We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Sleep Inn & Suites Rehoboth Beach(Lewes)(Great Value!)
US$ 196
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$ 172
US$ 167
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Blue(Lewes)
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 279
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Driftwood Motel(Lewes)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 25/07
US$ 150
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 347
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anchorage Motel(Rehoboth Beach)
Free cancellation until 25/07
US$ 139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach(Rehoboth Beach)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 289
US$ 252
Hampton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairfield Inn & Suites Rehoboth Beach(Rehoboth Beach)(Great Value!)
US$ 203
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach(Rehoboth Beach)(Great Value!)
US$ 231
US$ 226
ComfortInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$ 161
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (355)
Filter reviews
356 results
Traveller rating
298
40
10
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
298
40
10
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswine and beerbeach chairsbottled waterdog lolalargo roomkey westsnacks and drinkskey limebright colorslaid backporch swingeclectic decorshort walkquiet streetwelcoming placedowntown lewesb and b
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 356 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2018

My family spends a week each summer at the Delaware Shore and we love it but I wanted to visit just with my husband during a quieter time to unplug. We chose to stay at The Blue Water House during Spring Break because we were intrigued by the eclectic photos posted on their website. This B & B is a hidden gem, chock full of whimsical art. Owner Rick felt like an old friend and his warm hospitality and knowledge of the area set the stage for a perfect overnight. We walked on the beach, had an amazing dinner and explored areas of Lewes that were never on our radar. I'm a diehard B & B fan and The Blue Water House has set the bar to a new high!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank thomgiam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2018

Our stay started October 15th and is ongoing as I write this review. The Blue Water House is the best B & B my wife and I have ever stayed at in the USA. Rick, our host, will bend over backwards to insure your stay is comfortable and the breakfast offers a very large variety of food. The rooms are clean and comfortable. Each room offers a different view of the area and at the nearest point the beach is only a short walk. Indeed this is causal living at its finest and we highly recommend you give Rick a call for your next stay at Lewes Beach.

Room Tip: Every room has a different decor, the Hemmingway room is more of a suite
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank rbondeson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick3225, Owner at The Blue Water House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2018

thank you bob and judy...two down to earth fantastic and kind people...will never forget their stay and will miss them until our paths hopefully cross again....rick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2017

Super cool and chill place to stay with a short walk to the amazing beach! Rick is a great guy that will make sure you are comfortable and have what you need. I was there with my daughter-in-law and she had her dog with us... this is a very pet friendly place as well.

Room Tip: Each room is decorated differently and ALL are great!
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jamassa53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2017 via mobile

We have been to the Blue Water House several times and always look forward to our stay. It’s comfortable, funky, warm and cozy. Owner, Rick and his dog Lola go out of there way to make you feel like you are in an old friend’s home. Four couples stayed this time and we each had one of the unique corner rooms. We met upstairs in the cupola style game room, drank adult beverages, (Rick generously offers wine and beer), laughed, played games and had a ball. Rick made us breakfast both days in the fun, casual kitchen. Eggs with cheese, bacon, sausage, waffles, pancakes, French toast, granola with fruit and yogurt? Anything you like, it’s available. Need a bike, chairs for the beach, umbrella, wellies. Rick has it all for you. If you like a competent laid back place with no pretensions, cute bedrooms ,unusual art work and a cool Island vibe, then the Blue Water House is for you! Thank you again, Rick and Lola

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Karl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick3225, Owner at The Blue Water House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2017

thanks karl...if i said it once i will say it a thousand times more...lewes attracts the best guess an innkeeper could hope for...we are just a backdrop for wonderful good and kind people to make memories....karl his wife and down to earth friends...we wish you a safe healthy and happy holiday season....rick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2017

I usually try to find the good things about a place but the Blue Water House of today was such a great disappointment from the Blue Water House I have stayed in under it's previous owner & I wish I had been warned that nothing has been done to maintain this property and it truly seems to be on a downward trend. My friends and I travel frequently and stay in B&B's and this seems more like a boarding house. Previously it was funky, but well-kept and well-appointed but this Blue Water House was anything but. It has the same furniture but seems to be in disrepair with well-used linens that seem old and worn; miss matched bedding, towels that were also mis-matched & worn with frayed edges and strings unraveling; my room was very dimly lit and my friends needed light bulbs. I have stayed there twice before and came back with 3 friends expecting the same level of cleanliness and order but was thoroughly disappointed. The dining room is totally stacked with food not in any order; a table full of cereal boxes (opened and unopened) tea in plastic bin and everything sitting out. People wandered in and out of the kitchen open to the dining room - cooking which made the 4 of us feel as though we were intruding in someones house. The price of $150 was so out of line for what was offered that I would have rather been in a chain motel. Lewes is a wonderful town and the location of the BWH is great but it is not a place I felt comfortable in or felt it warranted anything more than to have 2 star rating. Sad but I have no idea how it is possible that this property has been given a high rating & would think that Trip Advisor and other rating agencies would go and take a look at it now because their rating is totally very misleading. I really hate to give a bad review but I believe people should know what they are going to experience so they can make an informed decision if this is the level of value they are comfortable with. I will continue to visit Lewes but never again stay at this property and will freely express my opinion about it's value.

Room Tip: rooms are not well furnished or appointed. They are shabby with old and well-used articles
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews