We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (24)
Filter reviews
24 results
Traveller rating
8
9
4
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
8
9
4
1
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 24 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2016

We were engulfed in a severe downpour the night we drove through southwestern Connecticut, and the rain let up briefly as we entered Wethersfield, a town we had never known existed before Trip Advisor let us know there was a historic inn there. Tom Aufiero, the innkeeper, welcomed us on our arrival and showed us to the smallish but comfortable room we had reserved. We had chosen the most economical room, one that shares a bath down the hall with guests in other rooms, of whom there was none.

Mr. Aufiero donned a white chef's attire in the morning to prepare an excellent breakfast in the very elegantly and tastefully appointed dining room. Both the meal and the furnishings get high marks.

Should add, in passing, that Wethersfield turns out to be a charming fossil, a town that has successfully preserved the appearance and character of a small New England town at the turn of the 19th century. The Chester Bulkley House fits right in.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank trentonmakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2016

We stayed at the Chester Bulkley House for our anniversary and had a wonderful weekend away. The breakfasts were great and plentiful, savory one morning and sweet the next, recipes made with new twists on old favorites. The Inn Keeper made great suggestions on what to see and do - it was our first visit to Old Wethersfield. We spent most of the weekend taking walks, and this place is located perfectly for walking the Village. Lovely town, lovely home, a great trip overall. Exactly what we hoped for and expected.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank dotquaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2015

Strategically located , though a bit pricey to my mind. The breakfast was very good though not extensive and nicely presented The decor is very Victorian , which means crowded with nic nacs. The room was quiet and comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SWG2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2015

The Chester Buckley Home is a lovely home chock-a-block full of Victorian furnishings. Our daughter was married at the historic Webb Barn just across the street so I suggested to two friends without cars that they stay at the B and B. From it, they could visit beautiful old Wethersfield and could, the next day, walk to the wedding venue. It was so convenient and so lovely that I got a third room for my daughter and her bridesmaids to use pre-ceremony. The innkeeper was totally accommodating having a bride and 6 bridesmaids go up and down the stairs. I slept in that room that night....very comfortable. A friend from CA found the B and B too cool for her liking especially for showers and felt the breakfast was less hearty than she has had in other B and B's. My friend from N.C. felt everything was perfect. I found the room and setting fabulous but do agree that the breakfast was a bit less than I have had elsewhere.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jclperipatetic47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2014

This historic home is situated in a lovely colonial town. The feather quilt and pillows were appreciated, since the heat was not yet furnished and we had a very cool, crisp night. The inn keeper prepared a delicious breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RoseMarie8787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews