino. They don't have a pool. We will not be back there, ever, We didn't even stay for breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peanutsNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michelerenee, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark, responded to this review, 29 August 2011
We appreciate you taking the time to share your comments.

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Country Inns & Suites we apologize for the concerns you have about your experience at this hotel. We appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    62
    43
    33
    26
See reviews for
91
47
20
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
120 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2011

Not awful, just way below average. Lots of finger marks on the walls, dirty carpets, etc. Go to next exit, there is a better looking Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leatherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michelerenee, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark, responded to this review, 26 July 2011
The Staff at the Country Inn & Suites Newark,De read each review posted on Trip Advisor. We appreciate both the positive and the constructive feedback. We use our guest's feedback to improve and fine-tune our operations and address issues with our staff.

Thank you again for your honest and constructive feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2011

We had a group of six friends overnight at this hotel. Upon arrival, our rooms were properly held, ready for occupancy and there were nice cookies at the desk. Easy check in and checkout process.

The rooms themselves are fairly standard looking, as one would expect in a moderate priced chain hotel. The beds were very comfortable, but the pillows were silly small. The TV and remote both worked well, as did the AC. The bathroom was fine, and the usual array of shampoos, conditioner and soaps were provided. The rooms that we stayed in were all very clean.

The one issue that we had was that our friends in the adjoining room had a door that did not lock without being bolted. That meant that they had to bolt their door from the inside and enter through our room. A complaint to the desk was met with something on the order of "Meh, that's room 307 again." Hardly a modicum of concern.

Breakfast was the usual hotel Sysco stuff. Fakey bagels, mini muffins, cereal and make your own waffles. One thing that was good was that there was yogurt with a side of fresh berries. One of my friends put the berries in the waffle mix and had some great berry filled waffles.

Would I stay here again? I guess so, as the price was right, the rooms were clean and comfortable and the breakfast was OK. But, the front desk could be more concerned about maintenance and safety issues. Also, it would have been nice to have a pool, which this hotel does not have.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrooklynMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michelerenee, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark, responded to this review, 28 June 2011
On behalf of the Country Inn & Suites, please accept my apology for the poor service that was given by certain individuals on our staff.

We strive to ensure our guest's experience the best visits possible during their travels and we fell short of our goal this time. We hope you will see the improvement and enjoy your time with us in your next visit. Please feel free to contact me if you have any further questions or comments concerning your stay.

Best Regards,

Michele Yost
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pottstown, PA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2011

The front desk person was very personable and helpful. The room was clean and everything worked well. We stayed only one night but it was not a good night's sleep. I read previous reviews of how thin the walls were and thought, "How bad could it be?". It was bad! The room next to us had several females with loud voices. They were not trying to be obnoxious, they just had loud, booming voices. We could hear them as we watched TV, but thought they would quiet down after 11:00 PM. They did not. Around 12:30 AM I knocked on the wall, hoping they would realize they were being too loud. They knocked back and did not quiet down. They then tried to open the connecting door between the two rooms. We had to be up at 6:30AM the next morning which made it even worse. I had to use tissues and create ear plugs in order to get to sleep.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tbajk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2011

A lot is still to be desired but the hotel is one of the few in America the is trying to feed us healthier, which in turn will be cheaper for them. It is a win win situation:) Sysco foods the provider to hotels, school, nursing homes around the world is killing us with sugar and additives. I went out and got 2 king size pillows of my own which helped give be a much better sleep. The bed and pillows need help:( The clerks were all nice. Before staying again I would discuss healthier food choices.

Room Tip: Bring your own pillows, ask for an upstairs room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank supermar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michelerenee, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark, responded to this review, 28 June 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments and concerns.

At this time we are looking into improving our breakfast menu by adding more healthy options for our guests. If you have any suggestions as to what you would like to see on our breakfast bar, please feel free to contact me and share your ideas with me.

Sincerely,

Michele Yost
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newark hotels
0.1 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington Christiana
2.7 km away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#4 of 24 in Newark
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
2.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hilton Wilmington / Christiana
3.2 km away
Four Points by Sheraton Newark
0.6 km away
Courtyard Wilmington Newark/Christiana Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark
Address: 1024 Old Churchmans Rd, Newark, DE 19713
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Delaware > Newark
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 24 Hotels in Newark
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,144 - ₹ 8,328
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Newark
Newark Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing