We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Valentines 2012”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wethersfield
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chester Bulkley House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 4 Wethersfield B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 February 2012

We booked a room here thinking we would have a romantic get away before my surgery. It was booked site unseen off the internet. We were hoping for a fireplace and bathtub in our room, but there was nothing like that in our room. The bathroom had a standup shower. It was very dusty & drafty in the room. We frequent many B&B and have always had a good experience. However, from the very beginning we did not feel Tom the Innkeeper was very friendly. We were the only party in the whole Inn. When we arrived for our reservation, we found the Inn to be locked. We had to ring the doorbell. A gentleman, who did not introduce himself, opened the door. He wisked us to the dining room area where he requested full payment. He then briskly showed us directly to our room and disappeared. He did not show us any of the sitting rooms or around the Inn at all. After seeing our room, we were not pleased with the accomodations and wanted to leave. We first asked if any of the other rooms offered the anemities we had desired, and he said no. We told him it was not the experience we were hoping for and wanted to cancel, he refused. He would not honor that request, though we had been there less than 15 mins. He did not even try to satisfy or appease us. So we tried to make the best of the night since he already ran our credit card Later before bed, I had to again search for him to request an extra pillow, blanket (it was really drafty)and wash cloth and his response was less than accomodating.You would have thought I had three heads. He would not give me an additional pillow, so we slept on the shammed ones, the blanket he pulled from a musty closet and it was thin and he stuffed a washcloth in my hand. Very very poor experience. I will not return and have shared my displeasure with as many people as I could. Breakfast was the only tasty part of the visit, but hardly worth the money. We have spent three times the amount on past B&B and have had a wonderful personable experience. It left a bad taste in our mouths for sure. He had the opportunity to make it a good experience and failed. I would not recommend staying there. There are so many more beautiful places with Innkeepers that want you to enjoy the stay.

Room Tip: Dont do it!!!! See the room BEFORE paying to make sure you are pleased
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Amy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (24)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 24 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2012

I've stayed in several B&B's around the Northeast, and my wife and I continue to return to the Chester Bulkley House. It has become a second home to us. Everything from its location in beautiful historic Wethersfield to its period furnishings to Tom's amazing breakfasts and his excellent hostmanship woo us back time after time. We have never had a bad experience. Tom goes out of his way to assure us a memorable visit each and every time.

Room Tip: Book rooms in advance (just like any place where there is demand) so you get the room that's rig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank timblosser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

The B & B was very conveniently located for walking around the historic area of Wethersfield. We stayed there for two nights. The air conditioning made the room comfortable and the bathroom was clean, though small. Unfortunately I could not plug my hair dryer in in the bathroom but had to use it in the bedroom. A chair in the bedroom was horribly lumpy and uncomfortable. It should have been discarded years ago. The bed was comfortable and the room quiet. The cheese omelet for breakfast was delicious but the french toast was drowning in syrup and much too sweet. The breakfast was fine but there was no choice of juice. The price was much cheaper than the other B & B in town so that was a plus. The owner is polite but certainly is not talkative. He does not offer advice on things to see, places to eat etc. and you only see him at breakfast times but he is pleasant and answers questions easily.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caNewHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2011

Attractive house in historic village not far from Hartford, where we toured the Mark Twain and Harriet Beecher Stowe houses. Wethersfield is lovely town in which to walk around, looking at the old houses. Innkeeper served delicious, beautifully presented breakfasts in a dining room with fireplace and candle sconces. Our upstairs bedroom adjoined a sitting area where we could read and watch TV.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sweet_2th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2010

This bed and breakfast is in a historic house which is furnished with nice antiques, but overdone with potpourri and decorative objects that did not enhance the B&B's charm or comfort value.

The innkeeper was polite and businesslike--he ran our credit card and took our bags to the room, but didn't offer any refreshment (despite the fact that the room has no coffee or tea-making equipment) or conversation relating to the history of the house or town. He disappeared without letting us know if there was wi-fi or TV anywhere (none in room); or what rooms in the house were for public use (confusing because on the second floor is a landing with a few stairs up and over to what looks like another parlor, but we were hesitant to intrude); or how to find him if we needed anything.

The room was clean and nicely furnished, but a bit chilly and the mattress was not very comfortable. No hairdryer--I suppose you had to request one.

There was no choice for breakfast, which was juice and a muffin followed by his signature dish of french toast--not enjoyable as he had poured a ton of syrup over it. No bacon or sausage, just a complete carbohydrate overload!

In short, I can't recommend any type of lodging where one feels like an aside to its operation, nor a nonverbal innkeeper who does not offer the warmth and personal service that is normally expected from a B&B.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marviliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wethersfield
6 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hartford/East Hartford
3 km away
Comfort Inn Wethersfield - Hartford
3.1 km away
Motel 6 Hartford-Wethersfield
Motel 6 Hartford-Wethersfield
#1 of 7 in Wethersfield
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 km away
Americas Best Value Inn Wethersfield-Hartford
4.2 km away
No photo provided
Atlantic Inn
#2 of 4 in Wethersfield
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chester Bulkley House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chester Bulkley House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 184 Main St, Wethersfield, CT 06109-2340
Region: United States > Connecticut > Wethersfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Wethersfield
Price Range: ₹ 5,487 - ₹ 6,133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Greek Revival bed-and-breakfast built in 1830 located just outside the city of Hartford, CT. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing