We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fab house”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Bankfield House

The house from the paddock
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The house from the paddock
The Green Bedroom The Red Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
85 reviews
The house from the paddock
The Green Bedroom
The Red Bedroom
The view from the front of the house
Sand bedroom
The Dining Conservatory
Wild flowers on our driveway
The house from the driveway
Another picture of the Green Bedroom
The patio
The patio ,ideal for BBQ's and pre dinner drinks
The Lounge
The Snug
Morecambe Bay from the paddock
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 15
Allithwaite, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 85 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
yorkshire...
yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fab house”
Reviewed 17 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Warm welcome on arrival, great house plenty of space for young to old ( 2 to 87 ) very well equipped, all bedrooms lovely, even made the reading room into a bedroom for disabled great grandma downstairs Grounds were brill for the kids and dog. We had a fantastic break and hope to return again Thank you Helen and Eric

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lisac17
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect house for a large group”
Reviewed 5 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

After spending weeks on the internet we finally found this treasure!
12 of our family stayed at Bankfield House to celebrate our mums 70th birthday -3 couples, one 27 yr old, 3 teenagers, a 6 yr old,a 3 week old baby plus one dog!
As previous reviewers have said before the house is very spacious and really well equipped but the photos don't do justice to how lovely the house really is-the space and the views are amazing-our dog was worn out just running around the house and gardens!
A really warm and sociable house yet as a large group we were never on top of each other and as there were 4 toilets and 3 showers there was never a queue for the bathroom!
The bedrooms were fab and we slept in all the available beds plus fold up beds and the only bed that got a complaint was the sofa bed as it dipped a bit in the middle.
Helen and Eric had left a handy welcome pack but had also left a 70th birthday card and flowers for my mum which was a lovely touch and shows they go that one step further to make your stay special.
We all agreed the house was perfect and have already booked to return next year :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the views and the space
Liked least: coming home :(
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather11...
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
“Fantastic spacious house in a great location!”
Reviewed 17 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We stayed at Bank Field in march, eight adults, one of who was in a wheelchair, and a 3 month old baby. The house complete our stay and made it into a truly fantastic holiday. The house is spacious, wonderfully decorated, has beautiful views across the bay and is great for entertaining and socialising. We had a warm welcome from Helen and Erik who were so helpful throughout our stay. I would recommend the house to anyone and hope to stay there again soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house layout inside and out made it great for socialising.
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane D
Chorley, United Kingdom
1 review
“A perfect mixture of grandeur and homeliness”
Reviewed 3 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

An adult family group of nine of us plus 2 Labradors enjoyed a wonderful weekend at Bankfield house in March. We were met by our friendly hosts Helen and Eric who live next door and given a tour of the property. We were made to feel very welcome. The house is located in a stunning position overlooking Morecambe Bay. It is very well equipped, warm, spacious and well situated for south lakes attractions. It is well worth the walk up Hampsfell to appreciate the views. The Pheasant inn also deserves a visit, delicious food. We would have no hesitation in booking Bankfield again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Warm welcoming feel to property
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Apr 2014
Hi Jane,
Thank you for sparing the time to post a review.Helen and I appreciate it a lot when we get such kind comments.
Hope you all come back soon,

Best regards,

Eric and Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
26 Feb 2014
Thank you Jessica for taking the time to post this review....you forgot to mention the hide and seek !
Hope to see you next year,

regards,

Eric and Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing