We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent meal”

The Greene Turtle Sports Bar & Grille
Ranked #30 of 216 Restaurants in Dover
Cuisines: American
Description: Iconic Maryland bar and restaurant serving famous crab dip, fresh & never frozen 100% beef burgers, fan-favorite wings, a $7.99 lunch menu, and a wide selection of local, craft, and specialty beers. Always a good game on TV, and every seat has a good view. We've been bringing originals together since 1976.
Restaurant details
Description: Iconic Maryland bar and restaurant serving famous crab dip, fresh & never frozen 100% beef burgers, fan-favorite wings, a $7.99 lunch menu, and a wide selection of local, craft, and specialty beers. Always a good game on TV, and every seat has a good view. We've been bringing originals together since 1976.
Reviewed 7 August 2018

Food and drinks were good. Service was a little slow, but we sat outside and were entertained by a couple of planes landing at the Air Force Base.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RumRunner_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2018 via mobile

Super yummy after a long day of traveling! I was so excited to see a Greene turtle! Great raspberry tea and burger!

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Martha F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2018

Stopped in for a large team meal before LAX tournaments started so I can't rate service speed based on a traditional visit. I can say the staff that was pulling orders did amazing at keeping things together and accurate. Kudos there.

As for our meals there wasn't a wow factor you sometimes have when traveling out of town. We had 2 cowboy burgers and they were just fine. Not a ton of flavor but the tater tots were a nice change from traditional fries. They were nice and crunchy. My son was adventurous and ordered a hamburger with crab on it (don't recall the name). He said the burger would have been great but the cook burnt the hamburger and tried to cover it up with the cheese and crab concoction. He was less than impressed with it, to be candid. For these reasons I say it was an average visit with a little disappointment mixed in which seems to be a recent pattern for this location. If in the area again I would likely pass and try somewhere else.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jane2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018

The Green Turtle in Dover is not a good choice -- too noisy and seating too close but the service was below average. It's also pricey for what you get. These restaurants need to hire a consultant to train their people in how to give better service. The Green Turtle near Lewis has same menu but service and atmosphere is much better.

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2018

We went here on June 6, 2018 for dinner. The place is bright and very comfortable and the wait staff was friendly, but... Fortunately the kids like their meal, but the adults not so much. My wife had their crabcakes which were passable. The French fries left a lot to be desired, they were barely warm, and seemed soggy. I ordered a bacon cheeseburger, it came without the bacon!!! The waitress assisting our waiter went and got the bacon to put on the cheeseburger. Neither the hamburger nor the bacon were hot - but we were pressed for time so I ate it anyway. Our daughter and her husband were satisfied with their meals.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Greene Turtle Sports Bar & Grille also viewed

 

Been to The Greene Turtle Sports Bar & Grille? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing