We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 6:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Save
Review Highlights
Best State Park

The best State Park my wife and I have ever been in. It makes me feel like I am on Cape Cod and we... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
Bonneville82
,
Albany, NY
GREAT Park for Families!

We've been going to Cape Henlopen State Park for over 30 years, and it gets better and better. The... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
khartschuh
,
Lewes, Delaware
Read all 1,218 reviews
  
Reviews (1,218)
Filter reviews
1,218 results
Traveller rating
900
261
43
8
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
900
261
43
8
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nature center fishing pier cape henlopen walking trails fort miles bath house great beach gordon's pond pond trail touch tank herring point entrance fee beach access bike ride sand dunes observation tower concession stand
Filter
Updating list...
118 - 123 of 1,218 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2018

Walked three miles of this trail as it is part of the Delaware Birding Trail and on of my favorite in Rehoboth. Plenty of birds. Nice flat trail that is great for everyone with fantastic views this will take you all the way to Lewes if you go the full 5 miles.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Tetonted1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2018

We went on a cold and windy long March weekend and it was still terrific, There are several quite different hikes to make: historical around Fort Miles and see the gun emplacements (and HUGE cannons including a 16 inch gun used by the USS Missouri in WWII), trails in the woods, walks along the ocean side and a very nice trail past Gordon Pond (3.5 miles each way). I liked the Gordon Pond trail so much, I got up early the next day and ran it. The park is VERY close to Lewes (2 or 3 miles) and is relaxing, interesting and a must visit if you are in Lewes or Rehoboth.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank 44rich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018 via mobile

Cape Henlopen State Park is fabulous! In the off season there are no fees and few amenities, but welcome sights and sounds!
Wildlife and beautiful vistas are yours to enjoy through woodlands, beaches, and historic areas.

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank vista4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018

We chose a dreary, wet winter day to peruse Henlopen State Park and were wonderfully surpeised with the information we took away from there. In spite of the weather, learning about how fortified the U.S was on this Eastern seaboard was exceptional news for history buffs like ourselves. Our 17 year old loved the barracks, the high artillery weapons used to protect our land from ships and from the sea, and the huge bunkers. We would recommend this park for old and young alike especially history lovers. We didn't mind the cool weather as there were hardly any other sleuths at the park. We give this park a 5 stars and don't forget to stop off and see the little museum with fish tanks and reptiles.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank fancynancy501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018

Relaxing, entertaining, exciting, soothing depending on your need and which part of the park you visit. Camping is hot but fun, beach is relaxing but waves are exciting, surf can be rough. History abounds with Fort Miles and the towers, and walks and bike rides are there for the doing. There is a little info center with hands on for kids, and big kids.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank karenkX9255CW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews