We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great overnight getaway in Lewes!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Blue

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Blue
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Lewes
Certificate of Excellence
Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great overnight getaway in Lewes!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2011

My husband and I decided to head over to DE for his birthday for an overnight visit. I read about Hotel Blue on Tripadvisor and decided to give it a try. I'm so glad I did! This is a great place to stay in Lewes! Our room was HUGE and so nice! There is a fireplace in every room and we definitely used ours since we were there in December. So cozy! Our room was very clean and decorated nicely. There were 2 TVs in the room...yes there is one in the bedroom, it just looks like a mirror! Very cool! The bathroom was very large and had a separate bath tub and shower. The sinks are really cool...glass with blue lights shining through them! The location is good too. Only a short walk to the beach, which would be great for staying there in the summer, and only a few blocks away from the downtown area of Lewes. My husband and I headed over to Rehobeth Beach to eat, but it looked like there were lots of restaurants and shops in Lewes. All in all, a great trip and a great place to stay!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gadawggal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

463 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    321
    99
    25
    8
    10
See reviews for
23
355
20
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2011

Hotel is right on the harbor, a short walk over the bridge to down town. The staff was cheerful, helpful and very professional. Loved the room! A turret room with balcony and fireplace, sitting area, comfortable bed, unique decor (with a fascinating blue light scheme in the vanity area.) I would definitely stay here again. Thanks , hotel staff, for your hospitality!

Room Tip: Get the turret rooms, they're worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank auntbuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2011

My wife and I decided on a getaway to celebrate our anniversary. We chose Lewes because of its proximity to the Lewes-Cape May Ferry and the Delaware beaches. After reading the hotel reviews we picked Hotel Blue and we are glad we did. Hotel Blue is a small adults-only boutique hotel located a short drive from the ferry. It is about seven years old and all its furnishings are in good shape. My suite (201) was huge. The owner said it was over 700 square feet. My suite had a separate bedroom with closing doors. The main living area had a fireplace with a dining table, sofa, and an easy chair. Both bedroom and living area had televisions. In the hallway there was a sink, microwave, and a fairly large under the counter fridge. There was small deck with two chairs and a table overlooking wetlands. The bathroom was large. It contained dual sinks and a separate toilet room. There is a free espresso machine and fruit in the lobby. Parking is plentiful. The owners are very helpful and nice. In fact, when I casually mentioned that we were celebrating our anniversary, we came home one night to find a full bottle of high quality champagne and two flute glasses waiting for us in our suite. The price for our four night stay was tough to beat. Not only are off-season rates in effect but if you stay Monday through Wednesday you can stay Thursday for free. The suites in the back of the hotel are larger and cheaper than in the front. The suites in the front of the hotel overlook a boat canal but there is a road between the hotel and canal.
We enjoyed riding the Lewes-Cape May Ferry. It is actually very comfortable. The ride takes about 90 minutes each way, However you need a car. The ferry puts in about 6 miles from downtown Cape May and there is no shuttle service in the off-season.
Lewes is quaint and has numerous restaurants, but if you ever want to just want to carry tasty inexpensive food back to your room, it is hard to beat Mr P's Pizza or Kick n' Chicken.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank champ123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelOwnerLewes, General Manager at Hotel Blue, responded to this review, 19 November 2011
Wow. Another wonderful stay in Lewes, De. We are very grateful to have been a part of that experience. Thank you for sharing a great trip with all of us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annapolis
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2011

When we booked our stay we were advised we could check in between 2pm and 3pm, that is when someone will be at the front desk which is not manned all the time. We arrived at 2:30pm to check in and I noticed a very tacky sign displayed prominently in the lobby that you would expect to see in Ocean City hotel during High School Senior week, it basically said that if your room was damaged you would be charged and they recently had to charge someone $500 for repairs. We were told the room wasn’t ready, so we explored the beautiful quaint town of Lewes for the next forty minutes. When we returned after 3pm we were given the key to the room and told it was ready so we took our bags up to the room to find the maids still cleaning the room and not ready for us. We went down to the lobby to wait, twenty minutes later our room was ready and the gentleman at the front desk did say he was sorry he didn’t know it wasn’t ready, very unprofessional, why didn’t he know? The room was not totally cleaned there were pieces of pretzel on top of the microwave and pieces of trash in the bathroom and underneath the bed but at this point we wanted no more disturbances after our long ride to Lewes. The bed was very comfortable but the view from the bed was looking at the balcony of the room next to ours and the parking lot, not very private or appealing, it was necessary to close the curtains if you wanted privacy from the balcony next door. The room reminded me that someone, possible the owners, decided to save money they would do a lot of the work themselves. The bathroom vanity looked like a homemade bookshelf, with two glass sinks that had the stops disabled so you couldn’t fill the bowl with water to shave to save water which is ironic considering the sign in the bathroom asking you to conserve water and reuse towels. The bowls also had the wrong drains which would not sit flush on the bottom therefore would not drain correctly and left water in the bowl. Also in the bathroom was a reusable plastic container with writing on it asking you to use what looked like a wet nap to clean your makeup off before using the beds because it is too hard to clean makeup off of sheets, again very tacky and not sanitary as they were not individually wrapped. The tub/shower enclosure had a two side by side windows from the top shelve of the tub to the top of the wall with cheap plastic blinds with rusted metal brackets. As a result of this very poor design the window would get totally wet every shower which rotted the wood on the sill and created a black substance on the sill which when I brought to the owners attention she said it was not mold or mildew….then what was it. We had coffee in the room but no cups so we went down to the front desk and were told we could use the paper cups in the lobby, again very tacky and cheap for a hotel that charges such high rates. When we checked out I told the owner of the problems with the rotted wood sill and the slow drains in the bathroom with no plugs and I was told, in a very snappy fashion, that they knew the drains were slow as a result of the bowl design not the pipes and they weren’t about to redo the 32 sinks they had in the 16 rooms, and the rotted wood was not mold or mildewed. I would never recommend anyone to stay at this overpriced, unfriendly, unprofessional and definitely not upscale hotel as there are plenty of other nicer places to stay in Lewes.

Room Tip: Don't go here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank k c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelOwnerLewes, General Manager at Hotel Blue, responded to this review, 19 November 2011
We rarely respond to comments positive or negative. Our policy is to respect a guests right to call it as they see it. Tripadvisor is an incredible resource for all of us and we are grateful for it. We cannot discuss this particular stay in any detail. We knew at check in there was going to be issues. We definitely did have an issue with the windowsill that was supposed to be repaired already. We felt bad as we did not check the repairman's work. He normally does a great job. There is no excuse. We missed that repair. Our response was appropriate and professional under unusual circumstances.

As always we strive to keep Hotel blue well maintained, clean and friendly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
138 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2011

I took my wife here for her birthday. I had arranged a weekend tennis clinic at the Dave Marshal tennis center and I read some great reviews here. Although I didn't stay in others, I believe Hotel Blue deserves its #1 ranking. It's a funky cool small hotel that caters to service and comfort. The owner and his wife are often at the front desk and are artists. One can tell by the decorations in the lobby and rooms. Although there is no breakfast, they have 24hr expresso and coffee from the coffee bar quality Jura machine! There is always fresh fruit as well.

We stayed in one of the queen suites. The photos here and on the web site are accurate. The room was comfortable with warm tones and pleasing light up ice bucket and in both double sinks! It was spotless. There was a coffee maker, small kitchenette sink, microwave and fridge. All perfect for bringing a few breakfast or lunch items. The bed was incredibly comfortable with soft sheets and linens. Two plush robes were also included! As it was October we enjoyed these siiting by the fireplace while watching the big screen TV. We had a nice sitting area as well.

The hotel is an easy stroll across the canal the beautiful, victorian shopping main street of Lewes with many nice small stores and restaurants. We enjoyed meals at the Buttery, Irish Eyes, and Agave Mexican Restaurant (which I'll also review here)! The Hotel Blue was a bit pricier than the standard motel/hotel it's amenities, personal touches and upscale atmosphere would make a stay in Lewes special!

Room Tip: The queen suite had more room with a nice sitting area!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irondoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lewes
0.2 km away
Inn at Canal Square
Inn at Canal Square
#1 of 7 in Lewes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
4.2 km away
Sleep Inn & Suites Rehoboth Beach Area
8.4 km away
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
#1 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 km away
Boardwalk Plaza Hotel
Boardwalk Plaza Hotel
#5 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
8.5 km away
Avenue Inn & Spa
Avenue Inn & Spa
#2 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,834 reviews
4.4 km away
Heritage Inn and Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Blue? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Blue

Property: Hotel Blue
Address: 110 Anglers Rd, Lewes, DE 19958-1105
Region: United States > Delaware > Lewes
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Lewes
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,679 - ₹ 15,499
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Blue 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a private and luxurious atmosphere in the historic first town of Lewes, Delaware. Enjoy a relaxed stay in this modern hotel that is less than a half mile walk from the beach. Escape the heavy traffic of Rehoboth, Dewey, and Bethany beaches at this upscale canal front hotel. The rooftop pool with a beautiful panoramic view of Lewes Beach is characteristic to this boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Blue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing