We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (25)
Filter reviews
25 results
Traveller rating
9
9
4
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
9
9
4
1
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 25 reviews
Reviewed 6 February 2012

I've stayed in several B&B's around the Northeast, and my wife and I continue to return to the Chester Bulkley House. It has become a second home to us. Everything from its location in beautiful historic Wethersfield to its period furnishings to Tom's amazing breakfasts and his excellent hostmanship woo us back time after time. We have never had a bad experience. Tom goes out of his way to assure us a memorable visit each and every time.

Room tip: Book rooms in advance (just like any place where there is demand) so you get the room that's right for you. Each room is different, but there's no 'bad' room at Chester Bulkley House.
Date of stay: February 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank timblosser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

The B & B was very conveniently located for walking around the historic area of Wethersfield. We stayed there for two nights. The air conditioning made the room comfortable and the bathroom was clean, though small. Unfortunately I could not plug my hair dryer in in the bathroom but had to use it in the bedroom. A chair in the bedroom was horribly lumpy and uncomfortable. It should have been discarded years ago. The bed was comfortable and the room quiet. The cheese omelet for breakfast was delicious but the french toast was drowning in syrup and much too sweet. The breakfast was fine but there was no choice of juice. The price was much cheaper than the other B & B in town so that was a plus. The owner is polite but certainly is not talkative. He does not offer advice on things to see, places to eat etc. and you only see him at breakfast times but he is pleasant and answers questions easily.

Date of stay: July 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caNewHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2011

Attractive house in historic village not far from Hartford, where we toured the Mark Twain and Harriet Beecher Stowe houses. Wethersfield is lovely town in which to walk around, looking at the old houses. Innkeeper served delicious, beautifully presented breakfasts in a dining room with fireplace and candle sconces. Our upstairs bedroom adjoined a sitting area where we could read and watch TV.

Date of stay: November 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sweet_2th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2010

This bed and breakfast is in a historic house which is furnished with nice antiques, but overdone with potpourri and decorative objects that did not enhance the B&B's charm or comfort value.

The innkeeper was polite and businesslike--he ran our credit card and took our bags to the room, but didn't offer any refreshment (despite the fact that the room has no coffee or tea-making equipment) or conversation relating to the history of the house or town. He disappeared without letting us know if there was wi-fi or TV anywhere (none in room); or what rooms in the house were for public use (confusing because on the second floor is a landing with a few stairs up and over to what looks like another parlor, but we were hesitant to intrude); or how to find him if we needed anything.

The room was clean and nicely furnished, but a bit chilly and the mattress was not very comfortable. No hairdryer--I suppose you had to request one.

There was no choice for breakfast, which was juice and a muffin followed by his signature dish of french toast--not enjoyable as he had poured a ton of syrup over it. No bacon or sausage, just a complete carbohydrate overload!

In short, I can't recommend any type of lodging where one feels like an aside to its operation, nor a nonverbal innkeeper who does not offer the warmth and personal service that is normally expected from a B&B.

Date of stay: October 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marviliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2010

An authentic 1830's house lovingly maintained and decorated with Victorian antiques - beautiful, and very romantic. Comfortable bed. Small private bathroom with a comfortable shower. (Don't expect large bathrooms in a house this old - I'm surprised they can shoehorn bathrooms in at all. Floors sag a little, also due to the age of the house.) No TV, but with so much to do in old Wethersfield, we didn't miss it.
The host is a very nice man, not terribly chatty, but helpful and friendly in an unobtrusive way. He makes a delicious breakfast!
This B&B is a bargain to be in such a great location. It's directly across the street from the Webb-Deans-Stevens House Museums (THE attraction in Wethersfield) and close to the Buttolph-Williams House. It's also close to some very lively restaurants with very good food. If you're on a really tight budget, the rooms with a shared bath go for much less than the private-bath rooms. Private off-street parking is a plus.

Date of stay: May 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MusicLover67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews