We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine. What you'd expect.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Newark
Certificate of Excellence
Bloomington, Illinois
Level Contributor
106 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Fine. What you'd expect.”
Reviewed 12 April 2012

They delivered what I would expect for a fair price. The room was clean and nice. Bedding and all was comfortable and pleasant. Breakfast buffet was clean and good with a nice presentation in a nice area. Staff was professional and nice. No complaints at all.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jordan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiesales, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
Jordan C:

On behalf of our entire team, Thank You for choosing our hotel as your home away from home. We are glad to have met your expectations and we look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    77
    14
    1
    6
See reviews for
87
54
13
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
78 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

very clean, comfortable, good customer service at front check in.

Room Tip: I always ask for no smoking/no pets/no ice machine nearby/no electrical room nearby/and not a handic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M200789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiesales, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
Dear M200789:

Thank you for choosing and enjoying our hotel. We look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
82 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

This quietly unassuming hotel is quite a good value compared to the other properties I considered in Newark. Clean, nicely decorated, & comfortable, I would definitely stay here again. It's very convenient to I-95; and while not as immediately adjacent to the University as some other hotels, it's still only about a 10-minute drive straight down 273.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DCEllenH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiesales, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
DCEllenH:

Thank you for the recent review on our hotel. We certainly are glad you choose to stay with us while in the Newark area. We look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 March 2012

What an ideal place to stay! Very convenient to I-95 affording easy access to the Univ of DE campus, Wilmington, Philadelphia. From Check-In to Check-out the staff is friendly, helpful and pleasant. In addition, this must be the cleanest and most comfortable hotel I've stayed in. The rooms, lobby and breakfast area are outstanding. This hotel provides a great place to meet with business clients in very pleasant surroundings.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiesales, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
Dear Jim F:

Thank you for the kind words regarding our hotel. We are glad you were able to enjoy our friendly staff and our convenient location. We look forward to you next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

This Holiday Inn Express is incredibly clean and well maintained. It's convenient to so much in the region, being right by I-95; with easy access to Wilmington, Philly, etc. The hotel lobby, lounge, halls, and elevators are all spotless and are very appealing and functional. The free breakfast is more than adequate, with hot and cold foods as choices. The room was large (King, Non-smoking) and very comfortable, well lit, and the cleanest I've seen in even the highest level of hotels. There's a good reason this is the number one hotel in the area. Enjoy your travels!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hatterasman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiesales, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Dear hatterasman:

Thank you for the kind words about our hotel. We strive for excellence in cleanliness and all aspects of our service. It is our goal to exceed all expectations. Thank you for staying and enjoying. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newark hotels
0.1 km away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#4 of 24 in Newark
262 reviews
2.6 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington Christiana
2.4 km away
Hilton Wilmington / Christiana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newark/Wilmington South
0.8 km away
Staybridge Suites--Wilmington/Newark
6.6 km away
Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark
Address: 1201 Christiana Rd, Newark, DE 19713-3503
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Delaware > Newark
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Newark
#6 Romantic Hotel in Newark
#6 Business Hotel in Newark
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,569 - ₹ 11,516
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark 2.5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington - Newark is located directly off I-95 and State Highway 273. Our Wilmington - Newark hotel is conveniently accessible and is ideal for the corporate or leisure traveler. Our Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites features 900 square feet of flexible meeting space, as well as free high-speed Internet access in all public areas and guest rooms. Other amenities include a 24-hour business center, buffet breakfast, indoor swimming pool and Jacuzzi, fitness center and our very own Suite Shoppe. Whether travelling for business or pleasure, our hotel is centrally located to Astra Zeneca, Diamler - Chrysler, DuPont, Bank of America, Christiana Hospital and General Motors. We are minutes from the Christiana Mall and Delaware Park Casino & Racetrack as well as the University of Delaware and downtown Wilmington and Newark. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington - Newark strives to make every guest feel welcome, comfortable and at home. We are certain you will want to return again and again. When visiting the Wilmington - Newark area, select our Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites as your preferred choice hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, IHG, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Wilmington-Newark

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing