We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Bankfield House

The house from the paddock
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The house from the paddock
The Green Bedroom The Red Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
86 reviews
The house from the paddock
The Green Bedroom
The Red Bedroom
The view from the front of the house
Sand bedroom
The Dining Conservatory
Wild flowers on our driveway
The house from the driveway
Another picture of the Green Bedroom
The patio
The patio ,ideal for BBQ's and pre dinner drinks
The Lounge
The Snug
Morecambe Bay from the paddock
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 15
Allithwaite, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 86 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
zulieka20...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 20 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Travelling from Aberdeen, Edinburgh and Portsmouth my family and I have just returned from a week spent at Bankfield House. We loved every minute of our stay-it truly is a fabulous house with everything you need supplied-homely and comfortable. The house has spacious rooms and a lovely ambiance.
We enjoyed breakfast in the kitchen with the AGA giving that country kitchen feel-a great place to start the day. Out and about around the beautiful Lake District through the day knowing we would return to chilled and relaxed family dinners in the spacious conservatory was perfect...followed by games of scrabble and Pictionary (supplied) in one of the lounges. My 1 year old grandson loved the space to crawl around and he slept like a log every night in the travel cot supplied by Eric and Helen..proving he felt at home here. We all thoroughly enjoyed our stay...cannot fault this as a place to stay, comfortable spacious rooms, plenty of space for being together or having time for yourself, great safe garden for the dogs. Our hosts Eric and Helen were just lovely. We plan to return as all in all--"Just Perfect.."

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 May 2015
Hi Heather,
Thank you for taking the time to post such a lovely review...it is very rewarding to us both to get such feedback from our guests.We can only say we look forward to seeing you all again and in the meantime stay happy and healthy,
All the very best,

Eric and Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca26...
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“The Lakers '15”
Reviewed 13 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Our family consisted of 12 adults and 3 children and we all thoroughly enjoyed ourselves! The house is nice and spacious so we all had enough room to mill about without feeling like we were ontop of eachother. We especially loved the large dining area in the conservatory and ate as a family every evening. Considering it is a large house, the heating had no problem getting the house nice and toasty, we had great weather so only needed to take the chill off later in the day. We all loved the bathrooms as there was enough for everyone we and found the bathroom particularly relaxing. All our bedrooms were lovely and spacious but we did give this a 4/5 star rating because we could have done with a little more storage space and a few of the beds weren't particularly comfortable unfortunately. We remedied this with extra duvets ontop of the mattresses to pad them out. We would suggest families who get an online shop delivered to the house not to go too over the top on frozen items as we found that there wasn't enough room and had to refrigerate most things instead. This was only because there were so many of us and so we had quite a big shop.
I must say when booking the holiday Helen and Eric were very helpful and friendly and couldn't do more for us.
The area is lovely and there are plenty of places to visit by car, with a lovely walk to grange village which takes about an hour on foot and 5 minutes by car. Bowness is a lovely day out and Ducky Farm near Bankfield House is amazing for the kids. The only downside was having grandparents walking up and down jack hill to the local pub etc as it was pretty steep!
I would definitely recommend this accommodation to other families and friends alike.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Apr 2015
Thank you for your kind comments and we will take at look at increasing the food freezing capacity,although this is the first time anyone has mentioned it.We are glad you enjoyed yourselves and if you can let us know which paricular beds yoi did not like we will check out the mattresses.
Best regards,

Eric and Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lesta73
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An amazing, spacious, warm and friendly house”
Reviewed 18 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

OMG, what a fab time we all had at Bankfield House! It was a family occasion and there were 8 adults, 1 teenager and 3 boys 3 yrs and under - 12 in total and 2 Labradors. It was in a great location for Grange, Cartmel and Windermere was only 15 mins away in the car. The paddock was brilliant for the dogs to wander around safely, it would have been used by the boys if the weather had been warmer, but there was far too much to do to stay in. We had great family fun playing games in the conservatory, which was huge with a very welcoming log fire. Think I have covered everything - Helen and Eric were on hand if we needed anything, and thank you for my lovely plant and card for my birthday too, what a lovely thing to do. I can recommend this house - it lacked for nothing !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Mar 2015
Hi Jan,
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review.We love it when we get such positive feedback from our guests.
So glad you all enjoyed yourselves and we look forward to welcoming you all back in not too distant future.

Best regards,

Eric and Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
damoclapp...
Leyland, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Fantastic Way to Bring in the New Year!!”
Reviewed 12 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Bankfield House for a week including New Years Eve 2014. We had 5 families including 9 adults and 6 children ranging from under 2 years to 10 years old and the house was simply perfect for us!!

Such a great time was had by everyone and the way the house is laid out for large visiting parties simply cannot be faulted, everyone felt they had their own space when needed and also when all together we never felt cramped in the large main room and large conservatory.

The house was very clean, tidy and warm as well has having pretty much everything you could need short of food and drink, including toys for the little ones! though we did manage to rig up a projector and play station etc for the older kids to use!

Gange Over Sands has all the shops you need and even though it was New Year we managed to get any food or drink we needed as well as a nice afternoon lunch in one of the many fantastic cafes.

Cartmell is also close by with many pubs and the 2 x Michelin Star L'enclume was frequented and loved by one of the couples as to celebrate.

We had such a great time i cannot imagine we will not be back at some point!!

Fantastic house, fantastic owners and a great time had by all!! i only hope the local recycling lorry can cope with the amount we created!!

The Claphams, The Hammonds, The Frasers, The Bowers and Mr Rydeheard!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: such a fantastic house, the architect did a superb job!!
Liked least: nothing, it was perfect for what we wanted
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jan 2015
thank you so much for your glowing review...we certainly hope to see you all again sometime.
The recycling you left was probably a record !!!!!!!!......but was no problem at all.
Best regards from Eric and Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McWilliam...
Dumfries and Galloway, United Kingdom
1 review
“Festive Family Fun!”
Reviewed 10 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We had an early Christmas family get together in early December with my partner, three grown children and partners and our two young grandchildren. The house was everything we expected and more and we were touched by the welcome basket left by the owners. We wanted to have a festive family experience together as it is difficult to all get together at Christmas and were pleased that we were allowed to put up a Christmas tree and decorations. Due to the size of our family we wanted somewhere that had plenty of space and the house did not disappoint. Each bedroom was beautifully presented, plenty of bathroom space, a kitchen with everything you need to cook for large parties and fantastic dining space to all sit together in the conservatory. Would highly recommend to large groups and families. A short drive to Grange over Sands and lots of other places of interest.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: spacious property full of character
Liked least: having to leave
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jan 2015
Hi Ian and family,
Thank you for taking the time to post such a great review.
We are also so happy when our guests tell us how much they enjoyed there stay at Bankfield House.
Stay happy and healthy and we hope to see you all again sometime.
Our very best wishes from Eric and Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing